• Burrell off to SA for official launch of World Cup 2010

Burrell off to SA for official launch of World Cup 2010

published: Friday | October 20, 2006

FORMER JAMAICA Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, will leave the island today for South Africa to participate in that country's official launch for the 2010 World Cup finals.

Burrell, an official of the Inter-national Federation of Football Associations (FIFA), numbers among a dozen people - most of whom are past African footballing greats like Roger Milla, George Weah and South Africans Mark Fish and Lucas Radebe - who have been named as ambas-sadors by the South African Govern-ment for the tournament.

"The launching on the African continent will take place over a three-day period, starting on Monday, October 23," Burrell explained of the function. "We will meet in Johannesburg and for the next two days we will meet in Cape Town.

"Having this function in South Africa will kick off the 2010 World Cup finals campaign and it promises to be a massive affair. Many luminaries will be there as well as Government ministers, the private sector, the president of FIFA, Sepp Blatter, FIFA's director of communications, Markus Seigler, and its director of international affairs, Jerome Champagnie, along with others including the chairman of the organising committee, Danny Jordaan."

The Jamaican businessman, who is also a Caribbean Football Union (CFU) vice-president, says during his visit he will also tour the World Cup stadiums.

"We will be taken on tour to the venues around the country to get a personal look for ourselves so that whenever we have to speak or represent South Africa in any country around the world we will be able to answer any questions which may be posed," he said.

Busy schedule

Asked to specify his role as an ambassador for the World Cup, Burrell said: "There have been 12 ambassadors named and our function will be to work along with the South African organising committee with a view to bringing more prominence to the hosting of such a prestigious tournament in Africa.

"We will be visiting various other countries around the world, attending functions, talking about the hosting and benefits and give it the kind of prominence one would expect from a big tournament as this one."

Commenting further, the one-time army officer described his appointment as "significant", particularly because of this country's stance against the apartheid system that was practised in the African state.

"It is significant, even moreso from Jamaica's role in the anti-apartheid struggle led by some of our former leaders such as Michael Manley, Dudley Thompson and all of those other icons such as Bob Marley, Carlene Davis, Peter Tosh, Jimmy Cliff."

This needs to be placed on this website: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/ - Karl time to remove fi yuh article...

RE: Burrell off to SA for official launch of World Cup 2010

Ha ha...you think?

Yup - This Burrell article is front page news...and, I have also gotten tired of seeing my article. Where is yours? If when submitted the editors say, "go", it would be up in a flash.

Incidentally there is an excellent article submitted by one forumite...but, not for his/her life will he/she register to have it aired.

Perhaps, you could encourage thatmember of the Massive to step forth and register. The member says he/she has tremendous fear about putting his/her info online/"in cyberspace".

We have been trying to explain that anyone who wants to find him/her and knows the right avenues for searching would have all that info in a flash.

Besides The RBSC does not divulge to, and or share info on any of our posters and or contributors with anyone. Posters' and contributors'info is treated as confidential.

Please help us in effort to convince the potential columnist that he/she should step forth for the benefit of us all?

Thank you!

So wrong..... - T.K.

<DIV>Not wrong!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Register! </DIV>

Why wasnt the fact that the Boyz will play a big team two times in December not on the front page, matter of fact it was not even on your page at all?

Was it because it was not in Burrell's favour?

Oh BTW that team is now int he top 30 on the latest FIFA rankings

Sickko (10/20/2006)Why wasnt the fact that the Boyz will play a big team two times in December not on the front page, matter of fact it was not even on your page at all?

Was it because it was not in Burrell's favour?

Oh BTW that team is now int he top 30 on the latest FIFA rankings
              Which team is that?

You will soon hear after the details have been ironed out but suffice it to say they were at the last two World Cups...