• Westman
    replied
    It never ceases to amaze me how you guys spend so much time discussing inconsequential things, teams and people.

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    For the record... I do not recollect calling for Rafa's sacking.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    I think Rooney staying have more to do with Glazer and keeping Manu fans happy than Fergie. Yeah manu have a few expensive players but it also have more than a fair amount of Academy players and cheap buys. Also remember they have the top team of the last decade.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    to be fair, Fergie has been very restrain not buy many players for big price while the club has a big debt. He could have gone like Rafa did. It seems like all Fergie saying is "mi nah pressure unnu but if I see a one baller me want unnu have fi get him". Also the debt that Manu has, has nothing to do with what going on, on the pitch but rather the money borrowed to buy the club so you can't blame Fergie for that.
    Wait - you cannot be serious!! Slurgie twis' u min' like is a wet rag to rhatid. Slurgie only play games. If him was so restrained, why didn't he let Rooney go? The fact of the matter is that he plays these cards to his advantage. If he wants a player, then he'll say - "too expensive" an then see what happens. Don't mek him fool you...him nuh eena dis fi anyting but himself. Still, I agree the majority of the debt is with the Glazers, not players, but Rooney, Rio and Berbatov together is more "value" than about 15 of all the other prem clubs combined. You can hardly call that "restraint".

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    to be fair, Fergie has been very restrain not buy many players for big price while the club has a big debt. He could have gone like Rafa did. It seems like all Fergie saying is "mi nah pressure unnu but if I see a one baller me want unnu have fi get him". Also the debt that Manu has, has nothing to do with what going on, on the pitch but rather the money borrowed to buy the club so you can't blame Fergie for that.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Two things:

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
    Right now Arsenal's probably got the strongest squad in the Premiership with the majority of thier players under 27.
    The age thing only goes so far. The deepest squad in the Prem - by some margin - is Manu**. Your bench strength is not comparable. Sorry, i's jus' true.

If Arsene was to leave tomorrow the next manager would find a club bursting with talent and quality from the youth team to the first team and a club on a firm financial footing that's why Arsene is the top man.
    I agree that Arsene is top man...but even though you have the player quality, you still don't have the depth that Manu** have. Also, the next manager would have to be virtually superhuman to match Arsene's mettle. Name one manager that could step in to the job and match him with the budget that he has imposed on himself. I bet you can't do it.

All ah dem would be thinking about their own legacy which is trophies, not the club's financial strength. Look at Slurgie, you think him lose sleep over the club debt? Not a chance. Slurgie is about Slurgie, Mourinho about Mourinho, Rafa about Rafa, but Wenger to his credit, seems different.

Leave a comment:

• Dunny
    replied
    Dunny, the problem is that the model cannot be easily replicated and its sustainability comes down to great discipline. Management has to refrain from getting on the big money spending bandwagon that characterises all the title winning clubs of recent years. I remember year the year unuh dash it weh at Birmingham, Arsenal's starting 11 was less valuable (based on fees paid for players) than Rooney and Rio alone.

I am a complete supporter of the Arsenal model, but the way football fans are, they will get impatient (even though the business judgment is sound) as winning titles with this model is not possible (other than luck). As I said, title winners in all the top leagues are the ones that spend the most on players. That's not your club (or mine).
    I appreciate what you are saying Paul,but it can be and will be done the Gunners are now ripe and ready to come of age.This is the season when they will lift some silverware.Right now Arsenal's probably got the strongest squad in the Premiership with the majority of thier players under 27.If Arsene was to leave tomorrow the next manager would find a club bursting with talent and quality from the youth team to the first team and a club on a firm financial footing that's why Arsene is the top man.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Arsene is simply the best.Arsenal is the blueprint of how a club should be run.The Emerites Stadium is out of this world and my club is on a sound financial footing while always competing in the champions league and finishing in the top four every season under Arsene's stewardship.All this achieved on far less money that the mighty Rafa has spent not to mention how quick he went to Inter and made the Champions League winners look ordinary that told me all i need to know about Rafa.
    Dunny, the problem is that the model cannot be easily replicated and its sustainability comes down to great discipline. Management has to refrain from getting on the big money spending bandwagon that characterises all the title winning clubs of recent years. I remember year the year unuh dash it weh at Birmingham, Arsenal's starting 11 was less valuable (based on fees paid for players) than Rooney and Rio alone.

I am a complete supporter of the Arsenal model, but the way football fans are, they will get impatient (even though the business judgment is sound) as winning titles with this model is not possible (other than luck). As I said, title winners in all the top leagues are the ones that spend the most on players. That's not your club (or mine).

