• Lille boss Puel furious with Ferguson's comments

<H1></H1>

<BR clear=all><DIV class=text11 style="BACKGROUND: #fff"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has been accused of trying his 'usual tricks' to put pressure on Lille during last night's controversial Champions League clash. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV>

The French club's manager, Claude Puel, reacted angrily after Ferguson branded their response to Ryan Giggs' winning goal 'a disgrace'.

Giggs' goal, a quickly-taken free-kick in the 83rd minute while home goalkeeper Tony Sylva was lining up a wall, came soon after Lille's Peter Odemwingie had a goal ruled out for a push on United defender Nemanja Vidic.

Lille's players were so incensed the goal was allowed to stand that they kicked the ball out of play from the restart and then headed to the touchline on the orders of their goalkeeping coach Jean Noel Duse.

Ferguson was furious with their behaviour, but Puel is adamant that he was merely engaging in mind-games of his own.

'It is Sir Alex Ferguson's usual trick, and it is his way of putting the pressure on,' said the former Monaco coach.

'Sir Alex Ferguson can think what he wants. I don't understand how this man allows himself to have such thoughts. He could have avoided (saying) them.

'My players simply wanted to make a complaint on a fact of the game. It wasn't laying it on thick. They didn't want to leave the pitch.'

Puel added: 'In France, you must express a complaint after the first stoppage in play which follows the decision. It is for that reason we stopped the game. In the Champions League, it is different. You can intervene after the match.

'Quite simply, two refereeing decisions went against us in a very good match between two excellent teams. I am sorry for that.'

Lille president Michel Seydoux believes Giggs' matchwinner would not have been allowed to stand if United had conceded it.

And he claims he will be speaking to newly elected UEFA supremo Michel Platini about the incident.

'I will call Michel Platini, who says he defends the beautiful game and the little teams,' he said. 'We have developed a beautiful game and we are a little team.'

Puel was delighted with his team's efforts throughout the game, despite being hit by the sucker punch at the end.

Lille were particularly strong in the second half and were arguably on top before Giggs' disputed winner.

'I don't think the players deserved this finish,' he added. 'I thought we played very well, with great quality.

'Manchester United were dangerous on the counter-attack. But I am very proud of my players, because they showed that they aren't here by chance. We are here as competitors.'

RE: Lille boss Puel furious with Ferguson's comments

Funny...I also thought the goal should not have been allowed. It appeared to me that the referee was 'interfering with the defending players'...giving instructions for them to comply with what he considered encroachment. Certainly, if I am right, moving players out of defensive positions by the ref suggests he was 'getting things right' before giving instructions for the game to proceed? Can it be fair for the official to be moving defenders out of their taken defensive posture - in a real sense, clearing a passage for the attackers - the ref as 'matter of fact' adding self attacking team?

What I saw is completely different from an infringement having been committed and the attacking team taking advantage of the bungling of a defensive team as that team attempts to find defensive shape as the referee keeps a close eye on the proceedings without direct interference. What I saw inyesterday's match was the ref appeared to be actively moving players when Giggs took his shot. If he was moving players, was the goal fairly scored?

A hypocrites like you mek mi post the article. Of course you wouldn't think the goal should stand .. afterall .. is you name Karl. When Henry scored a similiar goal on Barthez did you say it shouldn't stand?

Yuh to lie Karl? Where you saw the ref interfering with the defenders? Rooney went to get the ball, brought it to where Giggs was, spotted it and Giggs did the rest.

I'm no footballer, but if the ref didn't indicate that the kicker should wait on the whistle, an opponent should stand close to the ball until the wall is set.

When TH14 did it, unuh see it as a stoke of a genius, Manu do it, and yuh waan complain? Check yuhself Karl.

Lazie (2/21/2007)A hypocrites like you mek mi post the article. Of course you wouldn't think the goal should stand .. afterall .. is you name Karl. When Henry scored a similiar goal on Barthez did you say it shouldn't stand?

Yuh to lie Karl? Where you saw the ref interfering with the defenders? Rooney went to get the ball, brought it to where Giggs was, spotted it and Giggs did the rest.

I'm no footballer, but if the ref didn't indicate that the kicker should wait on the whistle, an opponent should stand close to the ball until the wall is set.

When TH14 did it, unuh see it as a stoke of a genius, Manu do it, and yuh waan complain? Check yuhself Karl.
        Just had a look at it again. You are right. The ref merely moved away to remain on his diagonal.

The Lille wall was set. It was the Lille's 'keeper who was caught napping. Good, fair goal!

My apologies, sir!

Aside:

Wasn't I lucky I had it all onthe VDR!Again -Sorry, sah! Valid goal! :blush: