• ‘Admiral’ reprimands troops ... As Portmore thrash Tivoli

‘Admiral’ reprimands troops ... As Portmore thrash Tivoli

BY PAUL A REID Observer writer

Portmore United ......................... 3 Lowe (2nd), Deerr (86th), Reid (88th) Tivoli Gardens ............................ 0
    FOUR games into the new Jamaica Football Federation’s Cash Plus Premier League season, the Tivoli Gardens management might be fighting for more than points on the field, but to avoid a player strike.
    Minutes after Sunday’s 0-3 loss to new points leader Portmore United at the Edward Seaga Sports Complex, Tivoli’s coach, Glendon ‘Admiral’ Bailey told reporters the players had made demands on the club and some might not have been fully committed to the task.
    Two goals in a span of two minutes late in the game stunned the Tivoli team that had fought back gallantly after surrendering a second-minute lead to Portmore through Onandi Lowe.
    Second-half substitute Kevin Deerr in the 86th minute and National Under-23 player Adrian Reid in the 88th minute sentenced Tivoli to their first loss of the season, dropping them from fourth place out of the top half of the points tables.
    The win catapulted Portmore to the top on goal difference over Seba United, Waterhouse and August Town, all on seven points.
    The three goals were a major boost after Portmore managed just one goal, a penalty in their previous three games.
    The half-time break was extended by about five minutes after a short power outage to the flood lights just before the end of the first half and it took about 20 minutes for them to come back on.
    While refusing to go into any details as to what the players’ demands were and saying the club was yet to meet and deal with the issue, Bailey said the players must first start winning games and be consistent before they can start putting demands to the club.
    “We started off fairly well, got a win in MoBay (against Seba United), the next day the players had a meeting and there was no training that day.”
    And while conceding the loss was disappointing, the Tivoli coach said it was too early to start hanging their heads. “I hope we learn from this that we can’t win a few games and then start thinking that we have won the league and start to stick up the programme in terms of what we want and what we don’t want… we have to be consistent in what we do and do it to the end, it is either we are going to do it or don’t do it at all.”
    Bailey described the two late goals as “soft goals”, but said they were typical of the mistakes that the team had been making. “When you play against quality teams and make these kinds of mistakes then you are bound to pay the price.”
    Portmore’s coach Linval Dixon was happy with his team’s performance. “We came with a game plan and the team stuck to it. The plan was to play them high, Tivoli don’t like to play under pressure and once you are there with them, tracking them, running with them and not giving them any chances then things will happen and you saw it.”
    The three goals he said were a result of what they had worked hard for as leading up to the game, Dixon said the team worked on shooting.
    Lowe, the former national striker who attracted a lot of attention from not just players, but fans as well, rocked the Tivoli team with a goal before anyone had a chance to settle down.
    Falling from a strong tackle just outside the 18-yard area, Lowe managed to get a boot on the ball and scooped it high over the head of goalkeeper Edsel Scott and into the top right hand of the goal.
    Forced to play catch up, Tivoli then upped the tempo and forced Portmore to match them.
    It was the visitors who came closest to scoring again in the first half when Mario Swaby got to a high ball, but headed it just wide of the target.
    A mix up between Tyrone Sawyers and goalkeeper Duwayne Kerr almost allowed Tivoli to equalise four minutes into the second half, but the Portmore team managed to keep the ball from crossing the line.
    A bit of luck in the 74th minute kept the scoreline at one goal after a low, hard shot from outside the area by Wolry Wolfe, hit the legs of goalkeeper Scott and rebounded into play.
    A mix up, this time between Scott and Victor Thompson allowed Deerr, who had replaced Carlos Barrett, to add to the score.
    The defender was guiding a bouncing ball to the goalkeeper who was stuck on his line, but Deerr who was following the play, sped around Thompson and headed the ball past Scott.
    Reid, who had switched from his central defensive role to a more attacking one midway the second half, put the game out of reach when he overlapped down the middle of the field and after beating two defenders, placed the ball past the hapless Scott.
    Teams: Tivoli Gardens — Edsel Scott, Oraine Simpson, Kasai Hinds, Victor Thompson, Christopher Jackson, Dwight Heron, Steve Green, Denroy Gordon (Navion Boyd 82nd), Craig Stewart (Richard West 62nd), Damion Gordon (Horace Howell 61st), Roberto Fletcher. Subs not used: L Gordon, J Thompson, A Weir, J Allen. Booked: Thompson (17th). Portmore — Duwayne Kerr, Anthony Modeste, Adrian Mitchell, Tyrone Sawyers, Adrian Reid, Wolry Wolfe, Mario Swaby (Fabian Davis 69th), Ricardo Cousins, Bryan Bayliss (Ryan Powell 62nd), Carlos Barrett (Kevin Deerr 63rd), Onandi Lowe. Subs not used: S Sawyers, A Bennett, S Morrisey, J Richards Booked: Swaby (56th) Referee: Kevin Morrison Assistant Referees: Triston Tulloch, Paulette Riley Fourth Official: Donovan Muir Match Commissary: Richard Nathan

Tivoli Gardens’ Steve Green (second right) looks on dejectedly as the Portmore players surround Onandi Lowe who gave them an early lead in their 3-0 win in the CPPL at the Edward Seaga Sports Complex on Sunday. (Photo: Paul Reid)

Better story, more info...