Leave a comment:

• Dunny
    replied
    When are you going to wake up to the facts , and thats what I present and represent, That Benitez accomplished more than your Boss Arse at arsenal in his brief years at Liverpool, your biggest accomplishment was landing the 2nd spot in the C.l , an accomplishment Benitez did once after he won it in 2005 !

Backwards ? Liverpool will be hard pressed to find a Boss who understands Liverpool and is willing to work under financial constraints.He is the best we have ever had , time will be my witness and history will absolve me .

I asked Peter and Paul when they were on sack Rafa campaign , sack Rafa and get whom ?

As you can see the question still stands and will stand for another three years.I think it is madness to tear apart a team that placed 2nd in a C.L final in 06 -07 and runners up in 08 -09 season.If thats not progress then Wenger must be a genius not achieving nothing in 5 years and arsenal board must be Gods to give Arse such reign over a 5 going on 6 year rebuilding campaign.

So he muffed it finishind 2nd so what ,He had titles to show for it and a valid excuse of injuries and no depth. I ask sack Rafa and get whom ?
    Arsene is simply the best.Arsenal is the blueprint of how a club should be run.The Emerites Stadium is out of this world and my club is on a sound financial footing while always competing in the champions league and finishing in the top four every season under Arsene's stewardship.All this achieved on far less money that the mighty Rafa has spent not to mention how quick he went to Inter and made the Champions League winners look ordinary that told me all i need to know about Rafa.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    When are you going to wake up to the facts , and thats what I present and represent, That Benitez accomplished more than your Boss Arse at arsenal in his brief years at Liverpool, your biggest accomplishment was landing the 2nd spot in the C.l , an accomplishment Benitez did once after he won it in 2005 !

Backwards ? Liverpool will be hard pressed to find a Boss who understands Liverpool and is willing to work under financial constraints.He is the best we have ever had , time will be my witness and history will absolve me .

I asked Peter and Paul when they were on sack Rafa campaign , sack Rafa and get whom ?

As you can see the question still stands and will stand for another three years.I think it is madness to tear apart a team that placed 2nd in a C.L final in 06 -07 and runners up in 08 -09 season.If thats not progress then Wenger must be a genius not achieving nothing in 5 years and arsenal board must be Gods to give Arse such reign over a 5 going on 6 year rebuilding campaign.

So he muffed it finishind 2nd so what ,He had titles to show for it and a valid excuse of injuries and no depth. I ask sack Rafa and get whom ?

Leave a comment:

• Dunny
    replied
    But a when X gonna come to the realisation that Benetez took Liverpool backward in his spell at Liverpool,Hodgson is just reaping the rewards of the mediocre squad that Rafa left at the club.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Paul .......you made alot of points which i will rebutt in the future , by tuesday i promise , but all that talk about loosing the dressing room is foolishness and you know it , he lost gerrad and carragher, in fact he never had them in his corner, bent over backward for stevie , begged him to stay gave him a pay raise and gerrard rebelled when subbed or played in that defensive role because he loved the attacking role.

as you can see i am bitter , real bitter we were that close to a prem title and lost it to overzealous knee jerked red eager anxious comrades .

Well hodgson woke you all up, from your dreams into a nightmare.
    X, I am not bitter, but that is because I think Rafa had his chance. He was in the 6th year of a 5 year rebuilding program. He made some miscalculations that - were it not for the fact that G+H were under pressure as well - maybe wouldn't have spelled doom in any other year. He, along with all the other "bickerers" had to go...unfortunately, the old regime brought in Roy (who I didn't want either) and so, as loyalists, we have to give him a chance. I remain constant that Roy now has to go as he failed my "test" (not being within striking distance of 4th by Christmas).

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Paul .......you made alot of points which i will rebutt in the future , by tuesday i promise , but all that talk about loosing the dressing room is foolishness and you know it , he lost gerrad and carragher, in fact he never had them in his corner, bent over backward for stevie , begged him to stay gave him a pay raise and gerrard rebelled when subbed or played in that defensive role because he loved the attacking role.

as you can see i am bitter , real bitter we were that close to a prem title and lost it to overzealous knee jerked red eager anxious comrades .

Well hodgson woke you all up, from your dreams into a nightmare.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    yes and lerner nuh ave nutting bad fi say bout oniel...yuh see it ,same wid di glazers , comparable to di yanks who waaan blame rafa ....wha dem say a rafa squad blame im

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    him nuh see the difference how Fergie and Martin Oniel deal with it? All now Oniel don't say anything bad about Lerner even when he was blooding in the boardroom.

Leave a comment: