Bora's a good choice

• Bora's a good choice

<TABLE class="moving articleDiv null" id=Art style="DISPLAY: block; Z-INDEX: 800; LEFT: 30px; VISIBILITY: visible; WIDTH: 600px; TOP: 84px; HEIGHT: 450px" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 minheight="200" minwidth="600" related="articleContent" maxheight="90%" maxwidth="90%"><TBODY><TR height="100%"><TD id=ARTICLEWIN_CONTENT vAlign=center align=middle bgColor=#ffffff colSpan=2><TABLE style="BORDER-TOP: black 2px solid; BORDER-BOTTOM: black 2px solid" height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width="100%"><DIV id=articleContent style="OVERFLOW: auto; WIDTH: 600px; HEIGHT: 100%"><DIV class=scrolling id=insideDiv style="PADDING-RIGHT: 21px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px"><DIV class=HTMLTitle><SPAN id=Ar0450000 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Bora's a good choice, but let's not make the same mistake twice </SPAN></DIV><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><DIV class=HTMLContent style="OVERFLOW: auto"><SPAN id=Ar0450001 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">By PAUL A REID </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">MONTEGO BAY </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Velibor ‘Bora’ Milutinovic, the much-travelled Serbian, will, from all indications, be the next technical director for the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), entrusted with the task of plotting the Reggae Boyz’s journey to the FIFA World Cup in South Africa in 2010. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Bora left the island on Monday after a four-day “familiarisation tour” and meeting with major stakeholders. Now, from the utterances out of the JFF offices, it appears only a matter of time before Bora signs on the dotted line to take up the mammoth task of transforming the battered image of the 1998 World Cup finalists. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Football fans have been waiting with baited breath over the past few months for the announcement, and should be pleased with the choice if Bora does take up the position. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">While the top-brass of the JFF have not said much in terms of the coaches they short-listed, it has been widely circulated that Jose Peckerman, who guided Argentina at the recent World Cup in Germany, and Bora were the two top contenders. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Other names that were bandied about included: </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">? John Barnes, the Jamaicanborn former English player; ? Glenn Hoddle, a former </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">England coach; </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">? Foppe Dehana, a Dutch man </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">with a knack of developing </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">great youth programmes; and ? Brazilian Oswaldo de Oliveira </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Peckerman, for those who may not be aware, is the architect behind the </SPAN><SPAN id=Ar0450002 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">phenomenal success of the Argentine teams at successive FIFA youth world championships. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Mil

RE: Bora's a good choice

<DIV>Why does it have to be one or the other?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>"The question, if and when Bora is appointed, will be whether his job is to qualify our national teams for international tournaments or develop a programme that can sustain itself after his departure."</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And again I ask, who are the primary stakeholders of the national football program? Has Bora and the JFF met with them?</DIV>

<DIV class=HTMLTitle><SPAN id=Ar0450000 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">...and, </SPAN></DIV><DIV class=HTMLTitle><SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">
      Bora's a good choice, but let's not make the same mistake twice </SPAN></DIV><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><DIV class=HTMLContent style="OVERFLOW: auto"><SPAN id=Ar0450001 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">
      By PAUL A REID </SPAN>
      <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">MONTEGO BAY</SPAN>
      <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"></SPAN></DIV><DIV class=HTMLContent style="OVERFLOW: auto"><SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"></SPAN><SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"></SPAN>
      <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">
      For my money, Bora is the perfect candidate for the Jamaican job, given his extensive knowledge of CONCACAF, having coached in at least five countries in the region, including the United States and Costa Rica. </SPAN>
      <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Jamaica has no time to waste in getting back on track and bringing in a coach from South America or Europe with little or no experience in the region </SPAN><SPAN id=Ar0450003 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">would be counter-productive. </SPAN></DIV>

<SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">
      </SPAN>

<SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Bora perfect because of the above? What is it we have as our aim? Only defeating CONCACAF opposition? I think that would be anextremely limited outlook. An under-appreciation of what we - Jamaicans - have accomplished on the world's stage...and, a lack of faith in what we can do.</SPAN>

<SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">...and, as Mosiah alluded to the aim must be to move to the TOP OF THE WORLD and perpetual renewal =once there, remain there! </SPAN><DIV class=HTMLContent style="OVERFLOW: auto"><SPAN id=Ar0450005 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"></SPAN>
      <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">The JFF brass and their advisors (Sickko &amp; Co?) must understand where we - Jamaicans - aim to go! ...inJamaican parlance - dem mus kno, 'wah clack a strike'! </SPAN></DIV>

<DIV>Case in point - our U-20s are about to travel to Haiti next week to play in a qualifying tournament. I asked one of the players if he feels they are ready. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>"Yeah man. Wi ready. And dem say di team dem nuh suh good. Is only Haiti wi have fi worry bout."</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I wonder if that's what we said ahead of the Digicel Cup? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I told the player that it is high time we can even boast that not even Haiti will give us any problem and that we need to raise our standards to compete against the very best in CONCACAF, not just the regional countries.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I just hope is not Dean Weatherly did say that, bout di odda country dem nuh good!</DIV>

i already see good use for that trafigura money....:w00t:

ef wi cannot get past concacaf does it make sense to consider the rest of the world? we are way behind where we were in1998 therefore we cannot just fast forward to where we should have been...we have to make that juorney all over again.

If I hear another Jamaican journalist use the cliche "Velibor ‘Bora’ Milutinovic, the much-travelled Serbian" again, I am going to scream!! Every last one seem to lock in on this group of words and have to include it somehow to give their article validity.

I do agree that Bora is a good choice.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

<DIV>Aaargh! Drives me nuts too! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And why can't we just say "Bora" like veryone else in the world? Okay, so we know his real name. What!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>We do it with our entertainers too. Bounti Killa, Beanie Man and others are artistes, not in a court of law. Why are we constantly reminded what their real names are? We don't want to know!!! Does anyone ever call Madonna by her real or full name, or Charlie Sheen by his real name? Wi nuh bizniz!!!</DIV>

Gamma (10/19/2006)ef wi cannot get past concacaf does it make sense to consider the rest of the world? we are way behind where we were in1998 therefore we cannot just fast forward to where we should have been...we have to make that juorney all over again.
                  You are right.

...but, is it a matter of not having the talent to get past CONCACAF?

I certainly do not believe we don't!

...do we have the talent to compete with the rest of the world?

I certainly believe we do?

Now it may make sense to strive to 'walk with the big boys' as a way to get beyond CONCACAF? Right?

It may just be that if our standard of play...achieved standard of play/which we worked at achieving...which enables us to 'walk with the big boys'...would allow us to overcome CONCACAF opposition? Right?

...while lowering our aims...restricting our goals...could see us failing at the CONCACAF or even a lower level? Right?

Isn't it a truism that aiming high...at the star...sometimes means you fall at the level of the tree tops? Isn't it better to create the environment for success at a level higher than CONCACF's and will/should take you beyond CONCACAF?

In any case, I think we have the goods...in that player talent abounds...to walk with the 'big boys'. Why then must we aim for the lesser level CONCACAF?

...but, hey...if the majority thinks we only have CONCACAF type ability/potential...then...????

i don't know what is worse...the fact that you wrote such utter nonsense or the fact that it took you so many words to write it.

despite the talent that we have, our players were watching the world cup from their living rooms or at cuddyz or jamrock...talent is hardly the point! we did not even make the hex....once we get out of concacaf we will then have time to fine tune for beyond. it makes no sense preparing to beat croatia when we cannot get past mexico, canada, the us, panama, costa rica or god forbid...trinidad!

By Charlie Sheen you mean Mr Estevez, maybe we should call him by his real name more often so he cant keep running from his Mexican heritage...

Karl, try and think some times nuh and stop making a fool of yourself in public. Who do we play World Cup qualifying matches against?

