Is Bora the "Right" choice, I say

• Is Bora the "Right" choice, I say

NO, he may be a good choice if the goal is qualification to South Africa, but the right choice is one where a coach has substantial knowledge in building teams and programs, who are at the cutting edge.

The right choice, from the candidatesdiscussed by the press would have been the ArgentinianPekerman, and judging by the words of Clueless he was not the first choice, hence we dont know if he was given the roses, champagne, andvalet tour. My choice would have been Jean Tigana and his team or the Brasilian (numerous)and thier team.<H1 class=headline>PEKERMAN Jose</H1>

<SPAN class=v11>Nationality : Argentinian</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=v11>Date of Birth : 3 September 1949</SPAN>
    <DIV class="detail-photo-left v11"></DIV>

“If it was up to me, I’d give Jose Pekerman a contract for life.” These words, uttered by Julio Grondona, president of the Argentine Football Association (AFA), offer a good indication of the esteem in which the national coach is held.

Born in the province of Entre Rios in 1949, Pekerman made his name in Albiceleste football through a combination of hard work, humility and above all, sporting excellence. He was appointed in 1994 to work with Argentina’s youth sides and, though there were some at stage who doubted his credentials, Pekerman, along with his right-hand man, Hugo Tocalli, successfully set about nurturing a group of players who now form the nucleus of the national side.

After accepting the AFA’s offer to guide the country’s best youngsters, his U-20 team won the CONMEBOL South American championships in 1997 and 1999, although his greatest triumphs all came at the FIFA World Youth Championship.

Pekerman led his side to the holy grail of youth football on no less than three separate occasions: in Qatar in 1995, Malaysia in 1997 and on home turf in Argentina in 2001. <U>An impressive feat</U> when you consider that, prior to his arrival, Argentina had only taken the title once since 1979.

In 1998, following Daniel Passarella’s resignation, Grondona offered him the job of senior coach for the first time. True to form, Pekerman chose instead to take a coordinating role as general director of the Argentine national sides and recommended Marcelo Bielsa for the top job.

Then, in 2003, after refusing offers from several first division clubs, he headed to Spain for a six-month spell as director of football with Leganes. Little did he know that, just a year later, he would be offered another golden opportunity.

It was on 15 September 2004 that the AFA president again turned to Pekerman after Bielsa had stepped down and Carlos Bianchi declined the chance to replace him. This time, Grondona’s offer was accepted without a second’s hesitation. Pekerman was quick to settle into his new role, successfully steering his side through their remaining FIFA World Cup™ qualifiers and, just as impressively, earning the respect of the notoriously demanding Argentine football public.

Qualification for Germany 2006 was sealed with a resounding victory over Brazil in Buenos Aires, although a string of away losses, allied to a crushing defeat at the hands of the Seleção in the Final of the FIFA Confederations Cup Germany 2005, appeared to have soured his relationship with the fans somewhat.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

RE: Is Bora the "Right" choice, I say

Who could argue against Pekerman? However, if we were hoping that he could work with our youth teams, that might not have happened. He has said that he is done with youth football.

Mexxx (10/19/2006)<H1 class=headline></H1><H1 class=headline>Pekerman, along with his right-hand man, Hugo Tocalli, successfully set about nurturing a group of players who now form the nucleus of the national side. </H1>

<UL><LI>Pekerman led his side to the holy grail of youth football on no less than three separate occasions: in Qatar in 1995, Malaysia in 1997 and on home turf in Argentina in 2001. <U>An impressive feat</U> when you consider that, prior to his arrival, Argentina had only taken the title once since 1979. </LI><LI>Pekerman chose instead to take a coordinating role as general director of the Argentine national sides </LI><LI>...for a six-month spell as director of football with Leganes. </LI>[/list]

I have been beating up my gums and calling this man's name since Lazaroni's first go round. I wouldn't begrudge Pekerman a big salary either- thats the type of coach you pay for because we would reap the results across the board for years to come...
      SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

I think he can claim to have developed some of the best youth talent in the world he could just tell us what he was feeding those young Argentines who, during histenure, had left their Brazilian counterparts far behind - in world titles, in transitioning smoothly to the senior level in gaining European contracts etc. Argentina is the absolute best in player development (I rate Germany and Italy highly also cant forget the Dutch) and Pekerman was at the center of it -thats know-how -thats what we need.
        SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Mosiah, his position would be Technical Director of Football for Jamaica, with the population less than the size of Buenos Aires (sp), Argentina. His resposibilites would be overseeing ALL ASPECTS of Football and given FREE reign (within our top most budget) to create a lifelong program that is sustainable because he will be developing GREAT TEACHERS to teach our yougsters and coaching the Senior players (if his wish).

That is WIN WIN, of the candidates exposed he is the "RIGHT" choice. To me Bora is an Assasin (hail up Sass, hope tings smooth), a hired gun given one job to only kill one (South Africa 2010) client.
          http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Yes Siya, he is the Golden Goose

I agree!

Was he intersted in the job? Would he come for $1 million a year? It's not who you want it's who wants you.

Can he speak English? Can he communicate well with all the constituents: players, JFF leadership, corporate Jamaica, and most importantly, the Jamaican people.

What is his experience working with footballers from different cultures than Argentina?

You cant just pick a national team coach based on his record in developing youth players and World Cup tournament qualifications? You have to confirm whether the coach can get the required results in a Jamaican environment, with Jamaican players for the Jamaican people.

<DIV>Good points!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Even though there might be better out there, Bora cannot be considered a bad choice. </DIV>

In my own humble opinion, Jose Peckermen is bigger than Jamaica. We CANNOT afford people like these for more than 4 years at best....and at US$2M per year, I do believe that pekerman is out of our reach. The man was just the coach of Argentina, it means that he can pretty much walk into any national team in South America and draw down a US$3M per year salary. And believe me, if he comes here and do a good job, the bigger countries would snoop him up before long.

What we really need is a good "unknown" coach, much liek rene, who came here and made his name. even then, it would be pretty tough for us t9o hold on to such an individual once he makes his name.
                      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

put it this way.

it is not about best, it is about a big upgrade

Di right man at this point an time. It important fi wi qualify, an him ah specialist inna dat deh fiel. Suh, Tan an si nuh poil nuh dance, ah intaferance mash e up.

Those are the exact points I raised a few days ago, additionally we must never under rate knowledge of CONCACAF football.

Give you one example we were to play Honduras in the 2002 qualifying and when they realised how well we were doing they tried to switch the game from Tegucigalpa, the commercial capital to San Pedro Sula one of the worst crime infested areas of the country.

To us it would not matter cause neither Carl Brown or Geoffrey Maxwel or whoever were the locla choices then would have a clue.

Clovis had a clue however and raised a royal stink all the way to FIFA and the game was allowed to play in Tegucigalpa.

So we lost 1-0 when Shavar ducked the shot late in the game after Onandi head butted the man in the firts half and was sent off however, these little things have a way of working in our favour.

MunroE vs C-bar Oliveir Shield, if that happens look for me a Yard