Simpson dope case: Attorney questions MD Wright.

• Simpson dope case: Attorney questions MD Wright.

Simpson dope case: Attorney questions doctor's qualifications
    Wednesday, February 05, 2014 | 5:00 PM

Print this page Email A Friend!

Dr. Paul Wright

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Sprinter Sherone Simpson's defence attorney Kwame Gordon Wednesday tore into Jamaica anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) witness Dr Paul Wright about his qualification to speak authoritatively on supplements in the human body.

Dr Wright, who has over the 35 years experience in the doping cases, had previously advised athletes not to take supplements but to instead consult an accredited sports dietician, a registered nutritionist with expertise in sports nutrition or a sports and exercise-medicine doctor. “Athletes generally do not need to take supplements,” Dr Wright instructed.

But Gordon while cross-examination of Dr Wright, Wednesday questioned whether or not he had any scientific research that says follow a dietician’s plan instead of taking supplements.

“No sir that’s common sense,” replied Dr Wright.

“In the profession that you practise are your opinions based on common sense or research"? Gordon continued.

“Research, experience and common sense,” said Dr Wright.

Then Gordon questioned Dr Wright’s qualifications noting that he failed three times to pass the medical examination in Jamaica.

“Have you received any certification that gives you the authority to speak on how a supplement works in a human body"? Gordon asked. “Yes,” replied Dr Wright.

He was then shown a copy of his qualifications and asked to show the medical training that he received that allowed him to speak authoritatively on supplements in a human body.

Gordon then bombarded Dr Wright with questions about JADCO educational programme as being unacceptable, not even having a website to inform athletes.

Dr Wright paused, then laughed, asked for forgiveness saying the last time he answered a question like that he got in serious trouble.

“Is there a fifth amendment in this country,” joked Dr Wright. “Council that’s a very embarrassing question for me on a personal note.”

“I don’t embarrass you. I won’t press you further than that, I think your response speaks volumes,” said Gordon.

By Howard Walker

ADVERTISEMENT

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Certified Quack , so if your body has a vitamin defiency you would not supplement it ? e.g

http://listverse.com/2012/03/16/top-...-deficiencies/

common vitamin deficiencies in the human body
    AnemiaCondition marked by a deficiency of red blood cells or of hemoglobin in the blood, resulting in pallor and weariness
    PregnancyCondition or period of being pregnant
    Iron deficiency anemiaA common type of anemia, and is known as sideropenic anemia. it is the most common cause of microcytic anemia.
    RicketsA disease of children caused by vitamin d deficiency, characterized by imperfect calcification, softening, and distortion of the bones typically resulting in bow legs
    BeriberiA disease causing inflammation of the nerves and heart failure, caused by a deficiency of vitamin b1

Now if you are a pro athlete , you think nutrition alone will supplement that under rigourous training,where you body needs to heal/recover quickly to compete.

This is a dangerous man.Reggaedoc dis is yuh brethren ?
    Last edited by Sir X; February 5, 2014, 06:57 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

was it reggaedoc that was telling me insulin dependent diabetes can be controlled with diet...yuh sure he doesn't go by the moniker "pee wee"?

Wow and dem cuss di Cuban Mds.

Supplement therapy

Supplement Therapy

Supplementation is often necessary because so many foods have been processed or altered that they end up lacking the proper nutrients. Vitamins, minerals, amino acids, antioxidants, enzymes, and herbs (a separate entry) are all supplements, and all are beneficial for many conditions, but we are limiting the discussion here to those useful for chronic pain. You can buy supplements at health food stores, grocery stores, pharmacies, by mail, and on the Internet. They are available in many forms, including capsules, geltabs, liquids, powders, and tablets. Vitamins are substances derived from plant and animal food sources, or they may be synthetic. They are present in varying quantities in many different foods. Minerals are necessary to help your body assimilate vitamins. Soil contains minerals, which are absorbed by the fruits and vegetables you eat. Amino acids are components of protein and act as neurotransmitters that are needed by the brain to send and receive messages. Enzymes are complex proteins produced by living plant and animal cells that help digest and repair body tissue and aid most body functions. Antioxidants include those particular vitamins, minerals, and enzymes that protect your body from free radicals.

http://www.patientsmedical.com/treat...nttherapy.aspx

IV Vitamin C Boosts Chemo's Cancer-Fighting Power?
          Lab study found it also left healthy cells unharmed, but experts say more research needed
          Save This Article For Later
          Share this:
          Font size:AAA

WebMD News from HealthDay
          Study found 2-drug treatment reduced death risk
          By Dennis Thompson

HealthDay Reporter

WEDNESDAY, Feb. 5, 2014 (HealthDay News) -- Large doses of intravenous vitamin C have the potential to boost chemotherapy's ability to kill cancer cells, according to new laboratory research involving human cells and mice.

