Door's Open To King....Respect to Burrell !

• Door's Open To King....Respect to Burrell !

Door's Open To King

Published: Tuesday | September 7, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions

Marlon King - file

Robert Bailey, Gleaner Writer
    The door is open for national striker Marlon King to rejoin the Reggae Boyz whenever coach
    Theodore 'Tappa' Whitemore decides to call him.[/color]
    This is the word from Captain Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF).
    "We are not barring out any player from our squad and, as it relates to Marlon King, we are about helping to build strong characters within young people and, if one of our members falls out of line, it is our responsibility to help that player," said Burrell in an interview with The Gleaner on Sunday night, following the Reggae Boyz 1-0 win over Costa Rica.
    The 30-year-old King was convicted for assault last October, but was released last month after serving half the 18-month jail term.
    Help him
    "He has paid the penalty dearly and he has already served a hefty penalty for his actions and, therefore, we should try to rehabilitate him than to try and destroy him," Burrell said.
    "We must help him to build back his life and this is what we believe in. Football is not only about senior players kicking the ball on the field, but we have to help them in every aspect and in every phase of their lives," said Burrell.
    King, who has had disciplinary issues at the national level before, has scored 10 goals in his 18 appearances for the Reggae Boyz.
    He last represented Jamaica in 2008, against Trinidad and Tobago at the National Stadium.[/color]
    Burrell stated that it is now up to Whitmore and his coaching staff to select the best 11 players to represent the ]national ]team
    "We said that once he served the punishment meted out to him then, certainly, we are not going to make it worse for him and keep him out in the cold," Burrell exclaimed.
    "Wherever they play their football matters not. The important thing is that we have the best talent on the field of play and, therefore, it is left up to the coach to invite whomever he wants to," Burrell reasoned.
    King's contract was cancelled by Wigan Athletic after he was been convicted last year.[/color]
    He is currently in negotiations and could sign soon with Coventry City, which has shown huge interest in the strike

[/color]
    [/color]

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lets give Marlon a chance to regain his scoring prowess at club level prior to any call to the national team. His obvious focus should be on Coventry and not the Reggae Boyz at this stage in his career.

I hope we never call him back to play for us. time to cut the strings and move on from him, no matter if he scored 1000 goals this season in club football

that's the way i feel too!

If someone misbehaves do you hold a grudge for life? Granted playing for a national team is a privilege and not a right.

wouldn't it depend on the level of the misbehaviour?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              If someone misbehaves do you hold a grudge for life? Granted playing for a national team is a privilege and not a right.
              PICKNEY misbehave....The man just plain F@@@@@ up !

How old is he again? Why not make him a part of the squad but give him an Anelka like ban for his behavior

Jamaica is such an interesting country, we gone from a country that did not allow Rasta's to play on the national team and some might say...not some but I will say Non-KASAFA players would never get a call up to now we will have a woman abusing, selfish egomaniac wear the national colours.

What a far way we have come.
                  Last edited by Scaly Spurs; September 7, 2010, 02:27 PM.

Forget his convictions and all o' that. His behaviour during the Boxhill administration is enuff for me to ban him for life!

This is not some one simply misbehaving this is a pattern of thuggish behavior by someone who thinks he has the right to do whatever the ******************** he fels like... run way with them idiot talk

but u know that was Boxhill's fault though, right?

always!

.................................................. .........ear we go....