• Poland vs the USA

The US players worked overtime...

...and as to TEAM defense?
    Players were always coming back and attacking the Poland players on the ball. The Polish attack was harried and pressured at every juncture.

Set pieces did Poland in!
    Not a 'good' smooth win...but an important win.

btw - Terrible field!

U.S. crushes Poland 3-0

The U.S. soccer team has its first winning streak on European soil.

Carlos Bocanegra and Oguchi Onyewu headed in first-half goals, substitute Eddie Lewis scored in the second half, and the United States beat Poland 3-0 in an exhibition game Wednesday night.

(continue)

Yup!

The pace at which the US executed on attack and defense had the Polish players "playing 2nd" too often. Do I have to say the obvious - the game at the highest levels is played at dazzling speed!

Now Mosiah's Maestro...? ...was too slow at executing in that DC 2nd game in particular. Slow = poor play!...certainly where there is even some semblance of quality opposition! Why? You are shut down in a flash! You are allowed little time...no time 'to touch two times'. The thinking must be immediate...if not before the ball arrives!

Woe to the slow-pokes! ...and greater the woe the higher the quality opposition as you go along!
      Last edited by Karl; March 27, 2008, 08:19 AM.

Oh, don't we wish speed gonzalez Tappa was there! Wasn't he just a flash with his dribbles, movement over ground and decision-making!

sigh

Oh, don't we wish speed gonzalez Tappa was there! Wasn't he just a flash with his dribbles, movement over ground and decision-making!

sigh
          Movement and decision making - swift, decisive, accurate, safe and all TEAM! -

...unfortunately he never was fast across ground. ...but had quick feet - yuh nuh di kine wid di ball dat says tuh opponents - "now you see it, now you don't!!!"

yes, that disappearing act we have been talking about for a while!

ONYEWU: BACK ON TRACK IN EUROPE

American central defender Oguchi Onyewu feels that the USA is back on track after anchoring the defense in the American victory over Poland in Krakow.

"It was a good game and a good result," the Standard Liege man told YA. "We really weren't expecting to win so comfortably."

(continue)

Zeppo nice win for your guys. Always sweet to win on the road in Europe especially considering in the past it has been a trouble spot for the US. Bob Bradley deserves a pat on the back for what he has done over the last year with that player pool. Especially what he has done in getting that back line to gel. Very suprised to see Onyewu doing as well as he has in the last 3-4 matches for the US.

Watching the match the other day I have come to the conclusion that the US has no choice but to play a single forward set up.

The current striker pool for the US is rubbish and it was never more so evident as it was in that Poland game and the U23 qualifying matches. I believe that playing with 2 forwards is a complete waste for this particular group as you don't have any players who are real scorers or can put the other team's defense on their heels. It happens to be one of those cycles right now where the depth is just not there.

However you do have a kick ass midfield and are very deep at that position. In my opinion the coach should make it a priority to get as many of those talented players on the field as possible. I think he needs to go to the 4-2-3-1 as that would play into the US' strengths very well. Players like Landon Donovan, Freddy Adu, Benny Feilhaber, Michael Bradley, Maruice Edu, Chris Rolfe, Damarcus Beasley, Clint Dempsey and co. would thrive in such a set up. It would also give them alot of room to work as it allows them to face up to goal and make runs from deep which is where they have the most success.

As well the team can then focus on developing 3 true center forwards heading into 2010 rather than wasting time on all these other guys who have zero upside.

What do you think? Make sense or do you see it another way? - T.K.