Vitamin C delivered directly to human and mouse ovarian cancer cells helped kill off those cells while leaving normal cells unharmed, University of Kansas researchers report.

"In cell tissue and animal models of cancer, we saw when you add IV vitamin C it seems to augment the killing effect of chemotherapy drugs on cancer cells," said study co-author Dr. Jeanne Drisko, director of integrative medicine at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

In follow-up human trials, a handful of cervical cancer patients given intravenous vitamin C along with their chemotherapy reported fewer toxic side effects from their cancer treatment, according to the study published in the Feb. 5 issue of Science Translational Medicine.

http://www.webmd.com/cancer/news/201...fighting-power.

We have no idea of an athletes medical needs ,meaning defiency,thats between him and his M.D.

Wright under fire

JADCO Doping Control Officer in WRIGHT

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
            Thursday, February 06, 2014

WRIGHT... that's a very embarrassing question for me on a personal note

JAMAICA Anti-Doping Commission's (JADCO's) Doping Control Officer, Dr Paul Wright, was severely grilled by the attorney for Sherone Simpson during yesterday's sitting of the anti-doping hearing of the Olympic silver medallist at the Jamaica Conference Centre.

Dr Wright, a witness for JADCO, admitted he was embarrassed at times by the line of the cross-examination by Kwame Gordon, who also questioned the credentials of the noted medic as it related to his expertise in the area
            of supplements.

Gordon brought into stark focus that Dr Wright had failed three times to pass the medical examination at the University of the West Indies in Jamaica.

"Have you received any certification that gives you the authority to speak on how a supplement works in a human body?" asked Gordon. "Yes," replied
            Dr Wright.

Wright was then shown a copy of his qualifications and asked to show the medical training that he received that allowed him to speak authoritatively
            on supplements in a human body.

"I am trained as a medical doctor and graduated in 1976, a diploma in sports medicine from Leipzig University in East Germany," said Wright.

Gordon shot back: "Did you do the bachelor of Medicine at the University of the West Indies?"

Dr Wright replied: "No, sir."

"In fact, you were unsuccessful on three occasions, is that correct?" asked Gordon.

"Yes, sir," Dr Wright confirmed.

"And that exam is the exam that determined if you are qualified to do a Bachelor of medicine (degree), and you failed that exam on three occasions?" Gordon quizzed.

Again, Dr Wright replied, "Yes, sir".

"So, it is after failing that exam on three occasions that you went to London? Did you do a medical degree in London? Do you consider it to be an equivalent to MBBS?"

"Yes, sir," Dr Wright answered promptly.

Gordon: "Why did you not do the MBBS? Is it because you have failed on three occasions and could not do it?"

"Yes sir," said Dr Wright.

Gordon sat back in his chair, took a deep breath, and then proceeded. "Listen to me very carefully now, do you still maintain that you have the authority to speak about supplements in light of what I have just said?"

"Yes, sir," said Dr Wright firmly. "I was subsequently trained in East Germany in sports medicine which included supplements."

At yesterday morning's session, Dr Wright who appeared for JADCO, made a PowerPoint presentation in which he advised that athletes should not take supplements and suggested that most manufacturers
            of these products have criminal records.

He made it clear that JADCO categorically does not support the taking of supplements and warned constantly against its consumption.

"If a supplement promises to deliver something and you take that supplement and it delivers it, that substance is banned," said Dr Wright.

"The people who make supplements are in this thing for money and as an exposé printed in the USA Today, that showed categorically that the people who are in the supplement business all have criminal records," claimed Dr Wright, who has over 35 years of experience in dealing with doping cases.

He later adjusted his statement to "most", and not "all", those who deal in the supplement business, have criminal records.

