Davis focuses on keeping English club afloat

• Davis focuses on keeping English club afloat

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Davis focuses on keeping English club afloat</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Hurbun Williams, Observer writer
    Saturday, March 10, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=220 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>DAVIS (right). on short break from club duties</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Claude Davis, who now plies his trade at Bramall Lane with English Premiership team Sheffield United, paid a short visit home on Monday and the following day was royally feted and honoured by his local club, Portmore United, with a birthday gathering at Cuddy'z in New Kingston.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The Jamaican international defender who was on a short break from club duties, returned to Jamaica to celebrate his 28th birthday with his family.<P class=StoryText align=justify>His English girlfriend Laura, who accompanied him, sent ahead to organise a birthday party for the player without his knowledge as a surprise for her leading man.<P class=StoryText align=justify>To Davis' surprise. he was greeted at the party by a host of relatives, friends and officials from his old club, headed by Horace Reid and president Herman Ming.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Others in attendance included representatives from other National Premier League clubs, along with St Catherine FA boss Peter Reid, KSAFA president Ambassador AB Stewart Stephenson and former JFF president Captain Horace Burrell.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Davis was honoured by his club for his contribution between 1998 and 2003 when Portmore won the National Premier League (NPL) title.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In an interview with the Observer, Davis said after three-and-a-half years in England he is coping well there, adding, "The Premiership is the best league in the world."<P class=StoryText align=justify>In restating his own career goals, he said, "You have to be cognisant of where you're coming from to know where you're going.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"To be honest, right now my focus is for Sheffield United to survive the relegation battle and remain in the Premiership. I think we're rewriting the script a bit but there are still a few games to be played, a number of points to be gained. To be safe we need at least another three wins and that is our main goal at present."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Sheffield United are currently in 16th position in the Barclay's Premiership with 31 points - two steps above the relegation zone.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In a recent resurgence, they won their last three home games, including an unforgettable 1-0 win over Arsenal. They also accounted for Fulham and Spurs.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Davis, who has no game at the weekend but returns to Bramall Lane on Friday, said he was raring to go as he was without injury and quite fit.<P class=StoryText align=justify>With gaining points to avoid relegation the major concern for manager Neil Warnock, Davis said the chief aim of the team was to stretch their unbeaten run at home when Everton visit Bramall Lane next.

RE: Davis focuses on keeping English club afloat

Nuttin pon Luton?

RE: Davis focuses on keeping English club afloat

Somebody said he was injured in a reserve game. I think it was Lionpaw who posted that news.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran