• X, it appears Torres have some sense!

United favourites, says Torres

KEIR RADNEDGE / Sports Features Communications

ZURICH, Jan 12: Manchester United may be five points behind Liverpool in the English Premier League but they are favourites to win the title – according to none other than Liverpool’s Fernando Torres.

The Spain striker made his modest concession to Liverpool’s pursuers on the eve of the FIFA World Player Gala in Zurich – where his rival nominees included United’s own Cristiano Ronaldo.

Torres, returning gently to first-team action after hamstring problems, had played only the last halfhour of his club’s disappointing goalless draw against Stoke at the weekend. United, by contrast, had dismissed Chelsea by 3-0 to narrow the gap behind the Merseyside giants; United, perhaps decisively, have two games in hand.

Torres, Liverpool’s top scorer last term at the end of his first English season and then Spain’s Euro 2008 trophy-winner, said: “United are the champions and the favourites because they have shown over the years they’re a very powerful team with great players and, if they win those two matches, they will be top of the league instead of us.”

Contentious timing

His comments, while honest and realistic, may be seen as a little ill-timed. They come just at a time when Liverpool are apparently faltering at the top of the table and after manager Rafa Benitez launchd a remarkable personal attack on United’s Sir Alex Ferguson.

Torres refused to talk about the Benitez/Ferguson spat but suggested that the decisive act in the title race would the meeting of the two clubs at Old Trafford on March 14.

He said: “We know we must take our opportunities and that Old Trafford is waiting for us and then we also have to play Arsenal and Chelsea at home. We all have options and we will fight to the very end. Finishing top of the Premier League is a prize limited to a very few teams.

“The match at Old Trafford can be decisive so we hope that we can take advantage at a ground which has not always beeen lucky for us.

“We all know what United are about. They’re champions of England, Europe and the world and we do respect them. We know we’ll be struggling to keep up with them or keep ahead of them when it comes to the final matches of the season.”

Him bettah have some football sense when time come an' crack two gainst Man U...

Crack 2 wha? Ribs?

lol...that's quite possible with your outfit.

Torres comments, though misrepresented to us, may take the edge off the non-football BS that the press has stoked between Fergie and Raffa. To tell the truth, Raffa was right but his timing and continuation day after day was wrong. Fergie plays head games that Wenger and others could have told Raffa about. In fact, the KOP organization should have warned Raffa and Raffa should have learned by now, having been in England for that long.
          The press in England is like the National Enquirer. They misquote, slightly or significantly, stoke, overhype and encourage this kind of non-sense. They enjoy making it seem that these guys hate each other. Raffa has fallen in very deep. His comments now about David Gill are too far. The team reps are on the FA for a while, not forever. This is not a permanent thing. I remember when Arsenal rep picked the young Arsenal guy instead of Defoe for Germany 2006. Now that was proven to be blatantly wrong. However, there is no proven allegation, just a shovel of merde thrown against Gill.
          Fergie will keep getting away with it because he has been there so long and the same people who are tired of his antics admire him at the same time.
          If Raffa pays his dues and has staying power, he might get the same deferential treatment one day. For now, there is a long line in waiting. Count Wenger at the top. As much as I trash Arsenal, I respect Wenger and he has been helpful to the English FA and given good input re the England Team.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
            Torres comments, though misrepresented to us, may take the edge off the non-football BS that the press has stoked between Fergie and Raffa.
            You may be correct!
            The media may play up Torress' comments for a few days...and thus allow Rafa's red face to return to normal colour. May just have Rafa return to concentrating on what's most important to Mankine - his beloved "You'll never walk alone"!