• Nandi given yet another chance!

Harbour View's hopes snuffed out in tie
    published: Monday | February 4, 2008

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Harbour View's faint hope of securing a place in the Cash Plus Premier League final faded away following a tough 1-1 draw with Arnett Gardens at the Harbour View Mini Stadium yesterday.

The Stars of the East, who found themselves with 17 second round points in the final fixture of the round and 33 overall, started the day three behind Waterhouse (36) and needed a win, while hoping for the Drewsland team to lose to second from bottom August Town.

After dominating the early proceedings the hosts would, however, find themselves even further from their objective after Arnett new signing Fabian Davis found the back of the net from the penalty spot in the 36 minute.

The penalty was awarded after another new signing, former national player Onandi Lowe, sprinted away from the Harbour View back line, forcing last man Clifton Waugh into a desperate lunge, bringing the striker toppling over in the area.

Harbour View did not stay behind for long as striker Kemar Petrekin took just five minutes to come up with the equaliser.

Left-footed blast

Arnett goalkeeper Julian McLeish was impeded by Kavin Bryan when he left his line to claim a high looping ball, allowing Petrekin to control the ball in the area and drift right before firing a low left-footed blast into the right hand corner.

"We would have wanted the three points today regardless of the end of round final or not," said a visibly disappointed Lenworth Hyde Sr., coach of Harbour View.

"I just didn't think we created enough chances today, the attacking players need to get more involved and they didn't do that today."

Despite being an even more ruggedly contested affair, the second half did provide a few scoring opportunities. A dipping long range effort by Harbour View midfielder Lovel Palmer caused keeper McLeish some discomfort in the 58th minute.

A viciously struck free kick by Kevin Wilson just outside of the area hit the crossbar in the 70th. In time added on striker Kwame Richardson looked to have the game won for Arnett but his hard shot beat Harbour View keeper Dwayne Miller, but curled wide of the post.

Arnett coach Jerome Waite was pleased with his side continued improvement.

"The physical strength of the team is improving. We keep scoring an we can only get better as the season progresses." he said. "I'm looking forward to a good performance in the next round. Two rounds have gone by and we haven't woke up."

Harbour View 1

Kemar Petrekin 41st

Arnett Gardens 1

Fabian Davis 36th (pen.)

Where there is Nandi, the words of X are not far behind.

Its not over till Nandi says its over.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yes, I'm sure he will be selected to the Reggae Boyz team any day now!

Thanks, Me. Thanks a whole lot for your prophecy!

Harbour View's hopes snuffed out in tie
            published: Monday | February 4, 2008

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

The penalty was awarded after another new signing, former national player Onandi Lowe, sprinted away from the Harbour View back line, forcing last man Clifton Waugh into a desperate lunge, bringing the striker toppling over in the area.
            What a telling comment - on the Harbour View back line?

Slow!

--- on Onandi Lowe?

Fast!

Make up your mind, Karl. And gwaan believe everything you read from our reporters.