• Cummings Drafted by Colorado Rapids

<SPAN class=StoryHeadline>Cummings Drafted by Colorado Rapids</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Spacer10></SPAN>
    <SPAN class=StoryTeaser>All-American is third Bearcat to be taken in MLS Draft</SPAN> <SPAN class=Spacer10></SPAN>
    <DIV id=Content>

Jan. 12, 2007<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- University of Cincinnati men's soccer standout Omar Cummings has been drafted by the Colorado Rapids with the 31st pick overall in the third round of the 2007 Major League Soccer SuperDraft.<SPAN> </SPAN>Cummings becomes the third Bearcat to be drafted by an MLS club.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><?xml:namespace prefix = o /><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN> </SPAN>"We're extremely pleased to see Omar drafted by such an excellent organization and coaching staff," said UC head coach Hylton Dayes.<SPAN> </SPAN>"Omar has a great future as a professional and we are eager to follow his career as he continues to develop."<SPAN> </SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN> </SPAN>Cummings joins Josh Gardner and Jeremiah Gallegos as the only Bearcats to be selected in the MLS draft.<SPAN> </SPAN>Both were taken by the Los Angeles Galaxy, Gardner with the 13th overall pick in 2004 and Gallegos with the 46th pick of the 2005 MLS Supplemental Draft.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN> </SPAN>"This is another great thing for our program," added Dayes.<SPAN> </SPAN>"We have had a player drafted by the MLS in three of the last four years.<SPAN> </SPAN>I think that is a testament to the caliber of player we have been able to recruit and develop."<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN> </SPAN>Cummings, a first team NSCAA/adidas All-American in 2006, led the Bearcats in scoring for the second straight season with 21 points (6 G, 9 A).<SPAN> </SPAN>A two-time unanimous first team All-BIG EAST selection, he ranked sixth in the BIG EAST in scoring and finished second in the league with nine assists in 2006.<SPAN> </SPAN>Cummings closed out his two-year career at UC ranked fifth in school history with 16 career assists.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN> </SPAN>"I am very excited," said Cummings.<SPAN> </SPAN>"<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 /><st1:state w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">Colorado</st1lace></st1:state> is a great organization and I hope to do great things as a professional."<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o><FO

RE: Cummings Drafted by Colorado Rapids

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 borderColorDark=black cellPadding=0 width=430 bgColor=#000000 borderColorLight=gray border=4><TBODY><TR><TD>

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=430 bgColor=#000000 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=440 background=http://graphics.fansonly.com/schools/cinn/graphics/cinn-mtt-bg.gif border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=50> </TD><TD vAlign=center> Omar Cummings</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=1 width=430 bgColor=#000000 border=0 valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left width=105></TD><TD vAlign=top width=321>

<TABLE width=321 bgColor=#000000 border=0 valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top colSpan=2> </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top><TABLE width=160 align=top bgColor=#000000 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD><TD vAlign=top>Class:
    Senior
    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD><TD vAlign=top>Hometown:
    Old Harbour, Jamaica
    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD><TD vAlign=top>High School:
    Jonathon Grand
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD><TD vAlign=top><TABLE width=160 align=top bgColor=#000000 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD><TD vAlign=top>Last College:
    Cincinnati State
    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD><TD vAlign=top>Height / Weight:
    5-10 / 165
    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD><TD vAlign=top>Position:
    F
    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD><TD vAlign=top>Birthdate:
    07/13/1982
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Career: Two-time NSCAA All-Great Lakes Region first team selection...two-time unanimous first team All-BIG EAST selection...finished two-year UC career ranked fifth in school history in assists with 16...42 career points rank just outside of UC's top 10...scored 42 points in 38 career matches with 13 goals and 16 assists...selected to participate in MLS Player Combine, one of just 58 college seniors chosen.

2006: NSCAA/adidas first team All-American...selected to NSCAA All-Grear Lakes Region first team for second consecutive season...unanimous first team All-BIG EAST selection for second straight season...College Soccer News Preseason All-American...named Preseason BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year...earned College Soccer News National Team of the Week honors on Oct. 2...named to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll on Sept. 18 and Oct. 2...led Bearcats for

Baddaz seh a fi him bwoy that. He says he is a good forward so we will see.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

the coach of cincinatti is also a jamaican... heard from a few of his players that he is a no nonsense coach...