• Swede deal for Miller

Robert Bailey, Gleaner Writer
    National goalkeeper Dwayne Miller has signed a one-year contract with Sweden's Division One side Syrianska FC for the new season which begins next month.

Clyde Jureidini, general manager of Harbour View FC, the club Miller represents in the Digicel Premier League, told The Gleaner that Miller, along wiht the rest of the Syrianska squad, will be heading to Turkey for a one-week training camp this weekend.
    "This is good for Dwayne (Miller) because it is not very often that Jamaican goalkeepers get offers, and to get an offer in Europe is extremely rare," Jureidini said. "Usually, goalkeepers are seen as mature, in their high 20s or 30s, and he is just 22, and so I think it is a good chance for him to build his game and to build his reputation and just move on from there."

Jureidini added: "He is the national goalkeeper and the leading keeper in the league (Digicel Premier League), and I think that speaks for itself. Miller is a young, improving goalkeeper and in time he will only get better, and I believe in the Swedish environment he will only get better."
    The 22-year-old goalie made his senior national debut in their 2-0 away win against Malaysia in a friendly international in 2007. He has so far won nine caps for Jamaica, the last of which was a 2-1 defeat to South American powerhouse Argentina last month.

Miller was also a member of Jamaica's Under-20 team which won the silver medal at the Pan American Games in 2007. Miller has been in Europe since late last month and his trial stint was made possible by Romel Wallen through his company, Pro-Gold Sports Management Limited.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...s/sports1.html

This was the same dude that was keeping in the Argentina game? Really?

What you mean really. You never see Ben foster make a meal and is still at Manu? One game don't decide the youth future.

Whats the purpose of bringing up Ben Foster now? Why whenever we have different views on a player you have to mention a MU player? Okay ... I think Ben Foster should be shipped out and the CSKA keeper brought in when VDS retires.

Now, back to the player this thread is about. Based on what I saw in the game he didn't show where he was comfortable with crosses and he didn't dominate his box. Now reading he is the leading keeper in the country again ... really?

Congrats to Miller and I hope he does well.

Romell Wallen, who arranged the trail, was an excellent youth player for Jamaica. He was on that Williams College team with Khari Stephenson and Alex Blake.

The reason I bring up Ben Foster is you can't use one game and judge a keeper. Foster is actually an ok keeper but he made some mistakes.

The kid is much better than the Argentina game and will only learn from it.

Nuh watch nutten, Sass! A suh wi stay!

Him fool di Swedish people dem tuh!

Nuh watch nutten, Sass! A suh wi stay!

Him fool di Swedish people dem tuh!
                How unuh stay? Get defensive way too easily? That is obvious.

well that is one possible spin ....

and him not judgemental. he saw one game and make those decisions. I watch EPL every week and even some of the best make some silly mistakes. I wonder why David James get the name "Calmity" and a good goalie such as Tim Howard left a good club like Manu?

Well lets hope him improve at the new club. Because what I saw, in that one game, if thats the best keeper we have .....

Again one game can't judge the youth. You obviously write off the youth with one game. You can't do that Lazie. Even the best have a bad day. After watching a few more game then you can come to that judgement if he is good or not. Even the youth admit it was the worst game he had.

Noone wrote off anybody. I simply expressed my astonishment that he is the best we have. Y'all excuse his performance as a bad game, well, I'm stuck with the memories of that performance until I see otherwise.

well fortunately for him, you are not the club manager!

that a Lazie fi you. If he knew about Jamaican football he would know that Ricketts is the best we have and we also have other keepers such as Sawyers ok keeper. We have a group of keepers looking to get the number two spot and Miller is one of them. He is great youth prospect. He would also know that Ryan Thompson who is not on the list may also be considered but after seeing the youth playing one game he is questioning if that is the best we have and the manager is Sweden is impressed so it amaze him. Up to last week Wigan Keeper dash way easy goals and his coach said it was not his best day, yet that a the EPL.