• We may think we know the cheats

but we haven't the proof to back it up... their records have to stand

The problem with athletics records is that we all have very firm notions of the ones we think are bent. We just haven’t the proof to back it up. And it needs proof. Always proof. Individual failed tests, systematic state programmes, we can only act on what we know for sure — otherwise exceptional deeds can never occur.
    Chris Froome beats cheats up mountains. That’s not the same as being one, though. Usain Bolt runs faster than Ben Johnson did at the 1988 Olympics. We must invest in his innocence, too.
    The call by UK Athletics for all records to be scrapped and started afresh in what is termed ‘The Clean Era’ is well intended, but writes an ideological cheque the sport simply cannot cash.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/art...#ixzz3x8F2Td3W
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I listened to an interview on BBC Sports where this was discussed...and the point on the possibility that cheats are active should cause pause!!!

Aside(?): WADA'S independent report on doping -
    https://www.wada-ama.org/en/resource...ssion-report-1

IAAF officials explored covering up Russia bans

http://bigstory.ap.org/article/13bd5...sh-russia-bans

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.