Before we try and conquer the World, dont you think it might be expedient that we at least try to dominate CFU then CONCACAF next, instead of trying to go over those and win the Word Cup. Isnt that what Rene meant when he said we built a house from the roof down by qualifying for France in 1998?

The thing with you fanatics is that you refuse to acknowldge real progress and try to cloud it with foolishness.

I bet HB and HR and their minnions are having conniptions now as they are seeing some progress, our rankings is back up or at least moving in the right direction and the JFF has shown some pluck by going after a coach who will be able to help us.

They are hoping for doom and gloom so they can come back in and support their selfish purposes.

It is Jamaica's football that must progress Karl and not personal ambitions

You should probably start with Martin.

Gamma (10/19/2006)i don't know what is worse...the fact that you wrote such utter nonsense or the fact that it took you so many words to write it.

despite the talent that we have, our players were watching the world cup from their living rooms or at cuddyz or jamrock...talent is hardly the point! we did not even make the hex....once we get out of concacaf we will then have time to fine tune for beyond. it makes no sense preparing to beat croatia when we cannot get past mexico, canada, the us, panama, costa rica or god forbid...trinidad!
                            What?

Take Mexico out of the mix....because preparing todefeat Mexico is on par with preparing to defeat Croatia. Makes no sense preparing to defeat half-assed teams. If you can defeat Croatia. Canada, the US, Panama, Costa Rica and Trinidad are already accounted for as far as ability goes.

...and,my point simple ifthe TEAMhas the background work that makes defeating of TOP OF THE WORLD teams possible...then the Canadas etc. should be no problem.

Now if you are only prepared to defeat the Canadas...???? What is the bloody point?! The sum total of our being...being prepared must be to defeat the Canadas? What a*&amp;^%$#@@@ waste!

I am sure Asafa Powell, for example, did not set out to defeat only athletes from the CONCACAF region? We worked to...he trained to...he prepared to defeat TOP OF THE WORLD opponents. ...and, when he met Caribbean opponents &amp; CONCACAF opponents he wiped the floor with them.

If yourpreparationis of the quality to make for defeat ofonlylower level or middle of the pack opponents then that will be your you shall be stuck. Now if your preparation is of the quality that allows for defeat of TOP OF THE WORLD opponents...I thinkI would take a big guess on lower level or middle of the pack opponents being swept away.

Sickko (10/19/2006)Karl, try and think some times nuh and stop making a fool of yourself in public. Who do we play World Cup qualifying matches against?

Before we try and conquer the World, dont you think it might be expedient that we at least try to dominate CFU then CONCACAF next, instead of trying to go over those and win the Word Cup. Isnt that what Rene meant when he said we built a house from the roof down by qualifying for France in 1998?

The thing with you fanatics is that you refuse to acknowldge real progress and try to cloud it with foolishness.

I bet HB and HR and their minnions are having conniptions now as they are seeing some progress, our rankings is back up or at least moving in the right direction and the JFF has shown some pluck by going after a coach who will be able to help us.

They are hoping for doom and gloom so they can come back in and support their selfish purposes.

It is Jamaica's football that must progress Karl and not personal ambitions
                              Who said anything about not being able to whip CFU and CONCACAF teams? My point is we will whip those teams if our preparations is of the quality to do so.

It appears to me that if the aim is to whip CFU teams there would not necessarily be work done that will take us further than CFU.

If you aim a little higher, say defeating CONCACAF opponents then surely your preparationwould be of the qualityto defeat CFU teams?

Similarly if the aim is TOP OF THE WORLD...then the preparation must be that which will take you there...and, in the moving towards TOP OF THE WORLD the preparation surely would allow for defeat of CFU and CONCACAF opponents? Right?

There is no place for "before this...". The point is put everything in place to have seamless progression...preparation towards TOP OF THE WORLD quality play!

We have had from 1994through to the present that lowered aim...expectation...goal...of only being good enough to walk with the CFU and CONCACAF teams...and, our results bear that out! We need to aim higher...and, work accordingly for those higher results.