So why cannot these and others step up for 2010?

• So why cannot these and others step up for 2010?

History in the making
    published: Friday | October 27, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Eltham High's Tremaine Stewart (centre) ... a key player in today's Walker Cup final against Jamaica College. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN>

ELTHAM HIGH and Jamaica College will have their sights set on creating history as both teams hope to embrace the ISSA/Pepsi/JN Walker Cup for the first time when they meet in the 3:00 p.m. final at the National Stadium East field today.

A plucky performance by JamaicaCollege saw them book their spot in the final with a hard-fought 4-2 penalty shoot-out win over a favoured Charlie Smith team. However, it was Eltham, Walker Cup debutants, who stole the show in the competition's semi-final stage as they handed defending Manning Cup champions Calabar a 3-2 defeat. In fact, a brilliant first-half display by the St. Catherine team had seen them floor<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN> the Red Hills Road side 3-0 before conceding two quick goals in the second half.

No great shock

Eltham's victory was, however, no great shock as they have retained most of their core from a very talented team last year. Midfield whiz Tremaine Stewart, who put on a dazzling display in the semi, hard-working front man Dwayne Hunter, who netted a brace in the Calabar game, reliable custodian Kelso Cousins and talented right-flank player Tamoy Sibbles make them truly a dangerous team.

In fact, they will definitely start favourites today and should prevail against a Jamaica College team which, while also having an excellent work ethic, will sorely miss their inspirational midfielder Keammar Daley, who is away on duties with the national team at the Under-20 World Cup<A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=KonaLink3 &#111;nmouseover=adlinkMouseOver(event,this,3); style="POSITION: relative; TEXT-DECORATION: underline! important" &#111;nclick=adlinkMouseClick(event,this,3); &#111;nmouseout=adlinkMouseOut(event,this,3); href="http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20061027/sports/sports2.html#" target=_new><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica,

RE: So why cannot these and others step up for 2010?

How old are these midfielders?- 17 years old?

...and, in 2010 they would be?

How old is Arsenal's Fabregas?<DIV class=ish></DIV>

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=416><TABLE class=sqdetails cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=416 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=c1>Player name: </TD><TD class=c2>Francesc Fabregas</TD></TR><TR><TD class=c1>Date of birth: </TD><TD class=c2>04 May, 1987</TD></TR><TR><TD class=c1>Nationality: </TD><TD class=c2>Spanish</TD></TR><TR><TD class=c1>Position: </TD><TD class=c2>Midfielder</TD></TR><TR><TD class=c1>Height: </TD><TD class=c2>1.75</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1><DIV class=mvb>Overall career totals</DIV><TABLE class=protables cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=c1></TD><TD class=c2><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Apps</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c3><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>As sub</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c4><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Goals</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c5><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Yellow</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c6><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Red</DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>Total (Club)</TD><TD class=c2>112</TD><TD class=c3>(22)</TD><TD class=c4>11</TD><TD class=c5>16</TD><TD class=c6>1</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League</TD><TD class=c2>76</TD><TD class=c3>(14)</TD><TD class=c4>5</TD><TD class=c5>11</TD><TD class=c6>1</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>FA Cup</TD><TD class=c2>6</TD><TD class=c3>(2)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>3</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League Cup</TD><TD class=c2>5</TD><TD class=c3>(2)</TD><TD class=c4>1</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>European/Others</TD><TD class=c2>25</TD><TD class=c3>(4)</TD><TD class=c4>5</TD><TD class=c5>2</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Fabregas' experience?

So get our young the experience!

Tons of matches against Europe's and South America's top U-21 teams...and, those who should they deserve it moved to the TEAM REGGAE BOYZ!

...and, TEAM REGGAE BOYZ must also have tons of international matches against quality opposition.

No dead arse half-arse players in TEAM REGGAE BOYZ only best available players. No undeserving as has been the policy over the last 3+ years. Undeserving who kill the spirit of the deserving and leave TEAM members with feeling of sure defeat before the first whistle.

...but, deserving who help to create feeling of coming success. It is a fact, that one works harder...refuse to give up if one feels/ one knows there is the ability to gain WIN in ability of all the surrounding players.

The damn fool-fool policy of giving young a bligh and thus giving older players the sure knowledge of defeat is what it is a damn fool-fool policy.

If youngsters take the field it must be such that the older players believe/know the youngster deserves to be there.

...and, why the hell a policy of a watered-down product? the product that must be the company flagship product,

...bringing in most sales for sustaining lifeblood of the company

...being marketed in an half-arsed manner by putting out blighted product? Say it again...damn fool-fool policy! Best product at the senior level and all levels below must be put in the world's marketplace.

