• Delap not thrown by all the fuss. Karl read this

Delap not thrown by all the fuss

Rory Delap joined Stoke City from Sunderland in October 2006

Stoke City throw-in specialist Rory Delap has played down the effect he has had on the Potters' run of three wins in their last four games.
    City have beaten Spurs, Sunderland and Arsenal in that time - and three of their five goals have come as a result of Delap's much-debated long throws.
    He told BBC Radio Stoke: "If I throw the ball into the net, it's not a goal.
    "It's one thing me throwing it, it's another for someone to head it. You need someone for the finishing touch."

Much has been made of City's direct style, particularly Delap's long throws, which have resulted in seven of the Potters' 13 Premier League goals. But the former Republic of Ireland international said the Potters will stick to their strengths, especially if they continue to get positive results. "We have shown that when when we can play well we can compete with the best sides. We know what we're good at and we will try to keep doing that."

Martin Chivers of Spurs & Ian Hutchinson of Chelsea used to do the same thing, ain't nothing new.
    “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

His name is always the first on the starting sheet if he is fit. That's an amazing arsenal to have in a team. Just like how the opposing team wouldn't want give away a free kick around their 18 yard box when they are playing against a Del Pierro or Ronaldo, they can't give away any throw-ins within their half.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

i think the main problem is that his throws are flat & of some serious distance with pace on it. Very hard to defend, you have to make ur mind up instantly as a defender or goalkeeper on what your gonna do to defend against it.
        Other long throwers of the past were of the looping kind, so it arrived in ur box @ a slower pace thus you have more time to decide on how ur gonna commit & defend it.

Originally posted by Raggs View Post
          i think the main problem is that his throws are flat & of some serious distance with pace on it. Very hard to defend, you have to make ur mind up instantly as a defender or goalkeeper on what your gonna do to defend against it.
          Other long throwers of the past were of the looping kind, so it arrived in ur box @ a slower pace thus you have more time to decide on how ur gonna commit & defend it.
          Just attack the ball! You arrive 'first', i.e. before the attacker, you win! The attacker arrives first, you lose!

sounds simple but if yuh jump too soon & miscalculate then ur attacker behind if he times his jump well enuff will get a free header..... Fuller got a couple like dat

Well...?
              If you allow the attacker to get to the 'nuh free heada fi im dat'?

Well...?
                If you allow the attacker to get to the 'nuh free heada fi im dat'?
                yeah so it's still tricky if u go too early..if ur timing is off or yuh get nudge behind.......trouble

If you do not have complete confidence in your abilities...this game is for you.