Japan's 4x100m Relay Teams

• Japan's 4x100m Relay Teams

I can remember one or two “track and field experts” here being amused and cynical back in 2012 when I mentioned Japan as having outstanding 4x100-meter relay teams capable of medalling. I didn’t argue with those couple of opposing posters, as I realized that ignorance was playing a part.

The USA boys won the 4x100-meter gold and Jamaica won the bronze in this evening’s boy’s 4x100-meter relay, but did those previous critics note who won the silver medal?

And of course, there have been other times when Japan has done well. For example, I could go all the way back to the inaugural IAAF World Youth Championships (Poland, 1999). In that 4x100-meter relay it took a major effort by our anchor Omar Brown to pass Japan in the final few meters, thereby giving Jamaica the gold and Japan the silver.

One more example will suffice now: In the men’s 4x100-meter relay at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, Jamaica won the gold, Trinidad the silver and Japan the bronze.

Sometimes we need to pay careful attention before we make caustic comments.

This is getting tired.

And By The Way....

This is getting tired.
      “Tired”? By the way, Japan’s win was no fluke; that 39.02 seconds is not to be taken lightly.

Japan has often had fast male hurdlers and sprinters, and their baton passing over the years have often been slick. One day I will get some videotapes and DVDs to you, boss. I am serious!

Do I have to remind you that I am a medallist at the best T&F meet in the entire universe? As such, I do follow the "sport"more than most.

Japan, Poland and Russia are some of the countries that have been able to compete well in sprint relays despite their relative weakness in the individual events. Who nuh know dis?

Respect

Do I have to remind you that I am a medallist at the best T&F meet in the entire universe? As such, I do follow the "sport"more than most.

Japan, Poland and Russia are some of the countries that have been able to compete well in sprint relays despite their relative weakness in the individual events. Who nuh know dis?
          Okay, boss, respect.

I started this thread because I recall that one or two people ridiculed me for commenting on Japan’s chances at medaling in the men’s 4x100-meter relay at, if my memory is correct, the London Olympics.

By the way, I made an error in my first post regarding hurdlers. China -- not Japan -- has produced some very good male hurdlers.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
            [FONT="Verdana"]
            I started this thread because I recall that one or two people ridiculed me for commenting on Japan’s chances at medaling in the men’s 4x100-meter relay at, if my memory is correct, the London Olympics.
            If I may repeat one of your favourite song lines: it wasn't me.

At least, I don't think so.

Boys' 4x100 and 4x400 Relays

I suspect that the track and field fans here saw the results of the boys’ 4x400-meter relay tonight.

I rest my case; in other words, I will not say anything more on this issue at the present time.

I didn't, but I suspect we performed poorly. Jamaica has been horrible at this event, at least the men, for the past several years. As you have noted, it's kinda sad since this was our pet event in those years when we began winning medals at the Olympics.

Champs winners have consistently doing 46 seconds in this event. Not good enough! And now, people are wondering if Donkey Man is the real deal.

we won a bronze i think

That is fantastic, given our recent history.

THAT.... is our most recent history!

The Japanese are 'bad' when it comes to the sprint relays...

I dare say no nation has ever been as efficient on baton exchange as the Japanese. They seem to always over-achieve on relays when the individual quickness of each runner is counted.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          I suspect that the track and field fans here saw the results of the boys’ 4x400-meter relay tonight.

I rest my case; in other words, I will not say anything more on this issue at the present time.

Well you could have mentioned our anchor leg *Hyde's unbelievable poor execution.

*Big him up for an excellent win in the 400MH although on execution his repeated 'checking' was an poorly taught runner's gambit.

For a while the French were excellent as well. You may remember that they actually held the Mens 4x100m WR at one point without any exceptional sprinter on their team.

which takes more out of you, a flat 400 or 400 hurdles? having said that, the yute help to bring home a medal!!!

sometimes yuh over criticise karl. he is not 400m specialist suh ease up on him. if you think that without him we would have won gold then criticise away.