• Champs setting the example, D-Cup and Manning Cup should

follow!

I would love for our football to reach the levels of Champs in terms of excitement, competition, rivalry and, of course, world-wide acclaim. There is a lot of good in this kind of competition at the high school level. As long as it is done in the true spirit of sport, let's continue to celebrate it.

This is not to say that D-Cup and Manning Cup should be our only way of developing our future Reggae Boyz. But I don't buy that argument one bit that we should get rid of it. We need better coaches for schoolboy football, better facilities and better administrators for ISSA on a whole.

Long live Jamaica high school sports!

Since we have a club structure. The majority of the focus should be placed on improving the clubs, not the schools.

follow!

I would love for our football to reach the levels of Champs in terms of excitement, competition, rivalry and, of course, world-wide acclaim. There is a lot of good in this kind of competition at the high school level. As long as it is done in the true spirit of sport, let's continue to celebrate it.

This is not to say that D-Cup and Manning Cup should be our only way of developing our future Reggae Boyz. But I don't buy that argument one bit that we should get rid of it. We need better coaches for schoolboy football, better facilities and better administrators for ISSA on a whole.

Long live Jamaica high school sports!
      If if thats not what yuh saying ...why say it then? The difference is T&F is mainly an individual sport .. football is a completely different beast. What happened to schoolboy stars like those from the feared Charlie Smith such as Kevin Wilson, Byron Earle etc? Instead of having stars in schoolboy football the attention should be focused on the club structure. But HEY .. why mess with tradition?

Originally posted by Me View Post
        Since we have a club structure. The majority of the focus should be placed on improving the clubs, not the schools.
        Mi nuh see what suh hard in that fi dem understand.

Granted the emphasis should be played on club football, but the passion is in school boy football. Dem need fi be creative to attract the school boy fans to the NPL.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
            Granted the emphasis should be played on club football, but the passion is in school boy football. Dem need fi be creative to attract the school boy fans to the NPL.
            For me, its not about the fans, although they are needed by the clubs ... my focus is on developing what talent we have. For decades we've been focused on schoolboy football time to change course.

If if thats not what yuh saying ...why say it then? The difference is T&F is mainly an individual sport .. football is a completely different beast. What happened to schoolboy stars like those from the feared Charlie Smith such as Kevin Wilson, Byron Earle etc? Instead of having stars in schoolboy football the attention should be focused on the club structure. But HEY .. why mess with tradition?
              The question is simply basedon the premise of "greatest learning takes place in the formative years".

Why then considering the greatest resourse needed to develop the young is human capital, should the vast majority of the youth not have maximum attention invested in their development?

...btw - Is it necessary to ignore (not put maximum effort on) the development of the young to concentrate on the older players involved at the club level?

Can both receive attempted in having...maximum effort...equal measure investment all at the same time?

I'll only say just as our Track athletes receive in the schools focussed attention on their development and then on moving on ourside of high school - e.g. DQ, Billy Miller, Fray, Ottey, Hemmings, Jackson, Cuthbert, VC, Asafa, Bolt, etc., etc... - receive fullest attention...so can our schoolboys and schoolgirls receive same in cricket, football, etc!

Nonsense to ignore the "formative years"!
              Nonsense! Nonsense! Nonsense!

The key is, a it is with the improved training of teachers of Track...the other sports, including football, need improved training of their teachers.

Needed for football, at all levels, great teachers!

The question is simply basedon the premise of "greatest learning takes place in the formative years".

Why then considering the greatest resourse needed to develop the young is human capital, should the vast majority of the youth not have maximum attention invested in their development?

...btw - Is it necessary to ignore (not put maximum effort on) the development of the young to concentrate on the older players involved at the club level?

Can both receive attempted in having...maximum effort...equal measure investment all at the same time?

I'll only say just as our Track athletes receive in the schools focussed attention on their development and then on moving on ourside of high school - e.g. DQ, Billy Miller, Fray, Ottey, Hemmings, Jackson, Cuthbert, VC, Asafa, Bolt, etc., etc... - receive fullest attention...so can our schoolboys and schoolgirls receive same in cricket, football, etc!

Nonsense to ignore the "formative years"!
                Nonsense! Nonsense! Nonsense!
                Apparently you've been eating too much bun and cheese this good Friday? Who said to ignore? Again, the parish associations should be given the mandate to deal with youth football. No need listing a bunch of Track stars ... they aren't dependent on at least 10 more people to succeed.

