RE: DAVID BECKHAM GIVES UP AT AGE 31
Pick another player Zeppo. We all know Donovan cannot play outside the USA.
Zeppo (1/11/2007)Don't worry, guys.
Maybe in 10 years or so Landon Donovan will retire in the NPL and you will get to gawk at a foreign star in your own country!
I even bet that Red Stripe and a few jerk sauce companies would put together a lucrative sponsorship deal for him, too. You know, in order to supplement the part-timer NPL salary and cover the costs of his kidnapping insurance.
:P
Maybe in 10 years or so Landon Donovan will retire in the NPL and you will get to gawk at a foreign star in your own country!
I even bet that Red Stripe and a few jerk sauce companies would put together a lucrative sponsorship deal for him, too. You know, in order to supplement the part-timer NPL salary and cover the costs of his kidnapping insurance.
:P
(joke me a mek jawgy)Seriously, I would love to know how the Galaxy justified this move, but you have to think that they believe the risk is worth it. Anybody who thinks that they are paying for a player who is going to "wow" and "dazzle" on the pitch is clearly fooling themselves. As for Everton, I think that they, like every other European club, are quite astute to develop the emerging Asian market, so I don't know why anybody would laugh after that.