• Bradley leads US past Mexico in WC qualifier

Bradley leads US past Mexico in WCup qualifier

Even before the game started, Michael Bradley knew everything would be fine.

Then he went out and made sure.

Bradley scored twice to lead the United States to a 2-0 victory over Mexico in a World Cup qualifier Wednesday night, preserving the Americans’ domination in the series over the last nine years.

“These games against Mexico, they’re very special games,” Bradley said. “They’re fun games. As a player, these big games are the ones you want to play in. In the locker room before the game tonight you looked at every guy and you knew that we were ready to play.”

(continue)

Mike Bradley is for real !! He brings his A-game into every match. However, he needs to temper his aggression on his tackles as this will result in redcards.

I thought Donovan, Dempsey and Sasha K had ordinary games!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I now see why Brian Ching is a favored starter...

Ching is an all around striker. He is not your flashy-dashy type forward-- (the type favored by most on this site).

Brian Chin (and Clint Dempsey) are of the Brian McBride stock and style. It is this trend that coach Bradley wants to promote.

(John Wolyniec carry the same type of striker gene...).

Joze Altidore and Johnson are different...

Dempsey and Chin 'appear' to have ordinary games--because the US football philisophy is centered around TEAM.

It is always the TEAM (karl) that wins.

Mexico's misery in Columbus continues

When history repeats itself, it's usually because the participants have forgotten the past. But when it comes to World Cup qualifiers between the United States Mexico, the script is well-known to the participants, at least when the game is on American soil: The U.S. walks off the field with a 2-0 victory, while Mexico leaves muttering to themselves. And on Wednesday, just like in 2001 and 2005, the U.S. earned a richly satisfying 2-0 win, courtesy of Michael Bradley's two goals.

Of course, there were some other similarities to past encounters. Once again, the U.S. conjured up a solid team performance that was greater than the sum of the individual parts. Mexico, yet again, contrived to squander some gilt-edged chances that they would score on if the sequence were repeated 99 more times.

(continue)

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
          Mexico's misery in Columbus continues

When history repeats itself, it's usually because the participants have forgotten the past. But when it comes to World Cup qualifiers between the United States Mexico, the script is well-known to the participants, at least when the game is on American soil: The U.S. walks off the field with a 2-0 victory, while Mexico leaves muttering to themselves. And on Wednesday, just like in 2001 and 2005, the U.S. earned a richly satisfying 2-0 win, courtesy of Michael Bradley's two goals.

Of course, there were some other similarities to past encounters. Once again, the U.S. conjured up a solid team performance that was greater than the sum of the individual parts. Mexico, yet again, contrived to squander some gilt-edged chances that they would score on if the sequence were repeated 99 more times.

(continue)
          Mexico had proven that they're just another ordinary team on the road from the previous round.

would you say that marlon king and luton shelton are flashy strikers?

As with previous encounters, passions ran high after the match, with U.S. defender Frankie Hejduk receiving a slap to the face from an unnamed Mexican official. Hejduk was unscarred and unfazed after the match, calling the altercation "a love tap."

But although the U.S. basked in the afterglow of their win, a new challenge looms on the horizon, namely winning a game for the first time in Mexico's Estadio Azteca.

"We look forward to that challenge," Bradley said of winning in Mexico. "That's on our list of things to do."
                mmmmmm?
                Must see match!

mmmm?
                When will we hear our Jamaica coach say, "thats on our list of things to do"...and say it in a believable manner?

no.

but King is more like Ching...and shelton like Joze Altidore

Believe it or not but the US need effective strikers. They have no real goalscorer ala Brian Mcbride etc. I didn't like how the ball was played in the final third last night.

Believe it or not but the US need effective strikers. They have no real goalscorer ala Brian Mcbride etc.
                      This is true. We still haven't filled McBride's absence.

Ching works hard and combines well with the other attackers, but he's not enough of a threat to score himself.

Altidore and Cooper could step up and take the role, but we still don't know if it will happen. They have mostly gotten sub minutes so far.