Cats reject £20m Spurs bid as Jones signs new deal.

• Cats reject £20m Spurs bid as Jones signs new deal.

By: Graeme Anderson (Sunderland Echo).

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones will sign a new lucrative four-and-a-half-year deal today, the Echo understands. It is believed that the Black Cats have turned down a bid from Spurs which amounted to almost £20m.

The agreement will keep the powerhouse striker at the Stadium of Light until 2013 at least and provide the club with the time and space needed to fulfil Ricky Sbragia's plans of building a team around the Trinidad & Tobago international.

For Sunderland, it is a massive statement of intent that they are in the Premier League to compete with the elite, rather than just rub along.

And chairman Niall Quinn will also hope that the ambitious deal ends any speculation that the Wearsiders are to become a selling club in the wake of Pascal Chimbonda's £3m departure to Spurs yesterday afternoon.

Jones, a £6m signing from Southampton last summer, was last season's top scorer as Sunderland avoided relegation from the Premier League.

And this season he has scored seven goals in 12 starts since returning from a serious knee injury in November – a tally which has attracted the attention of clubs like Spurs and Aston Villa.

Spurs' pursuit of Jones in particular, has been determined, protracted and had an unsettling effect at Sunderland.

But the player's family is happy on Wearside, unlike Chimbonda's, and the lucrative contract for the striker has demonstrated how highly the club values him.

Although many newspapers were reporting this morning that Sunderland had turned down a £15m bid for the player, the reality is that the final deal put together to try prising the play away from Wearside was actually approaching a staggering £20m.

That would have dwarfed Sunderland's previous highest transfer sale – Michael Bridges' £5.5m transfer to Leeds United in 1999.

But Ricky Sbragia insisted on Saturday that the player was going nowhere and was adamant that he didn't want to sell his best players.

Likewise, Quinn is determined that Sunderland will not be cherry-picked of its most important talents, regardless of the fees involved.

For Quinn, Sbragia, Jones and Sunderland fans, the agreement of the new deal finally puts all the transfer talk to bed and allows the Black Cats to continue on their ongoing efforts to climb the Premier League table.

They host Fulham tonight in a game which Sbragia has targeted for all three points ahead of Sunday's derby game against Newcastle United and the visit of Stoke City to the Stadium of Light.

It will give Sunderland's 'new signing' his first opportunity to begin repaying Quinn and Sbragia's faith in him.

I thought Spurs would be better off shelling out £20m on Fuller instead. According to some idiots here he is better than Jones yet it seems no EPL clubs seems interested. Well the transfer window closes in 4 days time. Maybe Liverpool or Man U will be willing to break the bank to get him.

What a way some a we get cocky, a call man who no gree wid dem "idiot". Ahhh bwoyyy...

mi figet that Rednapp a strugglers coach and nuh know baller.

how much goal jones have this season?

7 or 8

What a way some a we get cocky, a call man who no gree wid dem "idiot". Ahhh bwoyyy...

What is their to be cocky about? If Rafa Benitez tried to buy the player last March for £12m and Tottenham recently had bids of £15m and £20m turned down then the valuation of the player says alot about his ability. The absurd notion by people like sass, the dread and don1 that Jones isnt a quality player and isnt as good if not better than Fuller is a moot point. The money thrown around to sign him already proves that.
              Last edited by Warlord; January 28, 2009, 12:42 PM.

mi figet that Rednapp a strugglers coach and nuh know baller.
                He knows players but whether or not the players he bought will keep Tottenham in the premiership is left to be seen.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                  how much goal jones have this season?

8 goals in 16 appearances but im sure you already knew that.

so him know player now? When him give Fuller respect and said he was a good player, him never know player then?

Bwoy fi you argument them change from one line to the next.

so him know player now? When him give Fuller respect and said he was a good player, him never know player then?

Bwoy fi you argument them change from one line to the next.

I never said he didnt know players son. I said he was an average manager in the prem. You can go back to my posts in otha threads and you'll see it for yourself. Since HR has been going back tryning to sign some of his former players...why isnt he kncoking on Stoke's door for Fuller?

