• Boyz's rating a problem for potential sponsors - Burrell

Boyz's rating a problem for potential sponsors - Burrell
    BY Livingston Scott Observer staff reporter
    Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, said the Reggae Boyz's dismal performance over the past few years and their dramatic slide down the FIFA World Rankings have made it difficult for them to contract a sponsor to outfit the team.
    Burrell was speaking to journalists at the Federation's office last Friday after a board meeting.
    According to the Federation boss, the Reggae Boyz brand has been severely tarnished and they need to improve their rankings quickly if they intend to attract any kit sponsors.
    "This new administration has been talking with a number of major kit sponsors," Burrell revealed.
    "However, we hit a snag only two weeks ago, as we thought we had tied up a deal, only to realise that they (sponsors) were not happy at the end of it all, because they came to us stating that they could not sign the agreement based on where Jamaica was on the World Ranking of FIFA," Burrell explained.
    "We are too way out in terms of our rating, but they say if our position improves in a short while then we could recommence negotiations," he added.
    Jamaica was ranked in the 30s when Burrell left office four years ago. However, an inactive senior squad coupled with poor results saw the 2008 World Cup qualifiers plummeting past the 100 mark for the first time since the inception of the FIFA Workd Rankings.
    Burrell however said the JFF was committed to rebuilding the Reggae Boyz's image to what it was before.
    "Based on where we're ranked, almost at 100, that has put us out of the realm of what they (sponsors) want. In other words, we're not a viable entity for them and as such, we were not offered a deal.
    "However, this administration is continuing its search and hopefully we will land a deal," he said.
    "It might not be attractive because we're not in a position to command the kind of package that we think we can based on where we're at in the FIFA Ranking and based generally on our performance over the last few years," he added.
    The Boyz's last kit sponsorship was with the renowned brand, Ulsport, which ended in 2006.

Mo yuh mussi proud of the mess that your bwoy Clueless Crenston left us in

Aaah bwoy. If I only I could say what I really want to say.

Mo, wha happen to Crimpson Dawn? Are they still in business in Jamaica?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

HEY...HEY....crimson dawn is good at what they do.....ok? ....nuff said.

Or even Sun Island!

ok don't know much about them.....but crimson dawn is near and dear to mi heart....

Sun Island used to mek di t-shirts yuh see in the tourist resorts. The material was so cheap you could see thru it! Wash it two time and it only good fi wash yuh cyar afta dat.

yuh mean nowhere the quality of crimson dawn!!!??

as a t-shirt or as chamois?

but a whey di....?!!!

anyway ef yuh tun yuh han an mek fashin a nuh nutten!

Go short term and you are not selling the team you selling a brand.. Do a two year deal with puma or Nike at lower rev and then fill ip

use to? when them gone otta business Mo?

Oh, sorry, I think they still do! But much better quality!

honestly I think the baker is grandstanding here. I think if Canada can get addidas sponsorship Jamaica can. At the end of the day we can sell as much products as the big boys brazil included. Where Shatta deh.. We selling culture not fifa rankings. The Captain want wi turn shatta loose pon him.