FA Cup: Liverpool 1-3 Arsenal

• FA Cup: Liverpool 1-3 Arsenal

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3><DIV class=mxb><DIV class=sh>Liverpool 1-3 Arsenal </DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416><DIV class=mvb><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=416 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=bottom><DIV class=mvb><SPAN class=byl>By Mandeep Sanghera </SPAN></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    </DIV>

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=203 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><DIV> <DIV class=cap>Rosicky showed his lethal side to bag a brace for Arsenal</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Arsenal produced three stylish goals as they dumped FA Cup holders Liverpool out of the competition with a stubborn and resilient third round performance.

Tomas Rosicky curled a sublime strike and squeezed in a shot from the edge of the box to put the visitors 2-0 ahead.

Liverpool hit back when Dirk Kuyt glanced in from point-blank range.

But Thierry Henry ended hopes of a Reds comeback when he robbed Jamie Carragher and slotted home to book Arsenal's place in Monday's fourth round draw.

<DIV class=avinline>Report: Liverpool 1-3 Arsenal </DIV><DIV class=avinline>Interview: Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger </DIV><DIV class=avinline>Interview: Arsenal's Thierry Henry </DIV>

Liverpool had plenty of possession early on but Arsenal had kept them at arm's length while waiting for the chance to counter-attack.

The home side were being denied the space and time to create a chance and had only a long range Steven Gerrard strike, which went comfortably wide, to show for their early efforts.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sib606><DIV class=sihf></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Arsenal's ploy almost reaped reward when a clever pass by Robin van Persie was slid into the piercing run of Rosicky, who lacked the bravery to try and squeeze the ball past on-rushing keeper Jerzy Dudek.

The match started to develop into a fractious affair as rash challenges, stray arms and simulation saw play interrupted on a regular basis.

Reds midfielder Xabi Alonso thought he should have had a penalty when he went over after minimal contact by Gilberto Silva tackle but only ended up getting booked for diving.

In amongst the set-pieces, Reds striker Peter Crouch ballooned a volley over and Alonso went close from 20-yards.

Arsenal had a strength to their play which critics have accused them of lacking and they blended that with the kind of flair they are famed for to take

RE: FA Cup: Liverpool 1-3 Arsenal

Good win!

...but, Mankine if you reading - Liverpool were not all that far out of it! A call here and there and we could have had a different game.

i turned in my apologies early. i hope you cops accepted them.

we did not get a chance to play the easy, beautiful and free flowing game we are used to and are expected to play. liverpool made it hard, everything was contested keenly. take a look forward at the second goal, there were 7 riverfool (wha yu a sey paul) players around rosicky.

however, we did what we had to do to win. we too contested every ball and on the odd but necessary occasions boot it up field or created the professional foul to regroup and defend properly.

well done biggggg sideeeeee. and again, sorry you alone- erz!!
      Blessed Love

Our keeper was weak and that is putting it mildly, 3 soft goals.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

3 soft goals? i beg to disagree? in fact, i believe they are three brilliantly crafted and well taken goals. the third goal the keeper could have probably done something about, but even he must have been watching how brilliantly it (and especially the second goal) was crafted. the first one was taken quickly and very near excellent.

whats the complain about? have you forgotten it was the biggggg sideeeee!!!!!
          Blessed Love

Agreed!

3 good goals!

Is whe Missa Marin, Mosiah and the rest of Pool fans deh now?
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I see everyone crying over the injuries at Chel$ea, but no one realized Arsenal had a depleted squad over the last month or so. A healthy squad can certainly challenge the top two.

A championship team does not lose to Bolton 3-1. [Tilla 3:16]

4 good goals, had Kuyt not redirected Crouch's header, the keeper probably would've made the save.

Both Rosicky goals were good, however he at no time had any intention of passing the ball regarding his second goal. Henry bringle, him doan even join de celebration,Karl whapen toteam?

What Henry did to Liverpool is terrible(for Pool).

Blessed

arsenal plays more cohesive football with henry in the lineup...FULL STOP...PERIOD....EXCLAMATION POINT!!!!

<DIV>The last goal was criminal! A blind man can see that Thierry Henry fouled the man. How else would he have toppled over like a sack of potatoes?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Otherwise, arsenal took their chances and converted.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Still happy with Liverpool's style of play recently. For long periods, they looked more like Arsenal than Arsenal did!</DIV>

No objections here, he is worthy of all the accolades..., tink him gwaan win de Golden boots thingy?

Blessed

Gamma (1/8/2007)arsenal sometimes plays more cohesive football with henry in the lineup...FULL STOP...PERIOD....EXCLAMATION POINT!!!!
                          The walkabout Henry? The Henry would jogs back from Off-side positions? The Henry who loiters about awaiting his 'underlings' to 'fetch and carry'the ball and 'present' to him?

No damn way! (N)(N)(N)

The TEAM Henry?

Yes! (Clap)(Clap)(Clap) (tup)(tup)(tup)

Bwoy - vex and frustrated can't describe my sentiment on this game. We completely dominated...in fact, I was in Ft. Lauderdale at the Fox &amp; Hounds Pub and leaned over to the youth beside me - an Arsenal man - and said "this is reminding me of the Blackburn game...we're dominating and not getting any result..." then literally, the next minute they pushed the ball up the field and scored.

Liverpool won't be where we need to be until we get a midfield that can play the ball on the ground and cut up defences *with* the forward line. Can't wait for a new ownership influx of dollars. Congrats to Gunners. (Clap) Now go finish the job...don't let them eediat teams from Chelski or Manurenited win the cup.

See mi yah...I was inFt Lauderdale with no access to the web. Cho...MI VEX!! Anyway, X is right in that Dudek WAS NOT the man to put in goal. What you have to understand is that REINA controls the back four. If he were in goal, he would never have let Carra play so far off of Henry or any advancing midfielder. That's the difference in this game...our coordination at the back is masterminded between Reina and Carra, and they work together to provide the organization at the back. Putting Dudek in to this game was a mistake.

That said, the REAL dilemma that we faced was the cancelation of the League Cup game which would have made the FA Cupthe second clash with Arsenal at Anfield not the first. WIth that experience under our belt, we would have taken a better stand in defending our FA Cup. But...such is life. Congrats to Gunners. (Clap)