Massive, I still can't see why you guys keep calling for the dismantling of our schoolboy football set-up. I believe that Mosiah is correct in calling for our schoolboy football to be enhanced and reach the level of champs. Imagine over a hundred schools having a great football program...that is over a hundred football academies because after all they have these kids from 11 yo until they are about 17-19yo. The ball is being dropped where we have such a good product as schoolboy football and the JFF lacks the vision to work with ISSA in order to enhance the product in order to reap the benefits. In Jamaica, there is Western Champs, Central Champs and Gibson Relays, but they are secondary to what the schools covet most
                  ...Boys and Girls Champs, the Mortimer Geddes Trophy. Why can't we do the same thing with schoolboy football and place the real emphasis on crowning an all-island champion with the supreme Olivier Shield. Manning and DaCosta Cup finals should be the semi-finals of the Olivier shield. What we should also work at, is for the JFF to make UWI, U-Tech and G.C. Foster work in their favour by turning out great football coaches who then work at the high schools to fine tune our youngsters before they represent the country.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                    Massive, I still can't see why you guys keep calling for the dismantling of our schoolboy football set-up. I believe that Mosiah is correct in calling for our schoolboy football to be enhanced and reach the level of champs. Imagine over a hundred schools having a great football program...that is over a hundred football academies because after all they have these kids from 11 yo until they are about 17-19yo. The ball is being dropped where we have such a good product as schoolboy football and the JFF lacks the vision to work with ISSA in order to enhance the product in order to reap the benefits. In Jamaica, there is Western Champs, Central Champs and Gibson Relays, but they are secondary to what the schools covet most
                    ...Boys and Girls Champs, the Mortimer Geddes Trophy. Why can't we do the same thing with schoolboy football and place the real emphasis on crowning an all-island champion with the supreme Olivier Shield. Manning and DaCosta Cup finals should be the semi-finals of the Olivier shield. What we should also work at, is for the JFF to make UWI, U-Tech and G.C. Foster work in their favour by turning out great football coaches who then work at the high schools to fine tune our youngsters before they represent the country.
                    The parish FAs are there to deal with youth football. For decades we've been excited about schoolboy football ... where has it put us?

Football at the high school level is diluted talent. You have special mixed with average, mixed with players who will not get anywhere.

Instead of trying to focus on Ardenne, Campion, Mona High, Papine High, JC. Simply put the limited resources to work at Real Mona, where you will gather the best talent from those schools.

Yeah, for years we've also been excited about Champs but with very little success internationally relative to the number of great athletes we turn out every year. Now the JFF should have the vision to do what the JAAA has done in partnership with ISSA...give the schoolboy footballers some continuity by helping them to stop falling by the way side. If champs help wi track and field then Manning and DaCosta can help wi football.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                          Yeah, for years we've also been excited about Champs but with very little success internationally relative to the number of great athletes we turn out every year. Now the JFF should have the vision to do what the JAAA has done in partnership with ISSA...give the schoolboy footballers some continuity by helping them to stop falling by the way side. If champs help wi track and field then Manning and DaCosta can help wi football.
                          When Bolt tek the track for the 100 & 200 m, how many team mates him relying on? When a footballer tek the field, how many teammates is he relying on? Apples and oranges Sensi.
                          Last edited by Lazie; April 10, 2009, 01:47 PM.

Bredrin mi no want no man fi tell mi bout the parish FA because that is the biggest joke a yard. All the school should participate and the JFF work with ISSA to scour the system and pick the best talent while monitoring other prospects, because many talented people do not blossom until later.

Apparently you've been eating too much bun and cheese this good Friday? Who said to ignore? Again, the parish associations should be given the mandate to deal with youth football. No need listing a bunch of Track stars ... they aren't dependent on at least 10 more people to succeed.
                              Are you dismissing the TEAM that works together with the athlete to produce that individual track star...and are you dismissing that TEAM of 6 athletes that give us our relay honours?

The football TEAM is more than the X1 that take the field. It certainly reflects the teachering and other back office support.

Think, boss?
                              What would you put in place of the schools and there physical structures and human capital? How many years and how many billion dollars do you think it would take to build the replacement that covers our island as this does?

...but wait...what dollar value would you put on the physical properties that we have invested in schools specifically used by football? USD2,000,000.00? ...USD4,000,000.00? ...and the investment in human capital? ...and the annual recurring expenses?

...and you are suggesting not building on that figure...whatever the figure you agree is there?