Tevez (revisited)

• Tevez (revisited)

PARIS ST GERMAIN'S stinging snub to Carlos Tevez suggests the wantaway hitman is now a payroll pariah.

PSG technical director Leonardo last night revealed moneybags PSG could have signed Tevez but were not prepared to pay his £10million-a-year wages.

The fact money-no-object PSG turned their backs on Tevez is a truly disturbing sign for the Argentina man and his people.
    For the French turned down the deal not because they could not pay the money but because they did not think Tevez was worth it.
    Milan as well as Inter wanted Tevez but neither could put enough money on the table to meet both City's £25m valuation and the striker's wages.
    It opened the door for PSG.

But Leonardo said: "We're not here to beg players to come join us.
    "We had a negotiation with Tevez which was very clear. He has a huge contract at Manchester City.
    "We spoke about numbers and we estimated that it was not opportune to invest that amount.

"We're not going to overpay to show we're capable of signing players. We're not a small club where no one wants to go."
    The last two sentences could be seen as a clear dig at City.
    They have often been accused of forking out enormous wages to convince big stars to join them, only to be unable to shift them because no-one will take on their salary.

Tevez is a case in point and of course Emmanuel Adebayor too – after all City pay half his wages whilst he's on loan at Tottenham.

Like City, the French are owned by Arab billionaires.
    Nasser Al-Khelaïfi is the head of Qatar Sports Investments and he has made it clear PSG will pay top-dollar but not over the odds to convince stars to join.

Tevez's future looks bleak unless he accepts a whopping pay-cut in the summer to find somewhere to continue his career.
    A few weeks ago I told you new boss Carlo Ancelotti planned to pair up Kaka with David Beckham in the French capital before the former England superstar decided to stay in the US.

But Ancelotti confirmed on Friday he still plans to raid Real Madrid for Kaka in the summer.
    And Leonardo – who, like Ancelotti, bossed Kaka at Milan - did not rule out a move.
    He added: "That Beckham didn't come was not a disappointment nor a surprise.

"We knew he had to make a choice about his life, to stay at Los Angeles or not, for his family.
    "He never gave us an agreement in principle. But he showed the important desire to come finish his career in Paris with true sporting ambitions.

He has a huge contract at Manchester City.

Someone should remind the player of this...football careers (and the earning power they bring) don't last forever. I only hope he is investing well.

What yuh think? Him show the temperament of an investor?

Cannot over-emphasize the importance of the role an agent. A players' agent should be like a business coach.

This role should include exactly what you stated Marin...that they should make hay while the sun shine.

how many of those guys say they did just that and ended up being bled dry?

What yuh think? Him show the temperament of an investor?
            Well, put it this way. One year of Tevez's income after taxes is enough for most people to live on for the rest of their lives. He could stick it in a mattress and live like a king to the end of his days as long as he doesn't live beyond his reasonable (inflation adjusted) means. In 10 years, Tevez could save over $50M on his salary basis alone. As long as he doesn't spend $50.1M, he'll be fine.

True; there are many examples.

I get the feeling that Tevez is not so bright.....

Hope I am wrong...and his reason for absconding is justifiable.