Peter & Paul ...get ready for a relegation battle

• Peter & Paul ...get ready for a relegation battle

Rodgers warns Liverpool fans to expect more crushing defeats as he rebuilds Reds

By Sportsmail Reporter
    PUBLISHED: 07:53 EST, 19 August 2012 | UPDATED: 07:53 EST, 19 August 2012

Brendan Rodgers warned there will be 'more days like this along the way' while rebuilding Liverpool after his side crashed 3-0 at West Brom in the opening Barclays Premier League clash of the season.
    Manager Rodgers and the legion of Reds supporters at The Hawthorns were given a reality check as goals from Zoltan Gera, Peter Odemwingie and Romelu Lukaku sealed their fate.

In addition defender Daniel Agger was sent off for a professional foul when conceding the first of two spot-kicks awarded to the Baggies.

Not a pretty sight: Brendan Rodgers (front right) watched his Liverpool side crash to a 3-0 defeat at West Brom on the opening day of the season

Only poor finishing prevented West Brom from doubling their tally while at the other end of the pitch Liverpool striker Luis Suarez spurned two gilt-edged opportunities.

Rodgers said: 'There is a big job to do and we will have more days like this along the way. That is the reality of it. It is still a work in progress.

'There will be days along the way that will hurt and it will be difficult for us.

'It is going to take time. Hopefully we won't have too many days like that and we will keep moving forward.'

Rodgers knows his side have to be more clinical in front of goal and Suarez, for all his brilliant approach play, needs to increase his conversion rate of chances.
    The Reds boss said: 'The reality of the situation is we need to score more goals.
    'If we are going to affect the top of this league, we have got to score more goals.'
    Rodgers felt his side were harshly done by in terms of the two spot-kicks awarded against them by referee Phil Dowd - the first of which from Shane Long was saved by Pepe Reina.

He said: 'I like Phil. He is normally a good ref for me. We are not going

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz241bdCSvk

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I have not done any analysis the way you and Paul have but it dont look pretty right now.

I am keeping the faith...

Mi a wait fi gamma fi say hold di faith...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

mi???!!! coulda neva!

I read this today. He is lowering expectations in an attempt to exceed them. If I were him, I'd be looking to offload Adams, Downing, Spearing, Flanagan and some others and bring in some real footballers. Look at what our transfer season looked like:

OUT
          Kuyt
          Maxi
          Aquilani

IN
          Allen
          Borini
          Assaidi

Really? Are these guys really going to make it possible for us to challenge for top 4? Allen at £15m? Really? Seems a bit crazy when Manure buys Kagawa for £14m and Arsenal gets Giroud for £10m not to mention Podolski for £11m and Corzola for £16m. I can only pray he gets some loanees in fast.

Paul its deeper than that , his style of play is wide open , he does not have a defence , not a clue , he got away with it at swansea, where teams took it for granted and gave him the leisure of boxing the ball around ,not pool any team that plays us want our scalp to make a name for themselves , its pressure football.

Thats what WBA did , our defence buckled, thats a midtable , relegation team , just imagine a City or Man U ?

Dis bredda is clueless ,look at his strike force ,he put it all on saurez and when down , who did the joka call Cole ??????

He hasnt a clue how to use Carrol, or Lucas, YES OUR M.O.M .....dis bredda a put expectation low fi save im job, im caaan bawll bout dead wood , after K.D tek us to two cup finals ,Hodgson try that .

Who is he going to sell , Carroll & Adam whom he doesnt use ? He had Downing playing the fool against WBA, Flannagan didnt even see the bench and Spearing warmed it .

So we can pour it all on Downing ? no sah !

Paul its deeper than that , his style of play is wide open , he does not have a defence , not a clue , he got away with it at swansea, where teams took it for granted and gave him the leisure of boxing the ball around ,not pool any team that plays us want our scalp to make a name for themselves , its pressure football.

Thats what WBA did , our defence buckled, thats a midtable , relegation team , just imagine a City or Man U ?

Dis bredda is clueless ,look at his strike force ,he put it all on saurez and when down , who did the joka call Cole ??????

He hasnt a clue how to use Carrol, or Lucas, YES OUR M.O.M .....dis bredda a put expectation low fi save im job, im caaan bawll bout dead wood , after K.D tek us to two cup finals ,Hodgson try that .

Who is he going to sell , Carroll & Adam whom he doesnt use ? He had Downing playing the fool against WBA, Flannagan didnt even see the bench and Spearing warmed it .

The playing style calls for possession, which is nothing new. Whether we have the players to pull it off is another question which I will say is NEGATIVE especially the players I named earlier. Can you see Flanagan playing tikki takka or Adams, or Downing, or Spearing? Not a freakin' chance. I also think that playing Johnson at left back really means - GET A FRIGGIN' UNDERSTUDY!! Or an experience left back, but don't mix up the back 4 so. Anyway, I will always give a new manager till Christmas, so me nah seh nutting bout him job till den.

X, you are a real sample. The forum would be a much duller place without you!!

Thats what Liverpool has been reduced to, isnt it ironic that those who called for Rafa head believe that they can now ridicule X

As you say its nothing new , we pulled it off well under Rafa & K.D , what we saw last weekend was a joke , they played like chicken without heads.

Look boss get off Flanagan im a play reserve ball this season, Adam and whomever else case , the only one Rodgers likes is Downing as a Bonafide starter , he prefers Shevly over spearing & Cole over Carroll.

Tik-taka at swans is different at pool, people wont take it for granted.I hope this end quickly .By October the most, bring back the BIG MAN!

RAFA !

Christmas wont see dis bredda , after what these Owners did to K.D , the koppities nuh ave nuh stomach fi di almshouse.

Clarke is dead right , a top 4 finish this season is a must , given the quality that he has , who is he going to sell next Lucas ?

We have 6 players , that can wak into most Champions league team.Skertel, Agger, Johnson, Lucas, Feerraud,Saurez.Who else are we going to sell to rebuild, we are worse than arsenal.

Thats what Liverpool has been reduced to, isnt it ironic that those who called for Rafa head believe that they can now ridicule X
                      A who a ridicule x?

A natural progression, what?

As you say its nothing new , we pulled it off well under Rafa & K.D , what we saw last weekend was a joke , they played like chicken without heads.

Look boss get off Flanagan im a play reserve ball this season, Adam and whomever else case , the only one Rodgers likes is Downing as a Bonafide starter , he prefers Shevly over spearing & Cole over Carroll.

Tik-taka at swans is different at pool, people wont take it for granted.I hope this end quickly .By October the most, bring back the BIG MAN!

RAFA !

Christmas wont see dis bredda , after what these Owners did to K.D , the koppities nuh ave nuh stomach fi di almshouse.

Clarke is dead right , a top 4 finish this season is a must , given the quality that he has , who is he going to sell next Lucas ?

We have 6 players , that can wak into most Champions league team.Skertel, Agger, Johnson, Lucas, Feerraud,Saurez.Who else are we going to sell to rebuild, we are worse than arsenal.
                          We need a clinical striker with consistent 20 goals a season + a 15 goal a season midfielder. By the way, the other player we have that can walk into ANY champions league team is Reina (though he would be on the bench at Real Madrid).

You must be in heaven and the season just start.

Some man wicked sah,say dem a back manager who dem wouldnt want a fi dem side , fi come mash up my side.

Jah not sleeping.

Look on the brighter side of things....after the first round, you are sitting second while I am in last position of the Fantasy League.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015