JFF should contact Copa America Now

• JFF should contact Copa America Now

The USA Soccer Federation is mulling an offer to play in next year's Copa America which is set to be held in Venezuela. The USA has refrain from accepting these invitations in recent years because the Copa America usually occurs while MLS is still in progress. But now added to that are two other reasons:

1) Politics - Hugo Chavez does not like all Americans, and many Americans do not like Chavez.

2) Fatigue - The players will be tired coming off their Gold Cup matches.

While the CONCACAF Golf Cup matches will run from June 6th through June 24th, the Copa America games will begin two days later, on June 26th, and finish on July 15th. As they have done over the last 10 years or so, I expect the USA to decline the offer to participate.

This is where Mr Boxhill & Co. could regain some mileage if they were to contact the organizers of the Copa America and allign the ReggaeBoyz as the replacement for the USA.

Oh, btw congrats to CB and the Boyz for the win over Canada. This win can be used as an ace card in saying that ''look we really can play, losing to StVG was an anomaly.''

What do we really have to lose by participating in the Copa America!! I think we have more to gain than to lose. This could suffice as our practice field in place of the Gold Cup which we rediculously missed out on.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

RE: JFF should contact Copa America Now

It is a good idea Farmah, but here is the show stopper. Do you realize that the CONCACAF ranking has the following teams listed before us:

USA, Mexico, Canada, Costa Rica, Panama, T&T, Guatemala and Cuba? Do you not think it would be easier for them to grab two teams from that list of teams which are supposed to be better than us if you go by FIFA ranking?
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yet good managers would prepare a case and present it to the Copa America boys!

Go for it JFF! Go for it immediately!

FORWARD!!!!

Great suggestion!

Respect, sah!

You are so right Tilla but a little marketing, selling and pawning may possible do the trick. Afterall, the ReggaeBoyz can probably pull a bigger crowd thanmost of the teams in CONCACAF (Mexico &Costa Rica aside).

It is a lot of work to pull this off burt if the Boxhill admin can do this then it will lend a little credibility to their woeful resume.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Cool Sah. Now if only the JFF will jump at it, they could possible make something out of nothing.

Farmah (10/8/2006)Cool Sah. Now if only the JFF will jump at it, they could possible make something out of nothing.
              There is nothing to lose...and, maybe...maybe...everything to gain!

So the JFF should beg CONMEBOL to invite a team that failed to qualify for their own regional tournament, the 2007 Digicel Cup Final Round?:hehe::hehe::hehe:

Methinks dem nuh waan water down dem tournament!:laugh: