Premier League ask Macarthy to explain Team selection

• Premier League ask Macarthy to explain Team selection

Wolves manager Mick McCarthy has been asked to explain why he made 10 changes to his side for the trip to Manchester United
    McCarthy left out every outfield player on duty for the shock success over Tottenham on Saturday for the Premier League encounter at Old Trafford on Tuesday night and then watched his team lose 3-0.
    Wolves fans vented their frustration during the game, although McCarthy defended his stance, claiming he was looking to avoid injuries after two fixtures in quick succession.
    However, the Premier League has now got involved and wants to know McCarthy's version of events.
    A statement issued by the Premier League read: "The Premier League Board have written to Wolverhampton Wanderers to request their observations in relation to the team fielded in their League fixture against Manchester United.
    "Once the observations are received the Board will decide whether any further action is warranted."
    Although the Premier League's powers are wide-ranging, and include a points deduction in the worst-case scenario, it seems highly unlikely Wolves will receive anything worse than a rap over the knuckles.
    Judged

Other than midfielder George Friend, who nearly gave Wolves a shock lead, all McCarthy's starting XI had featured for the first-team this season, with six full internationals also involved.
    And the team was arguably not as weak as the one Sir Alex Ferguson selected at Hull City on the final day of last season, 10 days before the UEFA Champions League final.
    The Premier League did not intervene on that occasion and would have looked slightly foolish if they had done so after United won at the KC Stadium.
    Disgruntled Wolves fans chanted "We want our money back", "Where is our first team?" and "£42 to watch the reserves" as they expressed their frustration.
    "I understand the reaction of the fans and I knew these questions would be asked," McCarthy admitted after the game.
    "But my decisions will be judged on whether we are still in the Premier League."
    Even if they do not penalise Wolves with a fine, the Premier League will want to be seen to have highlighted the situation in an effort to ensure the integrity of their competition is not brought into question later in the season.
    a.top_betting_link_1 {background-image: url('/Images/skysports/fixturecal/icons/fix-bet.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;background-position:0% 50%;padding-left:18px;}

Well why send your best team to United when they would lose anyway. Focus on the next game where you have a better chance of success.

You can't think like that IMHO. You have to expect to at least NOT LOSE any match and take it from there...

You can't. Why not? The man wants his team fresh for the next game.

Mi know, but mi figure that was his perspective.

It's no big deal; I'm just speaking in general terms of a mental approach to a match.

My very thoughts...pick your battles

Well, Burnley draw wid Arse tideh, suh any way you look at it...it nah guh easy! (Wolves play Burnley this wkend)

Bad! Bad! ..for the League and the FA!

Should managers now follow the thought that matches they deem unwinable be thrown?

...so how will fans react? Stay away from those matches they expect to be thrown...???

...and the TV money and advertising money when stands start being relatively empty and devoid of 'atmosphere'? '

...and if that happens and income falls...pay for players and managers?

...and...what happens if at the end of the season managers start protecting players by not playing them when those managers have already assured themselves nothing is to be gained by risking their prized assets?

...thrown matches that decide who goes down and who wins???

bad! bad!

I understand the Wolves thinking...but...?????

Should managers now follow the thought that matches they deem unwinable be thrown?

...so how will fans react? Stay away from those matches they expect to be thrown...???

...and the TV money and advertising money when stands start being relatively empty and devoid of 'atmosphere'? '

...and if that happens and income falls...pay for players and managers?

...and...what happens if at the end of the season managers start protecting players by not playing them when those managers have already assured themselves nothing is to be gained by risking their prized assets?

...thrown matches that decide who goes down and who wins???

bad! bad!

I understand the Wolves thinking...but...?????
                    Stop the bull5hit KArl. How many times teams in the UCL rotate players in the EPL prior to a big UCL clash? I never hear unuh b!tching bout thowing games?

Why is it okay for some teams to rotate their players and its bad when other teams do it? There is a reason why he has 20+ players in his squad.

Stop the bull5hit KArl. How many times teams in the UCL rotate players in the EPL prior to a big UCL clash? I never hear unuh b!tching bout thowing games?

Why is it okay for some teams to rotate their players and its bad when other teams do it? There is a reason why he has 20+ players in his squad.
                      I am glad you think this is good for the league

Stop being a hypocrite. Why is it okay for some teams to rotate their squad but its bad for the league when others do it? Stop the complaining iyah!

Send in a complete 2nd string? ...in the Premier competition?

Check MU vs Hull last season.