• Portmore United and Arnett Gardens

Win lifts Arnett from relegation

Published: Thursday | February 25, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Anthony Minott, Gleaner Writer
    Arnett Gardens removed themselves from the relegation zone with a 1-0 victory over fellow relegation-troubled Portmore United in their rescheduled Digicel Premier League football match at Ferdie Neita Park yesterday.
    It was the Junglists second straight victory in four days. The win pushed Arnett from the bottom of the 12-team standings to 10th with 29 points, while Portmore slipped to last-place on 27 points, one ahead of Humble Lions.
    Arnett's goal came in the 54th minute when towering forward Newton Sterling scored from point-blank range, benefiting from Kevin 'Pele' Wilson's pass from the left flank.
    Sterling also netted the Junglists goal in their 1-0 win against Rivoli United at Spanish Town Prison Oval on Sunday.
    Arnett's coach, Wayne Fairclough, was pleased with the win.
    "The (Arnett) community is elated (with the win) and we, the players and coaches, are also elated, it is a morale-boosting victory for us," he said. "We defended stoutly, Portmore also defended well, but we came away with the lone goal by Newton Sterling."

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...s/sports5.html

My question is would the relegation of these power houses in jamaican football be a travesty or would it be a blessing in diguise for all involved.

These are probably 2 of the best supported teams in the league, what would it mean for the struggling crowd support of our DPL?

LOL! How has the mighty fallen. I can understand why Arnett is where they are but cant see why Portmore is there as well, maybe it is just Karma for all the wrongs they have done in the past, would be hilarious to see them playing the the South-Central Super League next season.

Portmore has lost many players over the years and they have a harder time "stealing" the top youth talent from Clarendon now that Sporting Central is set up.

Losing players is a part of any football club especially one like Portmore that is more interested in selling players than winning titles and systems must be put in place to ensure sucession in positions...no excuses big man.

It is not an excuse, it is a fact. They should be doing better with what they have, but anyone who ignores the impact of Sporting Central and Portmore selling (loaning) players is kidding themself.

sorry, but what you just said is an excuse.

memba say wi have a peace treaty sign!

You can gweh with your false treaty.

Portmore is not going to do as well as in the past because they have lost a lot of players.
              They SHOULD STILL BE DOING BETTER WITH WHAT THEY HAVE AT THEIR DISPOSAL.

yuh gwine just violate di contract so bredren? but yuh nuh easy!

portmore still has very good players - dwayne kerr, who is arguably the best keeper in the country, the best junior defender in the country (captained the national U-20), one of the best senior defenders (modeste), excellent midfielders in mario swaby and adrian reid, good forwards in roen nelson and di odda one.

portmore's problem is their philosophy of football - everybody waan fi dribble. it's a passing game and dem need fi undastan dat.

then the constant change of coach even when tings going well cannot be a good ting.

Definately Portmore should be doing better. Let us see if Bell can work his magic. He pretty much identify the same problem you did.