FIFA Please suspend Jamaica from Internation competition for 3 mths for this

• FIFA Please suspend Jamaica from Internation competition for 3 mths for this

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Coach murdered at kiddies football competition</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>BY KARYL WALKER Observer staff reporter
    Friday, November 03, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>A 10-year-old boy, who was getting ready to participate in a school football competition with more than 50 of his peers, watched petrified yesterday as a gunman walked up to his football coach dad on the sideline and shot him in the back of the head.<P class=StoryText align=justify>As Derrick Lewis, 36, lay on the ground, his attacker shot him once more.
    Confused, a number of screaming children ran blindly into the gunman's path as he sprinted across the football field into a waiting motor vehicle.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=330 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>This student of the Chetolah Park Primary School weeps for the security guard and football coach of the school, Derrick Lewis, who was killed in front of more than 50 children at a Kingston and St Andrew Primary league match yesterday. Officials at the school say professional counselling is being sought to reassure the traumatised students. (Photo: Michael Gordon) </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>The brazen midday murder of the Chetolah Park Primary School coach just before the start of the Kingston and St Andrew Primary league match at the playing field behind the Tinson Pen aerodrome in St Andrew has left students and teachers in shock.
    School principal Iris Hollingworth said that because of the incident, professional counsellors were being sought to help the student body to adjust.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We will have to seek help for the children are in a state of shock and trauma," Hollingworth told the Observer.
    Scores of students gathered inside a classroom and wept uncontrollably. A female teacher tried to stay calm as she consoled the devastated children, none of them older than 12 years old.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"He was very good to them and even those who were not at the match are very disturbed," the teacher said, as she fought back tears.
    Lewis also doubled as a security guard at the school.
    One boy did not cry; he merely stared into space. About 10 minutes later, the child spoke.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We were shaking hands [for the start of the game] and the man come and kill him. We frighten and start run up and down like we mad," the boy said. He was still trembling from the experience.
    The children from Chetolah Park Primary, who were in Lewis' care, were alone until cops from the Hunts Bay Police Station arrived on the scene.<P class=StoryText align=justify>A number of students from St Jude's and Jessie Ripoll primary, who were scheduled to participate in the competition will also require counselling.
    Detective Inspector Altemoth 'Parra' Campbell is a hardened cop who has worked in the trenches for most of his policing life, but yesterday's killing softened the tough cop.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I have seen some brutal things, but this one jerked me. The children, parents and teachers hugged each other and cried," Campbell told the Observer.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The police say Lewis was standing on the sideline when the gunman crept up behind him and shot him in the back of the head as the match was about to begin.
    Lewis was one of three people reported killed in the Corporate Area up to press time yesterday.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The others have been identified as 37-year-old general manager of BJ Hanna and Sons, Rose Garcia, and 20-year-old Raymond Murdock, also known as 'Boops'.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Po

RE: FIFA Please suspend Jamaica from Internation competition for 3 mths for this

Wow, I am sure that would make a serious dent in the crime statistics here.

What does football has to do with this bg man?

RE: FIFA Please suspend Jamaica from Internation competition for 3 mths for this

"We were shaking hands [for the start of the game] and the man come and kill him. We frighten and start run up and down like we mad," the boy said.

That sentence alone describes the impact on the children.

What next? Really sad.

stupid caption of the year

Nuh mek no sense. The man could have been shot at a cricket match or basketball game etc. Hell, it could have happened as he stepped out of his church. The fact that it happened at a football match does not make it a football incident. FIFA should have no ruling on this matter.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Bwoy we love to bark up the wrong tree. My"outrage tank" dun run out of gas long time ago. Shortly we will get over this, and move on to the next incident.

Vote Rasta Party

When last somebody shot at a Cricket Match ?

Hmmm...

Well, FIDA (Federation Internationale of Dominoes Association) should lock dung every bar where dominoes are played in Jamaica!

Every bar and street corner in fact.

There should probably be a permanent curfew in effect for certain areas of Kingston with constant police presence.

We need to check with the PNP first though and see what they will allow.

Why not just put Jamaica under house arrest since kids in the ghettos and others homes witness similar horrors.

Balla, desparte times call for desparate measures my friend. We cannot stop all crimes but we can make certain crimes unthinkable. There are certain crimes (for example menraping little boys) that are not tolerated by both the official goverment, the unofficial goverment (the area leaders) and the public. Ifa man had rape one of these little boysthen it is more likely thathe would be found.

If a gunman knows that if he does something like this thenthe goverment will not rest until they find him then it will think 10 times before doing it.

If a gunman knows that his area leader will shoot him if does something like this then he wont.

What we need to do isto motivate theofficial goverment,and the unofficial goverment (the area leaders) and the public to make shooting anyone at a soccer match a crime that will not be tolerated. FIFA can provide thatmotivationbut theyeven consider itbecause it was notan international match.

A military coup... end this joke called 2-party democracy in Jamaica. Anybody have Kenny Benjamin number ?

1 person representing each parish voting open to all Jamaicans with a passport.. 2 year review.. if yuh do the crime, you do the time.

If a man wants to kill another man and he knows that shooting him at a soccer match will provoke everyone wrathbut shooting him at a bar wont then it would be more likely to shoot him at the bar. Soccer must be held as sacred.

I wonder what would happen if tommorow the US, Canada and the European Unionrevoked the visa of all politicians and the family until the crime problem improves? Perhaps the policticians would just sit back and say we cant do anything about crime.

Anyhow ... I was simply blowing off some steam. I feeling better.