Are you guys serious???
Karl you must now know that in the modern game the goalie is part of your defensive system. It's not comforting to defenders to see your goalie way out and the ball behind him. This will make most defenders panic and behave erratic. Goalie has to be composed and his hands has to be sure at that level. I'm glad the game went that way because it would not have been nice for Diego (for some reason I'm amused by his antics). This game is a teaching moment and it shows that JA can rule Concacaf as champs (i've been saying this for sometime now) if we set our minds and work at it.
BTW Tappa hope is working on that creator (someone to hold up the ball in the middle then launch a telling pass a la Dinho). Hope to see a Tappa clone around next year on the squad
Truss mi, it can be done.
Leave a comment:
Hopefully Jamaica can get back on track and put a solid and effective program and system in place that can produce strong, competitive TEAMS, because the individual talent is there. Rekindle the relationship with Brazil, and get the necessary training and certification/licensing for a good, strong group of your coaches and trainers. The US also has a lot to offer in the areas of sponsorship and ensorsments, sports medicine, and coaching (especially for goalkeepers), so the JFF needs to look into this as well.
Leave a comment:
Dwayne Miller! ...and yes he looks to have promise. His running under the ball and mistimed attempts to punch the ball not withstanding.
We'll see! Needs nuff-nuff work!
Our outfielders?
The main problem seems to be 'lack of thinking through what was happening around them'.
How does a coach encourage these players to be composed during game to spend time dispassionately assessing individual teammates, individual opponents and come up with and share solutions with teammates?
A 2nd look at the game confirms that the athletic ability and the 'touch' (touch onto self as opposed to its extension into passing) showed in those departments we were not inferior to the Argentinians.
Proper use of space ('good' movement and passing), I am thinking, would have us defeat that Argentina team everyday of the week and twice on Sundays.
There is much to be satisfied with...inclusive of physical effort...but 'use of brain'...aaaaaaaaaah bwoy!
Leave a comment:
Not much different from Ricketts when he got his chance to be the starting GK. Jamaica needs to take advantage of their resources.....The US seems to know how to produce world class GKs, so why not send Miller, Kerr, MCCallum and Blake along with Barrett and two other GK coaches to learn that aspect of the game. As I was saying to Jawge, Jamaica didn't take advantage of their relationship with Brazil, because all their attention was concentrated on getting the players contracts, but NOTHING was done to improve the coaching.
Leave a comment:
What that haffi do wit a goalkeeper running around like a chicken without a head?
Leave a comment:
agree , most experts think the best age for a Keeper is 35 , I hopeOriginally posted by Me View PostHis name is Miller not Murray. I don't see how anyone can say that performance was enough to have him as number 1 in Ricketts' absence. I can understand not giving up on him because he has talent, but to say that performance was enough for him to keep out Sawyers, McCallum, Kerr etc ? Is another thing that
Jamaica make use of him for world cup qualifying 2014 , Gold Cup 2011
& 2013 .
ITS SIMPLE , RICKETTS IS JA # 1
GOALIE UNTIL 2014 .
Leave a comment:
Arbitrary though it is, it is my view! I saw the game for a second time and, unlike many here, I'm not ready to hit the panic button on Miller (thanks for the correction).
Leave a comment:
His name is Miller not Murray. I don't see how anyone can say that performance was enough to have him as number 1 in Ricketts' absence. I can understand not giving up on him because he has talent, but to say that performance was enough for him to keep out Sawyers, McCallum, Kerr etc ? Is another thing that
Leave a comment:
Having seen the game on tv (the first viewing was via internet), I think we played well inspite of the results. I'm still disappointed that we did not win and still believe that we need to learn how to protect the lead and close out the game.
All that negatives about Dwayne Murray were not justified! He kept well - not very good - but well enough to maintain his position as the # 1 in Tall P's absence. The first goal was stoppable but he got beat by the bounce. The second goal was a total team error. The Boyz defence was caught napping and Murray came out belatedly to try and punch the ball but his extended frame was a bit short of the mark. In the melee it was not surprising that Argentina were able to take advantage of the confusion and scored. Yet, in between the few dropped balls, Murray did well to prevent the Argentinians from scoring. There was one well placed shot for which the keeper had to dive full-stretched to his right to push out for a corner. Also, let's not forget that there were about two good shots that he had to leap high to push over the cross bar. The problem I had with Murray was with his ball distribution (which seems to be a problem with most Jamaican keepers). His kicks were wayward and his few throws just went to the opponent. Overall, he has the tools and the coaches (Tappa & Barrett) just need to work on his shortcomings in order to hone his skills.
Ryan Johnson is the real deal! The yute is poised, strong, skillful and works well with his team-mates. For me, he was the player of the match.
Shortman did not play well! I saw him play against the Haitians in Ft. Lauderdale and he was impressive. So, I'm just going to say he had a bad match. Hopefully he can bounce back!
I've seen Lovel Palmer quite a few times now and this is the first time that I've been impressed with him. He had a good match and I think we lost our composure on the rightside and began lose the game once he was subbed out.
Cummings, Taylor, Reid, Daley & Austin all had a good game. Shavar Thomas was outstanding.
Dane Richards & Navion Boyd had below average games. Demar Stewart was rubbish; Jason Johnson is not quite ready and Devon Hodges did not impress.Last edited by Farmah; February 13, 2010, 05:59 PM.
Leave a comment:
The clubs have a BIG role to play, since that's the launching pad for those who want to pursue soccer as a career, BUT I think that the number of clubs that are involved in and can advance to the DPL should be reduced and held at that number for a while until the level of coaching and play improves. When you have that many clubs with poor coaching, the talent pool and overall standard of play is diluted, and there is no attention to developing the BASIS and fundamentals of the game. Having less clubs at the highest level, with a strong system fo developing players from youth to seniors.
Leave a comment:
hmmm true. The DPL is substandard and the high school football is of no help. JA need an academy to technically develop our players. All schools should have soccer tennis as competition (this would help Tappa greatly, right now dcupand manning cup is not helping Ja)
Leave a comment: