U-17s: Talent abounds! Scouts rave over U-17s

• U-17s: Talent abounds! Scouts rave over U-17s

All eyes on the Boyz - Scouts rave over U-17s physical talent but question awareness

Published: Sunday | June 26, 2011
    Williams

Gordon Williams, Gleaner Writer

MONTERREY, Mexico:
    Jamaica's team at the 2011 FIFA World Cup attracted plenty attention from football scouts and agents who have flocked to Mexico in search of young talent to fill professioanl club rosters.

But while the scouts, who represent some of the biggest organisations in the world, are generally impressed with the Boyz' physical talents - including speed and technical skill - they are concerned about their lack of awareness of the game's finer points at the highest level.

"(The Jamaicans) are incredibly physical to play the game," assessed Fernando Clavijo, executive director of soccer for Traffic Sports USA, an affiliate of Traffic Sports in Brazil which has hosted several national teams, including Jamaica's current Under-17 squad, for training camps and games.

"(But they are) very (tactically) undisciplined. That's pretty much what it is."
    Trinidad and Tobago's Alvin Corneal, a member of FIFA's technical committee at the World Cup, has been impressed by the individual talent of the Jamaicans, making special reference to Romario Williams, and believes the scouts will be interested in them as well.

"I'm sure, there's no question about it," said Corneal, before Jamaica drew 1-1 with France last Friday. "The guys have got the flair, they've got the physical capability. What the (club) coaches are going to say is 'we're gonna look and if we've got a 17-year-old like that we can teach him a few things. If he uses his own abilities, we may have a player on our hands'."

Jamaica lacked experience
    Others support his view but stressed that Jamaica lacked experience. Clavijo, who has coached Haiti and teams in US Major League Soccer, refused to fault the players, insisting that lack of exposure to consistent, good competition is the problem for Jamaica's youngsters. The fallout, if the trend continues, could be disastrous.

"You cannot blame the players who do not have the opportunity to compete at different levels and to be able to see what you need to change and not change," Clavijo explained.

"If the levels of play don't become better for some of those players they're never gonna be able to achieve their goal. Watching them play in this kind of tournament pretty much gives you a balance, where they are and at the same time, with a good eye, where they can be.

"I think (Jamaica) are still naïve at the international level and here (at the World Cup) you pay a big price," he added. "You do it in the CONCACAF area, you may get away with it."

However, scouts here conceded that the search for football's talent pool, once restricted to places like South America and Europe, has expanded rapidly and now includes Caribbean countries like Jamaica.

"I think you can find a good player and a good talent anywhere," said Francis Cagigao, who scouts for Arsenal Football Club in England and who attended the match between Jamaica and Argentina. "So basically I'm here to have a look and see what type of talents Jamaica has.

"We're looking at players constantly," he added. "At our club we look at players in the Caribbean as well."

Cagigao said there is no bias against players from smaller football nations like Jamaica. The objective at the Under-17 World Cup, he explained, is to spot players who can be developed into quality professionals.

Clavijo said the deficiencies of Jamaica's players are generally the easier parts of the problem to fix.

"I think the Jamaican players (have) always been described as a very physical, quick, not too organised, not too disciplined," he said. "And I think, when you're talking about tactically, how to become more disciplined, is to change the scenario, put them in a different environment. And these are very easy things to coach.

"Now, you cannot teach speed, you cannot teach physicality, you cannot teach technique. So it becomes difficult. But when discipline is all that you're concerned about and tactical awareness of the game, those are things you can work with and that is why we always feel comfortable."

While none of the scouts were willing to reveal who, if any, from Jamaica's team has caught their eye, Clavijo admitted there has been plenty talent displayed by the Boyz here.

"Oh, they attract a lot of attention, absolutely," he said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports3.html

Wah yuh seh, Lazie

Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazie?

So whats new. the Jamaican players are big and fast, but without ball sense. Sounds like we are stuck in first gear since the 1960's. Hope we get out at some point.

If they do not have "ball sense"...it is not because they lack "sense".

It must be because they have not been taught "ball (sense"). So getting to the level where qualifying is a possibility means getting them "teachers". ...not banishing them.

You do not banish kids who are lacking in subject knowledge. You get them good teachers...you put them in the environment where the desired learning is possible.

It is self-defeating to not invest in these current national players and our entire island-wide set of footballers. Invest in 'the football'.

I am convinced that this set of seniors can if given the necessary back office support can in the short period before World Cup qualifiers rise to the level of Mexico and the USA. ...and possible beyond those 2.

Hey! Mi seh HEY! ...dem a su-maddi pickney dem. ...an dem caaan larn causen dem bright!

So give them the tools!
        FORWARD!

NB: Just look at the current World Cup Women game - Germany v Nigeria
        A few short months past Germany were 8 goals better than these Nigerians.

...Germany may still be better...but the Nigerians have improved immensely. At the moment they are going toe to toe.

Nigerians are showing that with being put in the proper atmosphere (circumstance/environment) ...learning = knowledge increases, advances in development ..maturity occurs.

Mi nuh waan ear the same unda han statement dem bout wi fool-fool!
        Last edited by Karl; June 30, 2011, 03:16 PM.