Karl I wonder why the ref did not give that goal

If I am remembering correctly the ref made an error by acceding to his assistant ref's call.Originally posted by OJ View PostI see why you were confused.

When the player (Adebayor) was initially in an off-side position the ball was not played forward and thus not in his direction and or to him...

...when the defender *played the ball to the player (Adebayor)...Adebayor was in an offside position, however, the ball was *played to him by a defender...and it is clearly stated that a player cannot be off-side when the ball is played or touched to him by a member of the opposing team!

If the initial pass was sent forward by an Arsenal player and the ball was being 'cleared' or even passed back directly by a defender and it then went straight (without 2 or more passes among the defenders) to Adebayor that would be OFF-SIDE! That was not what happened.

...and btw- although the ref had clear sight of what happened he asked the assistant ref to make the decision of off-side or not offside. The assistant ref called off-side and the man in the middle went with him.

*Mi seh played to him...not a wild attempt to clear and the ball ran off the defender's foot! Two different things!

I think you fail to realise that any player (including the goalkeeper - and that means the goalkeeper putting the ball on the ground and the opponent running in from what was previously an off-side position e.g. as bad as...as terrible an off-side position as from the goal-line...coming up behind the goalkeeper and scoring) can play the ball to an opponent and if the ball end up in the goal without any other infringement occur it is a goal!

To me it appeared as if the defender PLAYED the ball to Adebayor!Last edited by Karl; March 15, 2008, 04:56 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."