• W Connection off to Mexico...hoping to create history

<DIV style="OVERFLOW: auto; WIDTH: 100%">

<SPAN style="COLOR: red"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 13pt">W Connection off to Mexico.
    ...hoping to create history.
    By: Joel Villafana (ttproleague).</SPAN></SPAN>

In the heights of the 2007 Carnival festivities, a disciplined bunch of footballers from Couva left all the thrills and excitement behind, seeking to create history.

The 2007 TT Pro League runners-up Vibe CT 105 W Connection departed the Piarco International Airport just after 6 a.m. on Carnival Monday morning full of confidence in their chances to move past the quarter final round of CONCACAF Champions Cup for the first time in their club’s history.

W Connection are scheduled to face Mexican Champions Chivas in the second leg of the CONCACAF Champions Cup quarter final round on February 28.

The ‘Savonetta Boys’ brought joy to home fans last Tuesday when they rose above all expectations to defeat the Mexican champions Chivas 2-1 at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in the first leg of the home and away quarter final tie.

Looking ahead to the return leg, Club President David John Williams called it the biggest game in his club’s seven-year history.

Speaking to ‘ttproleague.com’, Mr. John Williams said, “This is no doubt our biggest game thus far, I see it as the most important game in the club’s history, we have a real chance of moving on to the semifinals of the tournament and becoming one of the top four teams in CONCACAF in 2007.”

The W Connection owner continued, “Not only is this game important for us, but I believe it is very important for the TT Pro League and Trinidad and Tobago’s football, this is an opportunity to show the world that we have a quality professional league in Trinidad and Tobago and we are capable of producing players to compete at the highest international standard.”

He confirmed the team trained up until Sunday night, before leaving for Mexico on Monday morning and said everyone in the camp was in high spirits.

“The guys are all upbeat, the sprit in the camp is high, and they have an opportunity to get into Mexico nine days ahead of the match, so they can properly acclimatize to conditions.”

Williams reflected on his team’s battle with Toluca, another top Mexican club back in 2003 in the CONCACAF Champions Cup where W Connection were edged out at the quarter final stage, having lost 3-2 in Mexico, and was only able to pull off a 3-3 draw at home.

However, David John Williams says a lot is different this time around, “First to begin with this time we played our home game first, and we are traveling to Mexico with an advantage. Another important factor is that this time the game in Mexico is not at high altitude as it was back then,” and while he admits his squad in 2004 was a much more experienced bunch, he strongly believes his crop of young players has what it takes to get the required results.

He told ‘ttproleague.com’, in no uncertain terms, “Most definitely, I am very confident that the boys can pull off the result we need, coming off the performance in the first leg where we played 71 minutes with 10 men and only committed three fouls, it shows the level at which the team is currently performing, and I am expecting nothing less than the required result to propel us through to the semi-finals.”</DIV>

RE: W Connection off to Mexico...hoping to create history

Fat chance! W Connection will get smack down!

Homepage of W Connection, with legend Super Blue singingtheir infectious soca anthem. It's now easy to understand why the ballers play like they are dancing. Click to enter their world and feel inspired.

http://wconnectionsportsgroup.com/

<SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 13pt"><SPAN style="COLOR: red">New World clubs ready for battle
        FIFA.com</SPAN></SPAN>

The quarter-finals of the 2007 CONCACAF Champions Cup kick into high gear on Wednesday and Thursday. The oldest and most prestigious club competition in North, Central America and the Caribbean will pit the the region's best in a hunt for bragging rights and, more importantly, a place at next year's FIFA Club World Cup.

The first round of home-and-away ties began back on 13 February with a tremendous shock result, perhaps paving the way for a shake-up in the formbook of the 45-year old competition. Chivas of Guadalajara - one of the most successful in all of Mexico - were beaten by Trinidadian minnows W Connection FC 2-1 at their Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella, Trinidad on Tuesday.

After being reduced to ten men and losing their No1 goalkeeper inside the opening twenty minutes, the Marabella-based minnows rallied back fready rom an Omar Bravo goal down and won the day thanks to two strikes in the last ten minutes from Earl Jean and Jose Luiz Seabra. With the win, W Connection become the first Caribbean participant to win a Champions Cup encounter since San Juan Jabloteh of T&amp;T routed the Chicago Fire in 2004. It was also the first time that Chivas - inaugural Champions Cup winners back in 1962 - lost to Caribbean opposition since Haiti's Racing Club Haiten beat them in the final back in 1963.

Before the second leg of the Chivas tie with W Connection on 28 February, another six sides from all corners of CONCACAF will battle it out for superiority in their respective first leg clashes.

The second Mexican club in the competition, Pachuca CF, will take on Deportivo Marquense of Guatemala in their first leg on 22 February at the Estadio Hidalgo in Pachuca. The Guatemalans are taking part in their first-ever Champions Cup after finishing third at the 2006 UNCAF Club Championship. Having never won their domestic championship, the Leones will be long shots to triumph over powerful Pachuca, who are the oldest club currently taking part in the Mexican first division. Having won the domestic title on four occasions and the Champions Cup in 2002, the men from Mexico will be considered hot favourites, especially after becoming the first CONCACAF team to win a South American title - national or club - when they took the Copa Sudamericana in 2006.
        Houston Dynamo, led by Dwayne De Rosario, will be keen to get it right in their first time on the big stage as champions of MLS.

All hope for MLS men
        The USA send two sides to the Champions Cup quarter-final stage: DC United, who finished the regular Major League Soccer season with the best record and Houston Dynamo, who won the top flight laurels outright by beating New England Revolution in the MLS Cup final.