Gordon then bombarded Dr Wright with questions about JADCO's educational programmes and suggested to him that it was unacceptable, to not even have a website to inform athletes about anti-doping.

"Would you agree with me that it is unacceptable since 2008 for JADCO not to have any such facility in place?"

Dr Wright paused, then laughed. "Forgive my answer to that question (as it) got me in serious trouble already, sir."

"The panel is here to protect you. So please let us have your answer," Gordon shot back.

"I have been writing letters to anybody who would accept my letters that they had to do things like this," said Dr Wright.

So you think it's unacceptable for JADCO to conduct its affairs like this?" Gordon asked.

After a brief pause, Dr Wright laughed, and said: "Is there a Fifth Amendment in this country? Counsel, that's a very embarrassing question for me on a personal note."

The Fifth Amendment to, which Dr Wright referred, is a part of the American constitution that provides several trial protections, including the right against self-incrimination.

The hearing, which started on Tuesday, wrapped up all the normal proceedings with the final two witnesses,

Dr Wright and Catty Rattray-Samuels, a former JADCO director, taking the stand yesterday.

It will continue on February 25 where both Gordon and JADCO attorney Lackston Robinson are expected to present their final submissions to the three-member Jamaica Anti-Doping Disciplinary Panel of Lennox Gayle, Dr Jephthah Ford and Peter Prendergast.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...-fire_15957453
            Last edited by Karl; February 8, 2014, 11:54 PM.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Can you imagine the little up-and-coming athlete who test positive for one of those obscure drugs on WADA's list? Dawg nyam him suppa if him nuh have a decent attorney fi defend him.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

JADCO needs to remove DR Wright before the international media vetts this man.Secondly by his past and present utterances he has shown that he isnt qualified for his position.

A dangerous man.

Who is more qualified than someone who studied in East Germany in the heights of the souped up athletes?!?!

My question for him is not what the athletes should not take, supplements or whatever, but what should they be taking?

The goodly educated minister seh the athletes dem fi nyam more Jamaican yam and bananas and dem will get all a the nutrients dem need.

Cant understand these idiots.They are coming for him next (media).I have no sympathy for JADCO.

But X, what about the many studies that "prove" supplements are a waste of money?!?!

Then again, I suspect many of those studies were focusing on the average person. Athletes may not be in that category.

Proper education needs to be given to all, Dr Paul isnt the man , a supplement isnt only given orally , it can be given by an injection or intravenously .Look at it like this your body is a chemistry system ,where its deficent it needs to be repleneshed,Diet alone in some cases cant do it.Not just vitamins,protiens amino acids etc ,hemodynamics which is complicated.E.g.If you are low are high in potassium , it affects your heart.It needs to be supplemented diet alone might not do it.To decrease pottasium you need to take a medication to decrease it.People are individuals with different nutritional requirements, every system responds differently.

Supplement Therapy

Supplementation is often necessary because so many foods have been processed or altered that they end up lacking the proper nutrients. Vitamins, minerals, amino acids, antioxidants, enzymes, and herbs (a separate entry) are all supplements, and all are beneficial for many conditions, but we are limiting the discussion here to those useful for chronic pain. You can buy supplements at health food stores, grocery stores, pharmacies, by mail, and on the Internet. They are available in many forms, including capsules, geltabs, liquids, powders, and tablets. Vitamins are substances derived from plant and animal food sources, or they may be synthetic. They are present in varying quantities in many different foods. Minerals are necessary to help your body assimilate vitamins. Soil contains minerals, which are absorbed by the fruits and vegetables you eat. Amino acids are components of protein and act as neurotransmitters that are needed by the brain to send and receive messages. Enzymes are complex proteins produced by living plant and animal cells that help digest and repair body tissue and aid most body functions. Antioxidants include those particular vitamins, minerals, and enzymes that protect your body from free radicals.

http://www.asatonline.org/treatment/treatments/vitamin

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19574172

Who is more qualified than someone who studied in East Germany in the heights of the souped up athletes?!?!

My question for him is not what the athletes should not take, supplements or whatever, but what should they be taking?
                            My very thought when I read that he was trained in EAST Germany in the mid seventies! Him suppose to know bout dem ting!

Dr Paul and Herb both getting found out as you start to dig into their past.