• what more does santokie need to do?!!

WHAT?!!

how about CAPTAIN tamar lambert?

west indies need to utilise him. no other current west indian player is as tactically aware or switched on as he is. he has won many a game with his captaincy, field placings bowler changes etc.....

Another great performance by Darren Sammy aka The Finisher.

Give the man credit, not a whole heap of talent but a whole heap of heart. This T20 team needs him to win consistently.

sammy has grown into it that type of playerno one should deny him that. his decision making and tactics as a captain are still sub where they need to be.

rampaul should not have played, nikita miller should have.

Yes I like the role he now plays, probably best that he is not captain.

This T20 squad should have a fighting chance to defend their World Champion title if they play the right combination of players.

Do you represent Tamar Lambert?

do you?

The reported knock against Tamar Lambert is, cannot command a place in the TEAM as 'bat' or bowler! ...although the same must be said of the current Capo #1...

btw - The great Frankie Worrell was appointed Capt. for the 1960 (Was it '60/61?) tour of Australia and the 1963 tour of England when his days as 'bat' (...and 'medium pacer') had passed. He was selected purely as captain...so there is precedent.

Frankie Worrell only stood in the breech and lifted the Windies to the first tied test match ( venue Australia. Was it Melbourne??? ...or Brisbane?) and England a 1 - 3 hiding on her home soil.

Like the present Capo#1 Frankie Worrell chipped in with one or two meaningful contributions. The difference is Worrell's helped his Windies TEAMs to successes.

Lambert has lead his team, Jamaica to hitherto unprecedented success. He was also MOTM in at least one super50 game this season.

I can not calling for him to play for West Indies but to be a part of the management coaching set up.

The knock against him is his corpulence

Lambert has lead his team, Jamaica to hitherto unprecedented success. He was also MOTM in at least one super50 game this season.

I can not calling for him to play for West Indies but to be a part of the management coaching set up.

The knock against him is his corpulence
                  You know me I read beneath the easily apparent. That verbalized knock on his corpulence is, to me, merely cover for ignoring his irrefutable success as a captain and a shying away from the often repeated question about his position as reliable and productive batsman or bowler.

The world of cricket has had its fair share of corpulent players. We (from Shady Pines) do not have to perform any strenuous mental exercise to remember Colin Cowdrey or Collin Milburn or burly bowlers such as "Fiery" Fred Truman or allrounders such as *Arjuna Ranatunga.

The Windies need a leader on the field the ability to get the best out of our players. At various times during matches many...our players prove they have the potential to perform at the very highest levels. The question that the Windies selectors need to answer is; who is that leader that shall get each individual to perform consistently to fullest potential? Clearly Tamar Lambert is at the top of the list...perhaps the only player on the list with the track record that answers that question.

I believe he should be the Capo in each of all of the Windies "X1-a-side" matches. ...and he should be given a good run to mold the players into TEAM. It really is an easy decision for even average thinkers/selectors. ...and that even if approached from a position of fear of failure (by the selectors). Fact is, the results gained over the last several decades have proven the selectors, failures. Commonsense dictates a changing of path followed i.e. failed path of selection of poor captains.

Tamar Lambert it should be...that is commonsense decision.

Ranatunga's weight was also notable for being grossly excessive, and gave rise to an incident during a game played in humid conditions when he called for a runner, claiming that he had "sprained something"; opposition (Australian) wicket-keeper Ian Healy responded that he could not get a runner for being "an overweight, unfit, fat ****", a comment picked up by the stump microphones and broadcast on television. Ranatunga was known for controversially calling a runner during long innings due to his level of fitness, which allowed him to get a lot more runs for his shots, as he was a very slow runner; apart from boundaries, he usually walked singles or jogged slowly for two or three runs even if the ball almost went to the boundary.

Source: Wikipedia
                  Last edited by Karl; March 13, 2014, 09:58 AM.

Colin Cowdrey or Collin Milburn or burly bowlers such as "Fiery" Fred Truman or allrounders such as *Arjuna Ranatunga.
                    Its a different game and different time now Karl.

You can't be serious about playing T20 at the highest professional level and be as out of shape as Tamar. It is a VERY physical game in the field where matches are decided by a few runs more often than not.

The role of coach or adviser would suit him well.

We cannot be in worse state than currently - ignore current state of this series - and we should do better with an excellent captain at the helm.

btw - You are raising the same question on Tamar not worth his place in the TEAM.

We are T20 World Champions! You forget?

Anyway I am not saying Tamar has no role to play, just that the Colin Cowdrys and other rotund and unfit players of that era would be liabilities in the field in todays international cricket which is dominated by T20s and 50 over games.

Firstly a LOT more international cricket is being played now and your body has to be prepared for that or it will break down. Todays crickets careers are not based around English County cricket with a sprinkling of 5 day Tests each year , this is high intensity competition against the best in the world year round!

Secondly fielding quality has VASTLY improved with the shorter forms of the game. Did the diving and running that these international cricketers do to save boundaries happen in the 70s and even the early 80s? Absolutely not.

Its not just cricket either, most professional athletes of today are physical specimens compared to those of 40 or 50 years ago.

having said that there tend to be some exceptions. lambert no likely to chase a ball from gully to cover point with the kind of speed that would worry batsmen...but he is a fantastic slip fielder.

not advocating him for T20 but ODI and test or first class, absolutely!!!

We are T20 World Champions! You forget?
                            Remember I spoke of consistently performing to full potential?
                            ... so should I say of the above "no puppa-lick...but a thinking on, buk-up?"

Anyway I am not saying Tamar has no role to play...
                            Thank you!

...just that the Colin Cowdrys and other rotund and unfit players of that era would be liabilities in the field in todays international cricket which is dominated by T20s and 50 over games.
                            I would say those types could be liabilities if not properly qualified as say a Tamar...and once qualified not properly used.

Those rotund players were all used as slip players or in other close to bat positions. ...where most often they performed at a high standard if not brilliantly. Sure in one or two occasions in these shorter versions of the game even the slip fielder is withdrawn...but that is the exception rather than the rule.

Firstly a LOT more international cricket is being played now and your body has to be prepared for that or it will break down. Todays crickets careers are not based around English County cricket with a sprinkling of 5 day Tests each year , this is high intensity competition against the best in the world year round!

Secondly fielding quality has VASTLY improved with the shorter forms of the game. Did the diving and running that these international cricketers do to save boundaries happen in the 70s and even the early 80s? Absolutely not.

Its not just cricket either, most professional athletes of today are physical specimens compared to those of 40 or 50 years ago.
                            100% agreed!

lose affa yuh karl.....one does not win a TOURNAMENT on buck up!

you have to perform when called upon to do so and you must have the quality to produce over the course of the tournament.