• When Venture Capitalists Took Over the GS Warrior

What Happened When Venture Capitalists Took Over the Golden State Warriors

After racking up a historic N.B.A. season, the
    team’s owners — most of them from Silicon
    Valley — think their management style
    deserves some of the credit. Are they right?

By BRUCE SCHOENFELD
    MARCH 30, 2016
    It was still dark one morning early this year when Joe Lacob, the majority owner of the Golden State Warriors, drove his Mercedes station wagon through the Stanford University campus. He parked near the business school, then walked down a sidewalk through a drizzle to meet a group of Silicon Valley executives. The ex-C.E.O. of OpenTable, now a partner at Andreessen Horowitz, was coming. So were a founder of the online-learning start-up Curious and a managing director of Vanguard Ventures. On another morning, they all might have met at a charity event or a TED Talk. But it was a Tuesday, and that meant basketball.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/04/03/ma...iors.html?_r=0

I read all of this article!

If I recall correctly-- Chris Mullin from St. Johns U. was drafted by Golden State back in the days. Golden State was crap........

Look at them now.

I agree, management style does play a roll in the success of any business.

Would love to see Machael Jordan's Charlotte Bobcats....wooops, Charlotte Hornets start making a name in the NBA.

It is a great article!

I still think though that regardless of the innovative management style employed by the new owner, the real reason for Golden State's success is one Stephen Curry.

Yes! maybe the terminology, that's where the tire touches the road.......

Curry is their bred and budder.......

You don't win 73 games in a season without exceptional talent on the court.

Perhaps the back office management made the team better than the sum of its parts, but the parts were undoubtably of a very high quality!

JERRY WEST.......JERRY WEST.......JERRY WEST
            Look no further than Jerry West. The man who knows how to "build" winning & championship teams.

It is a great article!

I still think though that regardless of the innovative management style employed by the new owner, the real reason for Golden State's success is one Stephen Curry.
              One fellow does not make TEAM!
              Just as Michael Jordan was not 'his' Chicago Bulls, Stephen Curry is but one of the reasons the Golden State Warriors is such a success story.

Aside: BTW - You have inadvertently exposed reason why JA FOOTBALL has in the main failed to cash in (reap great successes) on our immense talent pool. As our football graduate results tell, our teachers/coaches have consistently failed to instill or impart to the young talent the 'over-arching' importance of having 'logic' lead actions on the field.

It has been from I 'fooled around' on the football field as a youngster through these many years later, how the simple idea that imposing 'commonsense' on actions on the field as 'most important' has never been grasped by the particular sub-set of teachers, our football teachers...mind boggling!!!

The question is a logical one - Why is it all these youngsters with the described 'wonderful attributes...great talent'? The answer is obvious - "The teachers'...'teaching courses and methods' are not producing expected results!

Example:
              Fact: We hear of our wonderful U-17 and other youth squads year through succeeding year.

Fact: Visuals of each U17 team, even when each is running rough shod over lesser opponents tells 'lack of knowledge or understanding of FOOTBALL'. 'Sitting on the ball' is a hallmark as each players is taught that 'tek im hooaan' is valued over ''beating' by movement and passing'!

Fact: Each team does not perform as an AMOEBA...with AMOEBA movement but as disparate moving parts.

Patently crazy...illogical way for TEAM to perform.

Of course one or two graduates of our teaching buck the trend and play football...are consistent on imposing logic (logical thinking on the way they play - "Bibi" Gardner comes to mind). Such player is the exception. In any other classroom the production of graduate results similar to those produced by our football teachers would result in careful examination of teaching course and methods. Massive and intensive 'continuing education' and course curriculum development...with overhaul of system used to graduate the teachers, re-thinking and improvements to how the subject is taught.

If we take it as a given that our youngster are as talented as accessed and they have consistently failed to live up to that assessment then logic leads to 'fault-lines in teachers - course content and method!

There were a few one man armies that prevented my great Knicks from winning the NBA,Jordan,Miller,and Akeem Eli...come to mind.
                Those players should not even be allowed on planes flying over NY.

One player ?

If yuh gonna name one..That would be Tappa Whitmore..