Science and technology to maintain global athletics domina

• Science and technology to maintain global athletics domina

It cannot be done without science and technology. We are moving past the era that allowed Jamaicans to excel by natural ability and grit. We love our athletes and administrators but the time has come where a deeper analysis of what we need to retain Jamaica's dominance is necessary. We should not be having so many incidences of injuries in the cold as seen in World Championships 2017.
    We should have kept records of how our most elite athletes adapt to certain environments based on notations of how they reacted before. I have seen Christopher Taylor and Jason Livermore not perform at their best because it was cold at the Penn Relays. One of my collaborators who has a MSc in Physical Therapy and who went with the youth team to Nairobi indicated that many did not perform as should because Kenya was colder than Jamaica was at the time of the youth championships.
    If we have the data we are able to plan and have contingencies in place. Usain has done too much for the IAAF for our sport administrators to not have collectively lobbied federations from the tropics to make the IAAF provide leg warmers in the waiting areas for those athletes from the tropics who are not used to prolonged cold conditions. This would have minimised muscle cramping and muscle tears in London.
    We should have been the first one marketing a sport dish around Bolt, yam, Trelawny and the Cockpit Country. GraceKennedy, Sport Development Foundation, JAAA — we need your support but believe me you also very much need new ideas; you cannot just sponsor those in your network.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...=MobileArticle
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Damm good post.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.