Gold Cup venues announced

• Gold Cup venues announced

The CONCACAF Gold Cup will be played in 13 U.S. cities, with the semifinals at Chicago’s Soldier Field on July 23 and the championship three days later at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

The number of venues is more than double the previous high of six. The tournament, the championship of soccer’s North and Central American and Caribbean region, opens July 3 and each venue will hold one doubleheader, except for the final. The 1994 World Cup in the U.S. was played at nine venues.

The quarterfinals will be at Philadelphia’s Lincoln Financial Field on July 18 and the Dallas Cowboys’ new stadium in Arlington, Texas, the following day. It is expected to be the first sports event at the Cowboys’ stadium.

The U.S. is expected to send a relatively young roster for the tournament after using veterans in June at the FIFA Confederations Cup in South Africa. The U.S has won the tournament four times, including the last two editions in 2005 and 2007.

Twelve nations will be drawn into three first-round groups: Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Mexico, Panama and the United States.

First-round matches will be played at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. (July 3); Seattle’s Qwest Field (July 4); the Oakland Coliseum (July 5); Columbus Crew Stadium (July 7); Washington’s Robert F. Kennedy Stadium (July 8); Houston’s Reliant Stadium (July 9); Miami’s Florida International Stadium (July 10); Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Mass. (July 11); and University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz. (July 12).

Four venues will use artificial turf: Arlington, Foxboro, Miami and Seattle. Grass will be installed over the artificial turf in East Rutherford, also the site of the 2005 final.

Cuba had qualified for the tournament but asked with Caribbean Football Union to withdraw and was replaced by Haiti. Two years ago, Cuban players Osvaldo Alonso and Lester More failed to show for a first-round game at Houston and defected.

CONCACAF general secretary Chuck Blazer said Cuba’s decision was not related to the defections.

“There are legitimate issues that the Cubans had,” Blazer said. “They have an issue right now with the number of players they have and what they have to do to develop a fully competitive team.”

How in the world can Concacaf grow in stature as a region when the top team in the region (US) is saying they will send a second rate team, these guys are shooting themselves in their own foot, the rise of Concacaf and the rise of the US as a ball power are two things which are intinsically linked..

Originally posted by Sey So View Post

Cuba had qualified for the tournament but asked with Caribbean Football Union to withdraw and was replaced by Haiti. Two years ago, Cuban players Osvaldo Alonso and Lester More failed to show for a first-round game at Houston and defected.

CONCACAF general secretary Chuck Blazer said Cuba’s decision was not related to the defections.

“There are legitimate issues that the Cubans had,” Blazer said. “They have an issue right now with the number of players they have and what they have to do to develop a fully competitive team.”
      That is a load of garbage, and with the "wet foot, dry foot policy", as soon as the Cubans reach America, dem a plan fi run wey from the poverty and despair in dem country.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
        How in the world can Concacaf grow in stature as a region when the top team in the region (US) is saying they will send a second rate team, these guys are shooting themselves in their own foot, the rise of Concacaf and the rise of the US as a ball power are two things which are intinsically linked..
        Well it's the same situation that we found ourselves in last time around when we were invited to the Copa America, which started immediately after the end of the Gold Cup.

We decided to use our strongest team for the Gold Cup (which we won), and then sent a weaker team to the Copa America and lost all three games. Then we got criticized in South America for not taking the competition seriously and sending our B squad.

Now this summer we'll be in the Confederations Cup and it seems we are going to focus primarily on that competition and send a younger team to the Gold Cup.

You can't have it both ways; the MLS clubs don't want to lose their players for two competitions back-to-back and the European-based players need a rest period in the summer before their pre-season starts, so unfortunately one of those competitions is going to have a weaker U.S. squad.

This is a good opportunity for Jamaica, and we should make the best of it!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            Well teams like our own REGGAE BOYZ if they meet the US Youth should spank them...terribly!

Well that depends on who makes up our team. However, I am expecting a very good showing from us. JB wants to improve his CV and maybe extend his contract.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Why are they using so many cities. That is a whole heap of up and down for the teams.

well the more soccer get popular it means more cities.

Spread it around yes, get more people involved.

I am more concerned with the cost and logistics for the teams, not popularity in the states.

All I want is Jamaica to play at Giant stadium.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

And a whole leap of empty stadiums for some of the first round matches.