I mean he signed Defoe, Chimbonda and had Spurs' chairman make 2 astronomical bids for Jones? where is Fuller in all this?

you are comical. You said his opinion didn't matter as he is not a top manager. That was the whole argument about him saying Fuller is a good player.

How many times you think a coach a go buy one player? Taking him with him one time is good enough.

you are comical. You said his opinion didn't matter as he is not a top manager. That was the whole argument about him saying Fuller is a good player.

How many times you think a coach a go buy one player? Taking him with him one time is good enough.

So thats your excuse for him not being interested in Fuller? I'll prove how your logic makes no sense.

1. Harry Redknapp managed Jermaine Defoe while at West Ham.
                          2. West Ham gets relegated under his watch to the championship. Defoe immediately submits a transfer request 24 hrs after Hammers go down. He eventually gets sold to Tottenham for 7 mill. HR moves on to manage Portsmouth then Southampton then back to Portsmouth. He buys Defoe from Tottenham last year for 8 mill for Portsmouth
                          3. HR then leaves Pmouth and buys the same player again for 15 mill for Tottenham. How many times is that?

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                            By: Graeme Anderson (Sunderland Echo).

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones will sign a new lucrative four-and-a-half-year deal today, the Echo understands. It is believed that the Black Cats have turned down a bid from Spurs which amounted to almost £20m.

The agreement will keep the powerhouse striker at the Stadium of Light until 2013 at least and provide the club with the time and space needed to fulfil Ricky Sbragia's plans of building a team around the Trinidad & Tobago international.

For Sunderland, it is a massive statement of intent that they are in the Premier League to compete with the elite, rather than just rub along.

And chairman Niall Quinn will also hope that the ambitious deal ends any speculation that the Wearsiders are to become a selling club in the wake of Pascal Chimbonda's £3m departure to Spurs yesterday afternoon.

Jones, a £6m signing from Southampton last summer, was last season's top scorer as Sunderland avoided relegation from the Premier League.

And this season he has scored seven goals in 12 starts since returning from a serious knee injury in November – a tally which has attracted the attention of clubs like Spurs and Aston Villa.

Spurs' pursuit of Jones in particular, has been determined, protracted and had an unsettling effect at Sunderland.

But the player's family is happy on Wearside, unlike Chimbonda's, and the lucrative contract for the striker has demonstrated how highly the club values him.

Although many newspapers were reporting this morning that Sunderland had turned down a £15m bid for the player, the reality is that the final deal put together to try prising the play away from Wearside was actually approaching a staggering £20m.

That would have dwarfed Sunderland's previous highest transfer sale – Michael Bridges' £5.5m transfer to Leeds United in 1999.

But Ricky Sbragia insisted on Saturday that the player was going nowhere and was adamant that he didn't want to sell his best players.

Likewise, Quinn is determined that Sunderland will not be cherry-picked of its most important talents, regardless of the fees involved.

For Quinn, Sbragia, Jones and Sunderland fans, the agreement of the new deal finally puts all the transfer talk to bed and allows the Black Cats to continue on their ongoing efforts to climb the Premier League table.

They host Fulham tonight in a game which Sbragia has targeted for all three points ahead of Sunday's derby game against Newcastle United and the visit of Stoke City to the Stadium of Light.

It will give Sunderland's 'new signing' his first opportunity to begin repaying Quinn and Sbragia's faith in him.
                            Good luck to Jones!

As I said he is a powerful and promising player. Hopefully he will improve his scoring and all around play... to become a complete and more effective baller.

Sunderland "building a team around him" doesn't sound as if they're too ambitious.... as he is not the finished article.

It would also be foolish for this club to sell a settled striker at this stage as they are relegation bait.

Hopefully (for them) this experiment works.

It is always good to see caribbean players in demand. Jones is a very promising player.

For Warlord: You still a not over Fuller doing a better job on your woman than you? FYI RedKnapp is TP's mentor and the person that told him to get Fuller to help them get promoted; Jones is younger with no medical issues and should command a higher price.