Ethlam, a lesson for the JFF?

• Ethlam, a lesson for the JFF?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Eltham riding high on commitment, dedication</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Paul Burrowes, Observer writer
    Saturday, November 04, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=350 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Eltham High's football head coach Gregory Allen (left) and his assistant Glenville Holmes showing solidarity at the school grounds. </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Only dedicated, devoted and disciplined athletes with talent earn places on Eltham High's cricket and football teams.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Principal Vivian Foster-Lindo tolerates no flippancy, making clear that Eltham High, founded five years ago, represents a badge of honour, a symbol of excellence.<P class=StoryText align=justify>For two years in a row, the dominant cricket boys carried off the Most Disciplined Team award with Oral Simpson, who also heads the school's Physical Education (PE) department, named Coach-of-the-Year.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In only two years, the football team has netted the Walker Cup, after a solid foundation, while the netball programme is being put together for competition in 2007 and track and field team getting ready for 2008.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Eltham High, with almost 2,000 boys and girls, has made giant steps in their few years at the arena of sports under the Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA).
    So why has Eltham High been on the up and up?<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=350 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Head of the Physical Education department and cricket coach Oral Simpson (right) addressing members of the cricket team during a training session this week. (Photos: Karl McLarthy)</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>"To prepare for competition we don't prepare for six months. We start from the bottom - the Under 14 - and build from there and that's why over the years we have been so successful. We don't start from the Under 19, we start from the bottom," emphasised the 31-year-old Simpson, a graduate of St Jago High.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"If we are partaking in any sporting event, the players need to be very dedicated and committed. That is our hallmark. Also, academically, we ensure that the students go to classes.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We are always there to see that they go to classes, with the help of other students, and persons having difficulties get help with extra classes," added Simpson who holds a bachelors degree in physical education at G C Foster College.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The head coach said when they are building a team they first "send out invitations to interested persons" and when the players come together the team objective of dedication is spelt out.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Anything that you are doing, you need to be dedicated, you need to be committed, and that is when you bear fruit," explained the six-foot two-inch Simpson, who has played for Clarendon Cricket Club.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"No matter what age they age they are - Under-14, Under-16, Under-19 - they are always willing to train, they follow instructions and to be honest they know what they want out of this.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The senior players instill the objective of dedication to the younger players and when they (younger players) become seniors they instill it in others," Simpson po

RE: Ethlam, a lesson for the JFF?

Good read! Young educated coaches are the future, not coaches over 50 who never achieved anything academically.

We don't start from the Under 19, we start from the bottom," emphasised the 31-year-old Simpson, a graduate of St Jago High.

"We are always there to see that they go to classes, with the help of other students, and persons having difficulties get help with extra classes," added Simpson who holds a bachelors degree in physical education at G C Foster College.

<DIV>As simple as that. Wow!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I would not share that formula with anyone. This story is almost too good to be true!</DIV>

<DIV>Then why don't we appreciate Wendell Downswell? Or are you saying the local coaches are good only for high school sports? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Just asking. Mawnin! </DIV>

We would appreciate Downswell if he got better results. If the high school coaches continue to get good results and are committed to continuing education & certification, then they have earned a whole leap of respect. International exposure can surely help to guide their coaching.

Afternoon sah...

A coaches like dem deh you have in mind when you establish a scholarship fund for promising Jamaican coaches.

Also a school like that you need to put in touch with overseas colleges. So that youths who might not make it in football can use that football as a vehicle for their academic work.

Love the article and it makes me feel real proud, it also make me feel like here is a chance for us to do something for our country football on a small but significant level.

Love the dedication and love the man dem a show to the youths and the success they get in return shows that sometimes all the youths need is someone to guide them and the will respond.

There is hope for us.

respect