Assasin et al unnuh serious?

• Assasin et al unnuh serious?

Why are some people here surprised that the JFF ignores an outstanding college baller like Obrien White? I'm not, for sure!!

Some years ago there were two outstanding Jamaican college ballers whom the Jamaican football top brass ignored. One went on to become one of the best defender in the MLS for years, and even represented the USA on many occasions. The other just smiled and went on about his business of becoming one of the most respected spine specialist in the entire USA.

For those who don't know, I'm talking about Real Salt lake's Asst. Coach Robin Fraser, and Dr Kingsley Chin. Look up the exploits of Kingsley Chin and Robin Fraser as college ballers and tell me why they were overlooked by the then JFF administration!!!

Ain't nothing new! The local Jamaican attitude seems to be that if the player is honing is skills on the USA college circuit then he must be inferior to the other players in the NPL.

I doubt the JFF is looking in the direction of Obrien White. But the least the JFF can do now is to surprise me and give the youth the call that is long overdue! Come now Messrs Burrell and Simoes; do the right thing!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

And while people seems scared to blame Simoes, th eBuck stops with him. This not a guy playing in Africa. This is a guy that plays in the US and he's on top of his leaque. Simoes has no excuse...he should know him. I'm not asking that he knows every player but a player that his at the top of US colleges should be know my the coach.

Simoes is slowy showing himself to be a little con artist. I remebered that he "claimed" that he went on a player finding tour of UK and the US and said he identified more than 40 (I could be wrong on the number) new players. Where are the guys? How many new players did he invite from the US...Isn't Omar Cummings the only one? And about 3 or so was invited from UK.

Con Artist I tell you....

Farmer, a mi you a talk to you nuh. Man who see the talent of Chin on a daily basis. The only person in the media who was on chin's case was Ed Barnes. The youth was outperfoming his teammates from Colombia the Zaides to no avail.

Look I was crying from Ralph from when, look how long it took to give him a look. When Marshall got a look nuff man did a say them have better a Ja.

The system is a fraud. I won't blame Simoes too much as he has to depend on others since he has just been there for 6 months but others needs to do their homework. Hopefully Rene will see him on FSC in the next few weeks and some Journalist like Earl Bailey may read the site as we know.

The only Con Artist to take Jamaica to the World Cup.

You need serious help.

The system is a microcosm of the phobia the local powers have of anything 'farin'.. especially dem local 'farins'.. if yuh 'run wheh' stay deh, yuh cyaan have yuh cake and eat it..

This small minded mentality CLEARLY exhibited on this site by certain people exists across the full gamut of the local Intelligentsia and is a fundamental reason why Jamaica continues to be a Banana Republic...

the fact is the colleges don't play ball their big season until the fall so he may have to depend on others to tell him about Obrien.

In the fall I look to see Simoes get a look at him on FSC.

the irony here is Downswell coached this kid at youth level.

For the Blind to see..so did he see Obrien?

'Both good and bad' Simoes expresses mixed feelings about the number of players discovered on scouting trip
                published: Saturday | May 3, 2008

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Rene Simoes - Photo by LeVaughn Flynn

National football technical director, Rene Simoes, has expressed mixed feelings after discovering at least 40 players who have the potential to represent Jamaica's Reggae Boyz, following a recent scouting tour of Europe and the United States.

However, the Brazilian explained that the high numbers can be both a blessing and a curse as the nation embarks on their bid to reach the 2010 World Cup Finals in South Africa.

"It is large number of players but that is both good and that is bad," Simoes told The Gleaner.

"It is good because the players are there playing different levels of football, but bad because we won't have them all the time with us, so it is complicated," noted Simoes, who admitted he only expected to view about 18 players.

"But this is not just problem for Jamaica though, every national coach has to deal with this problem," he added.

Tour of europe, us

In a bid to bolster the national team ahead of what is expected to be a rugged World Cup qualifying campaign, which begins against The Bahamas on June 15, Simoes embarked on a two-and-a-half-week tour of Europe and then the United States.

However, while names like Sunderland standout central defender Nyron Nosworthy, Colchester's Kevin Lisbie, Southhampton's Jason Euell and Real Salt Lake City's Andy Williams are among those being called, the TD remained tight-lipped about which players he was most impressed with.

"I don't want to call any names because once you say name, then people automatically think that's national player," Simoes said.

"I have taken notes and right now, I discuss with staff, and then we decide whether to call them or not," he added.

Time factor

Jamaica are expected to weather the Bahamian challenge, but time will be a factor as the Reggae Boyz could find themselves taking part in the CONCACAF qualifying round three Group of Death early next year. The Jamaicans potentially face Mexico, Honduras and Canada. However, Simoes believes there will be time.

"The qualification period should be a long enough one and not just only Bahamas, I hope, so we should be able to see everybody," he said.

In the meantime, Simoes promised that the best possible team will be picked for the upcoming friendlies against Haiti and the return leg against Trinidad and Tobago.

Jamaica are down to tackle Haiti in Fort Lauderdale on the 18th of this month and play a return away leg against Trinidad and Tobago on the 7th of June. The first leg ended 2-2 on Wednesday, March 26, at the National Stadium.

More Sport

E-mail this story

Print this Page

Letters to the Editor

Most Popular Stories

again here is a kid that the jff paid to send for for all youth levels.. maybe they think a college baller is not good enough, but he is better than some in camp at the moment.

...hear...hear...!!

'farin' = USA

That's the next thing Sass, Kingsley was doing much better than Chris at Colombia U, and yet Chris got the call over him. Well....Chris had the influence of the Ziadie legend in in his corner so yuh done know'. Not saying that Chris wasn't good nor that he didn't deserve the call based upon his own merit but I'm just pointing out how a little "connection" can help sometimes.

We almost lost Granny too! Luckily the JFF gave him the call for that Ft Lauderdale match against the Romanians. Granny was at the end of his tether and the call came at the right time. He might've given in to the courting calls of our neighbours.

Karl said there's an upcoming interview with The captain. I hope he was asked why Obrien White is still being overlooked.
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

As you promote Obrian you find excuses for Simoes.

Classic!

Ah nuh everyday mi can agree wid yuh pon nutten, but this time I am with you 100%!!
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Hopefully Rene will see him on FSC in the next few weeks and some Journalist like Earl Bailey may read the site as we know.
                            That might be too late.

Mi nah defend nobody. The fact is it is harder for Simoes to know about the youth than any other Jamaican coach in the program.

The fact is if UCONN was on TV since Simoes take over I would have to say he should have seen but while it is not impossible it hard for Simoes to hear about him if no journalist, no media and nobody nah take up the youth case.