• New York Times - "Champs"

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/04/06/sp...n-jamaica.html

Harrison is one of Jamaica’s most successful track coaches. He has a restless eye for talent. Several years back, he was in the Turks and Caicos Islands and noticed the center fielder in a baseball game sprinting after a double into the gap.

By autumn, Harrison had that boy at Jamaica College, running under his tutelage. Now the runner sprints for the British national team.
    Jamaica College?!?? Or Munr...who do I bother!

Yes, a couple of mistakes, the worse one was saying the KC wore blue and white, I had to laugh at that myself. He probably saw a JC youth and confused that with KC or he is color blind!?

And he said Norman Manley was a prime minister.

Happy he got to experience Champs still.

Even with those errors and a few others, it was an article worth reading. He got the essence of the Champs right.

This was my favorite part of the article, because it is so true.

There was none of that recorded “Make Some Noise!” baloney as at Madison Square Garden. The sound was organic and rolled like the ocean.

Even with those errors and a few others, it was an article worth reading. He got the essence of the Champs right.

"There was none of that recorded “Make Some Noise!” baloney as at Madison Square Garden. The sound was organic and rolled like the ocean."

This was my favorite part of the article, because it is so true.
            For sure, I do appreciate the article.

And yes, that is my favorite part. I absolutely hate going to American sporting events and listen to the phony cheers!

Glad yuh nuh touch di fridge part.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Dat is true too! I have heard reports of that even this year.

He could have said it was not legal though.

Common knowledge dat now, X.

Is the practice illegal, Islandman?

OK sah , time flies , what a difference a month makes.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                      Yes, a couple of mistakes, the worse one was saying the KC wore blue and white, I had to laugh at that myself. He probably saw a JC youth and confused that with KC or he is color blind!?
                      My My.... even this unaware stranger is caught in our overwhelming power without knowing it.

Seeing JC everywhere is a side effect. I guess that's why the country was named after us

My My.... even this unaware stranger is caught in our overwhelming power without knowing it.

Seeing JC everywhere is a side effect. I guess that's why the country was named after us
                        Any comments on this

"Top high schools compete ferociously, sometimes offering refrigerators to poor families if their children will transfer."

Well you have a point. I don't know if it is explicitly illegal but it is not endorsed

I've made it very clear that I'm against such reckless transfer methods. I'm not against transfers per se but they must closely monitored to ensure that the athletes remain students FIRST!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                              Any comments on this

"Top high schools compete ferociously, sometimes offering refrigerators to poor families if their children will transfer."
                              If someone needs a nice fridge this sounds like a good deal