Pepe injured - What is the backup plan?

• Pepe injured - What is the backup plan?

Boyz sweat over 'Pepe's' fitness
    IAN BURNETT, Sports editor
    Monday, September 08, 2008

GOODISON... his leg felt sore and stiff
    MEXICO CITY, Mexico - Technical director Rene Simoes and his Reggae Boyz band are sweating over the fitness of ace central defender Ian 'Pepe' Goodison for Wednesday's crucial World Cup qualifier against Honduras, following a crunching tackle by Mexican captain Rafael Marquez towards the end of the first half.
    Goodison, who was seen hobbling around at the team's hotel, was sporting a badly contused and abrased right inner thigh and inner leg. There was also swelling on his lower leg.
    But the lion-hearted defender - two months shy of his 36th birthday - soldiered on courageously and had it not been for his presence on the field, the scoreline could have been much worse.
    He remained motionless on the pitch writhing in pain following the challenge, before being stretchered off, but Goodison explained that he was always going to continue, even in severe pain.
    "You can't hold back when you are playing for your country, if you're going to hold back then it makes no sense playing for your country," he said, even as he held onto a colleague to climb the stairs at the entrance to the team's hotel.
    He revealed that his leg felt "sore" and "stiff", but was looking forward to Wednesday's game nonetheless.
    Doctor Charlie Roberts, team doctor, referred to Goodison's injury as one occasioned by a high studded tackle from the Mexican skipper. He said due to the severity of the challenge and the impact, "soft tissues" would have been crushed.
    "The injury will be treated intensely by ice to keep the swelling down, rest and elevation, as well as pain killers," said Dr Roberts, who hinted that a player of Goodison's physical and mental toughness could easily regain fitness in time for Wednesday's game.
    For Simoes, the injury is a big problem.
    "The guy (Marquez) went there to pay him back for the tackle on Giovani. It was not by accident...
    "Goodison is a warrior, he is amazing and along with Jermaine Taylor, if we didn't have these two guys today it would have been worse," added Simoes.
    Incidentally, Marquez received only a yellow card warning for the challenge, instead of the obligatory red card expulsion.

Concorde not flying anymore, can be borrowed one on the RAF two seater fighter plane and send for a UB40?

No worry a Die hard we a deal wid.

Soldier a solider and Pepe will be there. Him just need fi talk to Bibi, Tyrone and di crew.

The option we have if Pepe is out is putting Tyrone as the sweeper.

Bwoy ... I've always respected Pepe ... but the respect went up 2 more notches after that game.

By the way .. Claude Davis nor Stew Peas nuh inna the squad? If not ... WHY?

Claude Davis coming from long term injury has just played 2 games for his club.

Simoes don't seem to be impressed with Stew Peas

What is the big deal anyway. Check for the Ghana, Nigeria games and you will see that they have not been impressive either.

It was just so easy fi everybody shout Pepe done even when the man a stand up inna fire.

Yuh a try show up Tilla this mawning.

No man mi and Tilla cool man, we both believe Pepe a di best sweeper we have

wi play 2 mathes, canada and mexico...... away. we were expected to lose both...we lost one. We have 1 point from 2 games. if we win against honduras and mexico does the job against canada (which they are expected to do), that will place us in second position and our destiny will be in our hands.

it would be helpful for us if mexico beats everyone ...... for me is still support because there is still a little way to go. in fact although highly unlikely unless mexico beats canada everyone will still have a shot and mexico's place is not guaranteed.

"You can't hold back when you are playing for your country, if you're going to hold back then it makes no sense playing for your country," he said, even as he held onto a colleague to climb the stairs at the entrance to the team's hotel.

We need more of that.

When The Captain recalled The Prof and he susequently recalled Pepe, nuff man was ah cuss all kind of fabric bout Pepe done, pepe old, pepe cyaan cut it! When I stood up and said that Pepe is actively playing and was voted player (or defender) of the year for his team nuff man laugh.
                  Now dem see dat Pepe is di true soldier. All who are surprised now at the lion heart warrior probably never knew when Pepe's shoulder was dislocated in a game for Jamaica but the player went to the sideline, had his arm strapped to his body and went back out on the field to continue the game. They also never knew when he had his ribs broken but, again, went back onto the field after getting his ribcage bandaged.

Seeetdehnow!!!!!!!! As Shatta would say: ah suh di ting set!
                  "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

yuh nuh si mi 'low dem?

Yeah man, at least dem start recognize!!
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

He remained motionless on the pitch writhing in pain following the challenge
                        How do you do that? I thought writhing suggests that he was twisting and turning from pain etc. But he was motionless at the same time. . .
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

How do you do that? I thought writhing suggests that he was twisting and turning from pain etc. But he was motionless at the same time. . .
                          Journalism Jamaican style.

That is truly funny! He writhed motionlessly! Mussi slow-mo writhing.

not even mo that slow....