When our players step on the field they must know...no doubt in minds...that the best have stepped out with them to take on all-comers. It is best to perform at highest level possible to gain SUCCESSES! ...to sell product REGGAE BOYZ! ...to sell Jamaica's football! ...to among other things cause the world to sit up and take notice and come running for our product - REGGAE BOYZ, individual players and managers!

FORWARD!

Karl why you nuh stop the foolishness.

I didn't see one teenager or "young" player play for Jamaica during our failed Germany 2006 campaign. Jermaine Taylor was on the bench and Garfield Reid is not really young by international standards.

The young players came about in the Gold Cup etc. after we FAILED to qualify for yet another world cup.

We could have this talk with the older players that you want to hang onto indefinitely "yow bredren, you gentlemen failed to qualify us for the last two World Cups and you are going up in your thirties we aren't going to wait to see if you can do in your late thirties what you weren't able to achieve in yourprime, we wont waituntil after 2010 to wheel and come again with a next set of youth thanks goodbye and good luck iyah... life goes on you got buss over Twinny Bug, Tegat Davis, Peter Isaacs etcwhen dem man deh coulda still eat you food but Simoes was looking to the future... you blossomed because of that decision andnow you may have the experience and quality over some who we are lookingat - but we have to look to the future... AGAIN"
        SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

You do understand the real basis of Karl's argument, right? Karl does not want to get rid of Tappa just yet, even though he is not setting the NPL afire this season. And, getting rid of Tappa means acknowledging the ascendancy of the Great Maestro. That he cannot deal with!

Mi nuh do you nutten fi you come insult mi intelligence dem way deh you know bredren!

Believe me the post started out much differently I actually re-worded it so as not to start an anti-Tappa pro-Tappa war this weekend.

Siya (10/27/2006)Karl why you nuh stop the foolishness.

I didn't see one teenager or "young" player play for Jamaica during our failed Germany 2006 campaign. Jermaine Taylor was on the bench and Garfield Reid is not really young by international standards.

The young players came about in the Gold Cup etc. after we FAILED to qualify for yet another world cup.

We could have this talk with the older players that you want to hang onto indefinitely "yow bredren, you gentlemen failed to qualify us for the last two World Cups and you are going up in your thirties we aren't going to wait to see if you can do in your late thirties what you weren't able to achieve in yourprime, we wont waituntil after 2010 to wheel and come again with a next set of youth thanks goodbye and good luck iyah... life goes on you got buss over Twinny Bug, Tegat Davis, Peter Isaacs etcwhen dem man deh coulda still eat you food but Simoes was looking to the future... you blossomed because of that decision andnow you may have the experience and quality over some who we are lookingat - but we have to look to the future... AGAIN"
              You first have to understand...or, your response will make no sense.

My post had everything to do withalways having good players coming through from the lower ranks to replacethose who would have been surpassed in player-quality.If the policy suggested is implemented, always our best (most excellent?) would be in TEAM REGGAE BOYZ players. Thosedisplacedwould have been surpassed in technical and tactical proficiency by the players coming through.

It means, among other things, that each and every TEAMREGGAE BOYZthat takes the fieldwould be,in time, a first class product.

My post had nothing to do with the last attempt to get to the World Cup.

Had nothing to do with pointing at any player.

Mypost deals with the policy of displacing our best with young players who are not yet our best. That is a policy which I have consistently disagreed with. It is, in my mind, a wrong policy. A policy being implemented bymisguidedmanagers.

My posts suggests these young must, even in the age group teams, be selected on merit.

My post suggests giving the youngsters, at all levels, excellent opportunities to develop potential and fair chance to progress to level of competence needed to advance to TEAM REGGAE BOYZ status.

My post says the creating of the avenues for development of the young must be done by the JFF...and, further suggests that the young must be given a regular diet of playing against the best youngsters the rest of the world has to offer inEurope and South America.

My point is simple. Yet it is contrary to the policy of the current and former JFF administration's policy. It suggests that only our best players must be in our TEAMs...and, for emphasis it is suggesting that only the very best of all our players be in the TEAM REGGAE BOYZ - "best product" being always on the field.

...and, that best product, and at all levels, must consistently play against the world's best to keep that TEAM togetherness, continuous edge, continuous TOP OF THE WORLD status- such as our best players shall, in time, become...

...and, that will be putting our best in the world's marketplace and allinour football - players, coaches, administrators, fans, the country -will benefit.

My post deals with policy!

NB: I left out the Africaby error...so Africa must be a part of the mixof best age-group players...and, as Ghana showed in the last World Cup, has some of best senior teams in the world.

Sorry!

I think If we read Karls everlasting rambles backwards it will all sound like Taaappaaaa! Taaappaaaa...

Siya (10/28/2006)I think If we read Karls everlasting rambles backwards it will all sound like Taaappaaaa! Taaappaaaa...

...but, it was not!