Tivoli players restive
    published: Tuesday | October 23, 2007

Ainsley Walters, [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Freelance [COLOR=orange! important]Writer[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]

Harbour View F.C.'s Kavin Bryan (left) reacts after a tough challenge from Sporting Central Academy's Jevaughn Watson, during a Cash Plus [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Premier [COLOR=orange! important]League[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] game at the Harbour View Mini Stadium on Sunday, October 21. The game ended 2-2. - photo by Anthony Minott/Freelance Photographer
    TIVOLI [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]GARDENS'[/COLOR][/COLOR] 0-3 home loss to Portmore United on Sunday started with a mutiny last Tuesday when players boycotted training to discuss wages, which have not been increased since the previous season of Premier [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]League [COLOR=orange! important]football[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].
    Following Portmore's big victory, which saw the first goal struck in the second minute and the other two within four minutes of the final whistle, Tivoli coach Glendon 'Admiral' Bailey hinted at disruption at Railway Oval.
    "We traveled to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Montego [COLOR=orange! important]Bay[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] and got a win. By the next day, the 'ballers held a meeting. I don't want to comment on it but I hope we have learnt we can't draw two games, win one and start sticking up the programme, saying what you want."
    Brian Rose, Tivoli's manager, expanded on Bailey's veiled comments, saying a meeting was scheduled for 5:00 yesterday evening with club president, Edward Seaga, for the players to vent their issues.
    "There seems to be a problem, as he said, with sticking up the club," said Rose.
    "At the start of each season the players want an increase. With the financial situation of the clubs, we cannot afford an increase every season," he added.
    Rose admitted Tivoli's players could be comparing salaries to those of other top teams but pointed out it was not fair for them to do so as the west Kingston club offers far better incentives.
    Explaining that Tivoli pays a low of $4,000 per week to new players just entering the league and a high of $8,000 to seasoned veterans, Rose said that, unlike other clubs, a 12-month pay bill is maintained at Railway Oval.
    "Tivoli is one of the few clubs, which pays off-season," he said, adding that other clubs only pay for the duration of the league.
    "From I've been at Tivoli, this is my fifth season, I came and saw that system in place. The only time it stops is when they go abroad to play the Bronx League. Tivoli is also one of the few clubs, which pays full salary while players are on the injury list. At some clubs, they stop or reduce salary after a couple months."
    Rose added that prize money from winning competitions go directly to the players and support staff, whereas other clubs deduct as much as 40 per cent of winnings.
    The Tivoli manager, similar to Bailey, believes Sunday's loss, their worst at home in many seasons, was a direct result of the players being restive.
    "We did not train on Tuesday because the players said they wanted a meeting among themselves," he said.
    "They wanted a meeting with the pre-sident but he was not available. They trained the other days but we, as management, were not satisfied with the output as the problem was obviously not solved and it showed on the field yesterday."
    Tivoli's players should not be overly expectant of yesterday's scheduled meeting as Rose said the club cannot afford an increase.
    "We are incurring expenses of between $15-20 million per year and our income is not even 50 per cent of that," he pointed out. "How could we possibly grant an increase?"
    SPONSORSHIP CASH
    Meanwhile, players, who could possibly be looking at increased sponsorship cash from Cash Plus Limited, the league's new title sponsors, will have to wait a while longer before clubs know just how much of the yearly $50m will be disbursed to the 12 participating teams.
    Clyde Jureidini of the newly-formed Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA), which is in the process of assuming administration of the Premiership from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), said it was still uncertain how much more than the previous maximum $700,000 per year clubs would earn under the new $150m three-year sponsorship as the body was going through budgets to arrive at a final figure. "The sponsorship covers the cost of running the competition and we are in the process of finalising those figures with the JFF but I know for sure it will be more," he said.

Blow-wow bwoy....heheheheee

The local reporters always seem to be able to catch the kung fu style tackles. It makes one think that the entire NPL games are mini wars.

Sickko...NO?

So right, and you can bet no one received a card for that taekwondo display.