Taken from the Trini site

• Taken from the Trini site

Author Topic: Young Reggaeboyz Boyz 'Hi-Jacked'? (Read 444 times)

truetrini

Education is a progressive discovery of our own ignorance.

Hero Warrior

Conscience...is lacking from T&T's soul!

View Profile WWW

Young Reggaeboyz Boyz 'Hi-Jacked'?

« on: August 21, 2006, 09:23:39 AM »

Young Boyz 'Hi-Jacked'?

Jamaica Observer

Monday, August 21, 2006

Boxhill. we have to look at the bigger picture

Jamaica's chances of retaining their Caribbean Youth Cup (Under-17) suddenly became remote yesterday after an off-the-field intervention of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) late Saturday.

According to a release from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) yesterday, CFU president Austin 'Jack' Warner, on the advice of senior vice-president Lisle Austin, and with the approval the CFU's emergency committee, revised the format of the competition in order to determine the two Caribbean teams that will go through to the CONCACAF final qualifying round for the FIFA World Under-17 Championship.

The CFU Youth Cup is also being used as qualification for the World Cup.

With the competition now at the quarter-final stage and Jamaica being host of one leg of that CONCACAF qualification competition, the nation has been placed in Group B with the three non-Caribbean (guest teams) group winners - Canada, Mexico and Panama - while the other qualifiers, Barbados, Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname have been placed in Group A to participate in a league playoff.

From this playoff, the first and second-placed teams will subsequently qualify for the CONCACAF final round of the competition.

The first-placed teams of each group will play for the Caribbean Youth Championship, while the second-placed teams of each group will play for the third and fourth places.

Mexico are the reigning world champions at the Under-17 level, Canada are CONCACAF powers at the youth level, while Panama represent the traditional Central American quality, leaving the Caribbean champions with a mountain to climb, as opposed to the other Caribbean countries in Group A, which will be given a much easier passage to the final and third place playoff.

Under the original format, the Young Reggae Boyz, winners of Group F after three unbeaten games, were set to challenge preliminary round Group C winners Barbados tomorrow.

But under this new format, they were suddenly asked to travel to Tobago yesterday, to face Canada today in quarter-final action.

JFF boss Crenston Boxhill was not overly amused by this sudden change, but he preferred to put a philosophical spin on it.

"Based on us being the only Caribbean team in this group, of course it makes it more difficult to retain our title as Caribbean champions, but having said that, we have to look at the bigger picture," he said.

"Our aim all along was to qualify for the FIFA World Cup in South Korea in 2007 and to do so these are some of the teams that we will have to come up against and beat in order to be successful.

"Earlier this year we played the USA twice and with these high quality games, it will enhance our chances of the ultimate goal," he added.

The Observer learnt that Raymond Grant, the head of delegation of the David Hunt-coached team, was made aware of the changes early yesterday, after the team's management had scouted Barbados and scheduled an off-day for the players, in anticipation of a game against the land of the flying fish tomorrow.

Jamaica mauled Dominica 8-0 Saturday to complete their first round fixture.

The group winners will meet in the final on August 27, while the second-placed teams meet in the third place match on the same day.

Jamaica won the Championship last year after finishing third, behind two guest teams.

At the Ato Boldon Stadium on Saturday, Jamaica were led by a Romario Campbell hat-trick.

The Caribbean cha
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

RE: Taken from the Trini site

Interesting comments. Thanks Jangle. Seems that when nyamdirt come here him not really repping for T&T but just his own bad mind ways

Sicko, if you want to get a true picture of how they hate your country on that board, you have to visit there and get a first hand view of things. The Haters didnt post much on the post Jangle lifted from the site...

President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

what eva may be i should lift a post of this site

Lift the one where I say Trini go WC and only score a own goal.

WHAT EVA YOPU ALL BAD TALK WE NUFF AND EVEN HATE

No rasta not hate. I have nothing but love for Trinidad (the women). I jus have to put u inna u place cause u have to much chat. I and I really want to go to Trinidad(fi breedup the Indian gyal dem).