Led by recently crowned Canadian player of the year Dwayne De Rosario and towering US striker Brian Ching, the Dynamo - the first team from Texas take part in a Champions Cup - will fancy their chances against Puntarenas FC of Costa Rica. However, as they are currently in their off-season and playing the first leg in hostile territory on 21 February at the Estadio Miguel Lito Perez, they are likely to have their work cut out. Puntarenas, also debutants at this stage, will be buoyed by winning the Central American club championship last year and also having reached the final of last year's Costa Rican League campaign.

DC United, one of only two Major League Soccer sides to have won a Champions Cup (1998), will be without the services of young American phenom Freddy Adu, who was traded to Real Salt Lake at the close of last season. However, Tom Soehn's men - led

Pro League teams throw full support behind W Connection.

http://www.ttproleague.com/index.php...7&amp;Itemid=2

Warrior,

First, a bit of a warning: There isdanger in indulging in cheap drugs... yu see wha happen to JB? nowhere to be seen or heard... so be warned.

Second, Good luck to W Connection! They will need it. While I would love to see a Caribbean team carry the swing, I see danger inMexico. ANd while I don't think you have been passing off W Connection as a TT side the massive out there must know that almost half the team (and starting line up is foreign). I remember some time back when the ENTIRE starting line was from Brazil. Presently there are about 8 Brazilians, a couple St Lucians, Kittian/Nevisian. Jamaican, Dominican Republican, and also Colombian in the roster.

Now perspective is a wonderful thing, you talk about people coming in droves... it just might be that the so called local talent you are talking about doesn't exist... maybe? ANyway, plenty people in T&amp;T play Football, but plenty of the promising lights don't get very far (and this is equally true of other Caribbean islands) because "dem reach" once dem mek a pro league team, get a cyar, have a Razr, and get $6000TT a month in dem pocket.

Anyway, suffice to say, that you shouldn't set yourself up for total embarrassment... yes, yuh might look good if your predictions (about the T&amp;T side dominating CONCACAF) come true, but I suspect by the time that happens it will be long after my natural lifetime ( I give myself an optimistic 30 more years)...

On the national team front, the reality is that your T&amp;T side is NOWHERE near the dominant team it once was. So Rijsbergen has NO choice but to rebuild and the team has underperformed woefully since the WC. If it wasn't for a certain benefactor making sure Digicel Cup etc is played in TT (home advantage etc) unuh wouda nevah mek de finals.The WC team is old, only light out of that team for my money is Carlos Edwards (28 yrs); who'll probably be good for two moreWCs (barring injury and form).

And on a last note, get this right... Soca Artistes are the ones incorporating Reggae/Dancehall into their music, NOT the other way round. Reggae and Dancehall is a proven world wide phenomenon and Soca artistes with sense are riding that wave to get their music out into the wider world... and nothing wrong wid dat.

pr

Thanks for the reply Peter R. The team has a policy of one love. A strong Trini base and a healthy sprinkling of foreign talent while they churn out local youth players who are on their under 12 and under 14 teams and who are ready to play with the big boys when they reach 17. Not surprisingly Belgium, England and Scotland are calling for them. The Brazilians are a perfect fit, having a similar power-carnival dance culture and similar style of ball. Not surprisingly, some are so happy that they have asked for T&amp;T citizenship. The T&amp;T authorities were harsh to deny Jose Luis Seabra(star of the game against Chivas) in 2005 as there was to much local talent ready for Germany 2006. Only a few brazilians on the team now and Ronaldo Viana is close to being sold to South Korea for megabucks to build more momentum locally.

Warrior,

I'm not sure that Brazilians are seeking citizenship in the numbers you are suggesting... Seabra has/had(?) a Trini woman and I believe a child bornin TTso he had more than Football on the brain when he applied for citizenship... and the petty bureaucrats denied him beforehe could play (or at least be considered) for a pick in the national squad.

He did represent TT in a friendly or two if you remember and played well but they had to omit him from the squad as his full papers were not completed in time (they would not make any concessions in his time of residency already completed, nor for the fact he had local connections).

The thing about the TT League from what I know is there is very little fan support and the leaue is failing at the gate. Schoolboy Football is still a much bigger draw and this is something our (JA and TT) leagues have to address if"Pro" leagues are to succeed.

pr

Definitely the crowds need to improve. It is happening already as they taste success and more money for advertizing. Keep following as you alreadyare. Respec'

My bredren, please cheer up. Caribbean football will preail

http://youtube.com/watch?v=ayg3Exc28...ted&amp;search=

<TABLE style="TABLE-LAYOUT: fixed" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="85%" height="100%"><DIV style="OVERFLOW: auto; WIDTH: 100%">

From socawarriors.net, posted by Flex

1. Pachuca CF (MEX) 2 vs Deportivo Marquense (GUA) 0
                      February 28 (Return Leg/Guatemala).

2. Puntarenas FC (CRC) 1 vs Houston Dynamo (USA) 0
                      March 1 (Return Leg/Texas).

==================================

3. W Connection (TRI) 2 vs CD Guadalajara (MEX) 1
                      February 28 (Return Leg/Mexico).

4. DC United (USA) 4 vs CD Olimpia (HON) 1
                      March 1 (Return Leg/Washington).

==================================

Winner 1 vs Winner 2

Winner 3 vs Winner 4</DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD class=smalltext vAlign=bottom width="85%"></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

There you go again Mosiah. You wanting W-connection to lose is purely prejudice talk.

Like anger management--I think you need to do a hate management course.