• Jozy Altidore to Villarreal

Spanish team in deal for Altidore

Spanish club Villareal reached an agreement in principle with Major League Soccer and New York Red Bulls to sign Jozy Altidore, the 18 year-old striker, a club official said Wednesday morning.

Altidore, whose lightning pace and eye for goal have already made him a star in the United States, must still negotiate personal terms with the club and pass a medical exam to complete the transfer negotiated by M.L.S. which owns all of its players’ contracts. A fee has not yet been announced.

(continue)

I guess they don't make good heaters in Europe, as the European clubs are always coming across the pond to shop for American benchwarmers.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

wassup with adu, the middleaged phenomenon?

Comm'on now Gamma...comm'on now Jangle

Freddy is still the phenom. The upcoming WC qualifications will show. Plus chek him out dis-eveling against Spain-- and a few days after...against Argentina.

As for Josy Altidore...he is the real deal...das why he will be with Villarreal.

(Hmmmm...something seems to rhyme here).

well yuh got the rhyme down so it MUST be true!

what's all this much adu about nothing?

Word is that he will be sold for something around $10 million.

Real deal and Villareal don't rhyme. Yuh going to have to trust me on that, HL.

Zeppo, what was Adu's transfer fee to Benfica again?
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I would have to see that first.

yuh figget is JAWjah him deh?

Awesome for him. It will be a tough go but if he is strong enough mentally he can really improve as a player there. - T.K.

Altidore expects to be loaned by Villarreal

New York Red Bulls striker Jozy Altidore would not be surprised if Villarreal decides to loan him to another club in the Spanish League once his roughly $10 million transfer is complete.

There has been a report that Villarreal, which finished second in the Spanish League, might send the 18-year-old American to Recreativo Heulva on loan to indoctrinate him into European soccer.

(continue)

I guess they don't make good heaters in Europe, as the European clubs are always coming across the pond to shop for American benchwarmers.
                          Think on this?

If by and large, - (excluding the area of goalkeepers where the USA players are miles ahead of our own) - technically our players are at a higher level than the US players:
                          Of our players and the US players who move on to professional contracts how many are first team players in the respective new country's in which the ply their trade?

How many from Jamaica and how many from the USA are in teams in the top division in these new countries?

How many from Jamaica and how many from the USA are regular starters in these top division teams?

If the USA has more players commanding regular places on these first teams, why is that?

On the matter of tactical play, if you include that in your ratings/subjective look at players from both countries - Consider whether or not I am correct in saying that tactically the USA players are miles ahead of our players? They more often play TEAM! They consistently during games stick to 'task at hand' and involve other TEAMmates in the play!

*Eddie Johnson - Is it fact that he is currently being under appreciated because he consistently strives to involve TEAMmates in play. He plays as a lone forward and or has no upfront support and therefore has to be often passing back or laterally...or holding up the ball until support arrives!

...and to compound matters he get extremely poor service (just about no service from his current TEAMmates).

I think that is fact!

What do you think - Fact or fiction?

er....WHAT?!!!!

Jozy's official presentation