• Tiredness not a problem - Villa boss O'Neil

Tiredness not a problem - O'Neill

O'Neill's team are facing a late challenge from Arsenal for fourth spot

Aston Villa boss Martin O'Neill is brushing off critics who claim his side are too weary to sustain a challenge for a Champions League spot.

Villa are three points ahead of fifth-placed Arsenal with 10 Premier League games remaining following Wednesday's 2-0 defeat by Manchester City.

"The minute you lose a game everybody thinks you're tired," O'Neill said.

"Then we get criticised when we rested some players and didn't take them to Russia," he told BBC WM.

"We've got 10 games to go, we've got an exciting end to the season and that in itself should reinvigorate you."

O'Neill is taking the squad away for a brief break in Dubai ahead of their next game at home to Tottenham on Sunday 15 March.

We've got 10 games to go, we've got an exciting end to the season. That should reinvigorate you.

"We will take a couple of days because we won't have a game for the first weekend in I don't know how long," O'Neill noted.

"We are still in control of our own destiny, we can control our training, we can control the rest and we can control each of those things to a certain extent.

"So it's up to us. We'll get ourselves reinvigorated and we will go for it."
    Villa are without a win in six games since the 2-0 victory at Blackburn on 7 February.

In that time they have gone out of the FA Cup to Everton, and lost over two legs to CSKA Moscow in the last 32 of the Uefa Cup.

Despite resting seven first-team regulars for the trip to Moscow, O'Neill's side have taken only one point from their next two league fixtures against Stoke and Manchester City.

Villa could lose at least 5 of their 10 games!

Sunday, 15 March 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Aston Villa v Tottenham, 16:00

Sunday, 22 March 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Liverpool v Aston Villa, 16:00

Sunday, 05 April 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Man Utd v Aston Villa, 16:00

Sunday, 12 April 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Aston Villa v Everton, 13:30

Saturday, 18 April 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Aston Villa v West Ham, 15:00

Saturday, 25 April 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Bolton v Aston Villa, 15:00

Saturday, 02 May 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Aston Villa v Hull, 15:00

Saturday, 09 May 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Fulham v Aston Villa, 15:00

Saturday, 16 May 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Middlesbrough v Aston Villa, 15:00

Sunday, 24 May 2009
    Barclays Premier League
    Aston Villa v Newcastle, 16:00

Karl yuh can beg eeh!!!! Anyway, the Villa players ARE tired, but this break should do them a world of good. I expect to see them back to their winning ways.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Karl yuh can beg eeh!!!! Anyway, the Villa players ARE tired, but this break should do them a world of good. I expect to see them back to their winning ways.
        Yuh hope!

They could go without winning even one game.

Villa's best hope lies with Fulham game, whose defensive play...TEAM defensive play is not bad and Middlesbrough, a team that could be desperately trying to stay up or by the then be playing for pride!

Yuh a the one weh a hope. The only game that I see them without a realistic chance of winning is on April 5.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yuh a the one weh a hope. The only game that I see them without a realistic chance of winning is on April 5.
            Well wi goin seh ow many dem win!