We have to start with baby steps

Sorry Myyouth , I should have said mentally challenged, or educationaly challenged.Anyway yuh tek it dem caan lecture nuhbady.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

JFF/UTech coaching course delights participants

Howard Walker, Observer staff reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
      Tuesday, March 17, 2009
      An eye-opener was how most of the coaches at the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF)/University of Technology (UTech) Coaching School described the course after sitting their final examinations on Sunday at the UTech campus in St Andrew.
      Stanford Patrick, coach of Dunoon Technical High School, thought coaching was mainly about playing games, and was delighted when he was exposed to the knowledge of the athlete's anatomy.
      Students at the JFF/UTech Coaching School sit their final exam at the UTech campus on Sunday. (Photo: Karl McLarthy)
      "But learning about the body, the bones the whole anatomy, is something we as coaches should know. We are dealing with a lot of kids and we need to know where that is concerned. If a player is injured we get to know how to lift that person and deal with the injury," Patrick said.
      Karume Huie of Excelsior High School said the course was welcomed and he has benefited immensely.
      Said Huie: "The course outline was very good and for my personal development, it will go a far way. Knowing different areas ."".
      Eton Knight od Tivoli Gardens High School said the course was "very informative and refreshing" and he loved the unity it brought among the participating coaches.
      "I learnt some new things. The camaraderie with everybody was good. We shared things and saw some methods that other coaches used. It was a welcomed gesture by the JFF, he noted.
      The inaugural course targeted Inter Secondary Schools Association (ISSA) coaches with 52 sitting the examinations after six weekends of classes on Saturdays and Sundays.
      The pupils were taught two modules - the Basic Coaching Science and Technical Football Preparation and Laws of the game. If successful, the coaches will gain Advanced Level One certification.
      Dr Neville Graham, one of the lecturers, specialising in anatomy and physiology, he was pleased with the level of enthusiasm shown by the coaches.
      "I am very happy the coaches are very excited about this course. One of the features why the coaches like the course is because it really got down to the basic of human physiology and the whole aspect of injury protection," he said.
      Other lecturers were Dr Winston Dawes (sports medicine, the female athlete and the young athlete); Dr Heather Little-White (nutrition); Dr Kadijah Richards (sports psychology); Roy Thomas (methodology of skills teaching, principles of coaching, fitness development, exercise physiology); Bradley Stewart and Wendell Downswell (technique development).
      Downswell, a former national coach, said it was a rewarding experience for the participants in terms of the acquisition of knowledge.
      "I have been on a number of international courses and what these coaches gained here would take me three to four courses. They are fortunate enough for individuals like us to impart our knowledge to them," he said.
      "We expect them to go and make changes and further enhance the football in their respective communities. The important factor here is that at the grassroots level we have some qualified coaches," he added.
      The graduation ceremony is tentatively set for April 11 and the second Advanced Level One course will begin on April 25 at a cost of $25,000 per participant.
      The fee will cover the cost of the course materials. No student will be admitted without the payment of at least 50 per cent of the cost with the remainder to be paid by the third week of the instruction.
      Registration takes place through the JFF and interested persons are required to provide a passport-sized photograph, TRN number and educational certificates for registration.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sass are you sure that Halliman "hasn't accomplished too much?" You know we're talking about one of the better schoolboy football coaches in Jamaica, right? Check again on Halliman's accomplishments at STATHS and then at XLCR. If his achievements don't tally up to your watermark of someone having accomplished much, then I can understand that your standards are very high. But in the meantime, do a check and let me know!
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

nice pic

Mosiah.

Great pic if that's you on the jet ski. We'll have to try that next time on in Jamaica. Wow...allot of conversation today about coaching education here and who can do it best for the Land I Love.

Must create a long term target (beyond 2012) for the game that has a world wide vision (what the best are doing) and then impliment coaching education and player development for all coaches in Jamaica with a kind approach and a less expensive approach (as we have done with GSM Course). Select new coaches that can do it and younger ones with energy who want to be trained and who will be able to impliment with continue guidance. A plan for the future, but who can do it? You know I know my friend.

I have been waiting since the late 70's. It's now 2009. I'm not sure prayer is working.

Have a great day.

Paul

Farmer in accomplishing much I was not thinking about Manning Cup. He hasn't had the luxury of any of these national teams, He hasn't done clubs and that is what I mean't.

Halliman seems to be a good and educated coach. Do disrespect to Haliman but there are others not half as good as him can put up more Dcup, NPL titles and National caps on the table.