• very interesting - the scandinavian option

The Scandinavian Option

Caribbean footballers seem well-suited to MLS. There are few language barriers for them, and they are accustomed to a fast, physical style of play. Plus, they usually can find a support community in MLS cities, and they are following in the footsteps of several countrymen, many of whom had success in the North American Soccer League and stayed on.<DIV class=phinline>
    <DIV style="WIDTH: 205px"><DIV class=photocred2>G. Newman Lowrance/WireImage</DIV><DIV class=photosubtext>Khari Stephenson is an example of a player who traded MLS for Scandinavia.</DIV></DIV></DIV>

But the experience of Jamaicans in the MLS recently indicates Caribbean players are going to bypass the league for Scandinavia. The pay is better for them in Scandinavia than in MLS; the leagues provide a better platform for a move to bigger clubs; and, crucially, they will receive regular playing time.

Teofore Bennett (Osters), Jermaine Hue (Mjallby), Luton Shelton (Helsingborg) and Khari Stephenson (GAIS Goteborg) have been with and/or been rejected by MLS teams in recent months. All have found acceptance in Sweden. If they continue to succeed, they will be seen by bigger clubs. And, making the move from Sweden to Great Britain or continental Europe often seems simpler than making a similar move from MLS.

U.S.-based agent Patrick McCabe, who represents several of the Jamaicans, uses the example of Atiba Hutchinson, a Canadian who was considered by several MLS teams. Hutchinson went to Osters, a midtable Swedish club, and progressed to Helsingborg, then to FC Copenhagen, which is playing in the Champions League. Copenhagen came shopping in the MLS, also, and took Jean Philippe Peguero on a $1 million transfer, one of the highest fees ever paid for a Haitian player.

Shelton was being closely observed by at least two MLS teams, then went to Helsingborg on a $200,000 transfer and is being paired at forward with Henrik Larsson.

Most others are going to Sweden on free transfers.

Bennett, 23, burst onto the scene with a goal against the U.S. in a pre-World Cup friendly. But no MLS teams were interested, so Bennett went to Osters and scored twice on his debut. Both Hue and Stephenson failed to find playing time with the Kansas City Wizards. Now, though, Stephenson is attracting interest from midlevel clubs in the Bundesliga and Premiership.

Andy Williams is among the few Jamaicans who have had any staying power in MLS. He moved from Kingston, Jamaica, to Kingston, R.I., to play for the University of Rhode Island, then joined the Columbus Crew at age 20. Williams is in his ninth MLS season, but as a successful Caribbean player in the league, he has been an exception.

Williams also has had to endure some difficult times, surviving in MLS because he was willing to absorb a major salary reduction in Chicago and also because he earned a work permit. Otherwise, as a foreign player, Williams would have been discarded. But he has been a strong point of reference for Real Salt Lake, and he displayed his class in the team's recent exhibition loss to Real Madrid.

Damani Ralph was a Jamaica-MLS success story, moving from the Chicago Fire to Rubin Kazan in Russia. Others, such as Wolde Harris and Tyrone Marshall, have made strong contributions to the MLS.

Meanwhile, Jamaica's national team has failed to capitalize on the success of its 1998 World Cup finals appearance, which launched the England careers of players such as Ricardo Gardner. The historic relationship between Britain and Jamaica seemed to promise opportunities for the Reggae Boyz, but that is not happening.

This is where Scandinavia fits in. Salaries are similar to what can be expected in the MLS -- from $70,000 to $150,000 -- not including benefits such as airline tickets, automobiles and housing, which are rarely available in MLS contracts. Plus, the Caribbean players seem to hav

RE: very interesting - the scandinavian option

Long Time another door be opened , MLS wasnt giving our boyz a fair break and the english leagues has a stringent work permit system, now if K.K can only get a bly to sweeden then our 2010 campaign can be launcched.

Interesting to note C.Bstill has no clue on how to assemble a midfield.Wha MO say , bypass the midfield for the forwards...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Good article Baddaz. We need to get Keith Kelly in one of these teams now.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well, CB assembled a great midfield for the WCQs, so I don't know what happened yesterday. I guess it's the personnel.

Did he assemble a midfield for the WC campaign?, yuh sure bout dat.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Baddaz: Excellent post!

Respek!

Negro I posted this like a month ago. Stop sweatin' me! - T.K.

Agree and disagree X.

I agree with you that it is good to have another dooropen for Jamaican players. Especially one that is in Europe. That is not a bad thing at all. As well looking past the individual players it gives NPL clubs another avenue to showcase their players which potentially could lead to higher transfer prices.

Cannot agree with you at all about MLS not giving Jamaican players a fair break. MLS has brought in a number of Jamaican players since it started in 96. Some were able to fit in some were not. It does not mean that they are not giving them a fair break. I would think that if MLS were biased against Jamaicans Andy Williams would not have been named player of the year for his team last year and Tyrone Marshall would not have been named defender of the year for his team. Sometimes you get a right fit sometimes you don't.

When it is all said and done the ultimate goal for a Jamaican footballer should be the EPL if at all possible. - T.K.