• Building the roof before the foundation

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Saturday, August 19, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>It speaks to the vagaries and uncertainties of football that less than two years after he was unceremoniously sacked and replaced by Mr Wendell Downswell, Mr Carl Brown is back as head coach of Jamaica's football - albeit on an interim basis - replacing Mr Downswell who was recently left no option but to resign.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Another twist of course is that Mr Brown - now in his fifth stint as head coach - has been rehired by the same Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) administration led by Mr Crenston Boxhill which fired him back in 2004.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Musical chairs? Perhaps not quite. After all, there is the essential difference that Mr Brown is now only expected to hold on to the top coaching job in Jamaica's football for three months. His task will be to guide Jamaica through three international friendlies and the crucial regional tournament, the Digicel Cup, which Jamaica won last year - marking the highpoint of Mr Downswell's topsy turvy 21 months at the helm.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Mr Brown's credentials as coach are not in question. Indeed, his record suggests that but for the Brazilian Mr Rene Simoes, who was in charge as Jamaica qualified for the 1998 World Cup Finals, Mr Brown has been the most successful of Jamaica's coaches.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But Mr Brown's decision to help the JFF out of its current tight spot is testament, as much as anything else, to his patriotism. For after his experience of two years ago he could easily have told Mr Boxhill and company to 'shove off'.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Now, like John the Baptist, he will be expected to prepare the way. Again we are looking abroad for a 'saviour' who will take over from Mr Brown in three months' time and hopefully guide Jamaica through World Cup qualifiers with the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa being the ultimate goal.
    By then, hopefully, Mr Boxhill and his team will see their way clear in terms of money to hire one of the several international big names that have been noised about. We are told that the Argentine Mr Jose Pekerman heads the list, but that the Jamaican-born former England International Mr John Barnes, as well as the globe-trotting Mr Bora Milutinovic and Dutch Under-21 coach Mr Foppe Dehana are also in contention.<P class=StoryText align=justify>If that's what it will take for Jamaica to qualify for the World Cup, so be it. We are in favour of an overseas coach.
    But as we have said in the past in this space, we would urge the JFF to consider the chuckling comment of Mr Simoes back in the 1990s as Jamaica closed in on an unlikely World Cup spot. Qualification, Mr Simoes said then, would defy all logic - like a builder who first installs the roof before erecting the foundation.<P class=StoryText align=justify>It is a shame that eight years after Jamaica gloriously exited its first World Cup Finals with victory over Japan in France, the foundation that will make the future of Jamaica's football secure is yet to be built.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The National Stadium remains the only football venue of international standard, the academy to be provided through the FIFA Goal Project is yet to get off the ground, most of our promising young footballers are honing their craft on surfaces that are dust bowls or cow pastures at best, and many are guided by individuals who - well-intentioned though they may be - are coaches in name only.<P class=StoryText align=justify>A shortage of money is, of course, a major obstacle. But we do not have the impression that Mr Boxhill's administration has even sought to build a comprehensive, integrated development plan that it can use to woo the business sector.
    A master plan, if you will, to take Jamaica's football forward.
    Just as well, perhaps, that the

RE: Building the roof before the foundation

What the f@#5&amp;* do we need to do to drive Crenston and his clueless crew out of Jamaica's football?

In the name of football, Crenston, plese get the f@#5&amp;* outa here!

Not even Guatemala interetsed in playing us anymore...they instead have now turned to Haiti for their frtiendly games. Things really bad now. even them Trinis start laughing at us.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

watch your blood pressure boss, there is nothing YOU and most ppl can do to get this administration out - you might have to wait until the next congress

balla (8/19/2006)watch your blood pressure boss, there is nothing YOU and most ppl can do to get this administration out - you might have to wait until the next congress
        And that is the sad thing about it. The man not smart enough to relaise that Jamaica's football has sunk to lowes not seen in the past decade under is tenure.

Boxhill, just go, get outa town!
        President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Wi haffi go suffa some more cause, wi nuh like

fi learn by figuring things out. It haffi literally happen to wi. It's a confirmed fact that there is more than just technical understanding of the game to succeed in a WC, yet wi continue fi bawl fi dis local man an dat local man (Barnes included). Now I don't see a problem with CB holding things until a new coach comes in. One thing with CB is that he did not understand the network of the football elites, hence heaped distruction on himself. CB needs to learn more but he burned bridges with the prof. Imagine if CB hadn't butt heads with the prof., he would be assistant in Brasil and now Iran. Boss it's just like working in the corporations here; nobody owes you anything, you have to come in as agrub, shovel **** (symbolic) prove your mettle, loyalty, intelligenceand character then you will be annointed. Ask any top Black exec here; if that's not the way it works.

Jawge (8/19/2006)Imagine if CB hadn't butt heads with the prof., he would be assistant in Brasil and now Iran.
            You can go out on a limb to make your points eeh mass Jawge. BTW, where did you get it that CB was or is interested in becoming Simoes' assistant?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I would not see the reason why. Unless CB is only interested in the sport from a amatuer point of view. IF he wants to increase his stock and rub shoulders with the elite coaches of this world (The prof. has many of these peopel on his rolodex) then that's the way to go.I'm sure CB would want to make a name for himself in the INT'L community. Did you know that Mourhino was cocky whilst he was an assistant? No, not until made it.

T&amp;T's coach is now Poland's head coach. Did Simoes get a similar offer after our World Cup? Just asking.

see that is what I'm talking about: how low we seem to percieve ourselves. Now after the WC, we were able to hold on to our coach (our brand was high at the time) our cousins' brand still need some polishing and the net results is for all to see Coach left but left the door ajar just in case) BTW why don't you ask Prof.Simoes, if he had any offers? This way you would know for sure.

Mo Simoes went on to coach a top Brazillian coach however short time it was.

He was in consideration for the Brazil job.

He Coached Trinidad and went on to coach silver medal for Brazil women's team. He is now the coach of Iran's under 23 team.

What has CB or Downswell done after their tenure as head coach?

Just trying to insert some reality into our discussion. Simoes was in consideratin for Brazil's top job?!?! Who says? Simoes?

Reality? That's all we are good at in JA. We love to criticize and look for minute negative details in everything. Fact is: No one in JA can coach at the INT'L level as prof. Simoes, yet we hear cry that he is an adminstrator, Taximan etc. Why do we like to watch others? We went to WC and instead of looking to move to next level we are here looking at T&amp;T's coach. It's the same reason why we cannot focus at those clubs in Europe because we are easiliy distracted. Right now if Boxhill sends a team for camp in Brasil, you would hear us coming back saying;"bwoy dem man nyam too much pork an dem racist dung deh bad" see the JFF did not send a political nor nutrition team to Brasil they send a football team. Now if you ask where is the good first touch that you learned, solid shooting technique, off the ball movement and sppeed with the ball at your foot. That's all whole different story. We must change our mindset and people like you mo who hangs around the teams isn't helping one bit.