• X

<DIV class=M2FullAHeadline>A NUH ME SAY SO !</DIV><DIV class=M2FullAHeadline></DIV><DIV class=M2FullAHeadline>MANDARIC: BECKHAM IS A WASTE OF MONEY</DIV><DIV class=right> </DIV><DIV class=M2FullAByline>By Lee West</DIV><P class=add-linkout align=left><SPAN class=linkout-replaced>FORMER Portsmouth chairman Milan Mandaric, the man who took George Best to America, has accused the MLS of wasting their money on David Beckham.</SPAN><P class=add-linkout align=left>Mandaric was one of the founding fathers of the American soccer league when he took over San Jose Earthquakes in 1974.<P class=add-linkout align=left>The Serbian millionaire brought Best to his club in 1980 and helped convince the likes of Pele, Johan Cruyff and Franz Beckenbauer to play in the States.<P class=add-linkout><DIV class=center id=mpuad style="DISPLAY: none"><DIV class=M2MpuAdvertisement id=mpuadheader>Advertisement</DIV><DIV class=center></DIV></DIV><P class=add-linkout align=left>Despite early success and sell-out crowds, the interest in soccer eventually disappeared and Americans went back to watching baseball.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>Beckham has agreed a five-year deal worth £128million with LA Galaxy but Mandaric believes he will do nothing to raise the profile of the game.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>Mandaric said: "I was a part of that league for 10 years and was one of the founders when they were trying to introduce the game.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"We had many superstars at that time - Best, Pele, Beckenbauer, Cruyff, just to name a few.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"They are all bigger names than Beckham and we still did not make it. Galaxy are taking the wrong approach. We tried that way before and it did not work.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"One name in one team does not make a league and everyone will notice that, once the initial excitement has died down. People want to see exciting games.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"The Premiership is quite popular because it has the quality and the thrill the Americans love - you cannot all of a sudden invent that."<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>The fact that the US season gets underway in April puts major question marks over any move by a Premiership club to take Beckham on loan from Real Madrid.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>Mandaric claims the vast sums Beckham will be earning to promote his brand should be poured into the game at grassroots level to guarantee future success.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>Mandaric, close to completing his takeover of Leicester, added: "That sort of money would be much better spent importing coaches and raising awareness that way.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"It takes time. As was shown before, you can have all the superstars in the world and it still won't work out."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

RE: X

X (1/15/2007)<DIV class=M2FullAByline>Despite early success and sell-out crowds, the interest in soccer eventually disappeared and Americans went back to watching baseball.</DIV><P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"We had many superstars at that time - Best, Pele, Beckenbauer, Cruyff, just to name a few.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"They are all bigger names than Beckham and we still did not make it. Galaxy are taking the wrong approach. We tried that way before and it did not work.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"One name in one team does not make a league and everyone will notice that, once the initial excitement has died down. People want to see exciting games.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>Mandaric claims the vast sums Beckham will be earning to promote his brand should be poured into the game at grassroots level to guarantee future success.<P class=add-linkout><P class=add-linkout align=left>"It takes time. As was shown before, you can have all the superstars in the world and it still won't work out."
    <P class=add-linkout align=left>Basically the same thing I said last week, but I was accused of hayting and yankee bashing and child abuse.<P class=add-linkout align=left>Watch the ride as the hype fizzles.

RE: X

How can MLSbe"wasting" their money when they are only paying a fraction of that sum? ($400K to be precise)

Once again, advertisers and sponsors arepaying the overwhelming majority of that money.

Some people still don't get it, and this guy is obviously one of them.

Read here for more on how the contract works.