Mattocks goal last night
Before the game, the coach said the way how Mattocks training he had to start him. Vancouver was totally outplayed by LA. Vancouver was poor in passing. They tried to find Mattock a few times more but the passes were horrible. Mattocks had to go in midfield to get a ball and them pass it but no return passes.
They subbed him in the 60 minute to bring in Kenny Miller(the well paid Scottish player)who have been saying he wants to play upfront with Mattocks all season but the coach wouldn't let it happen because he only use one striker.
To add to that the coach only bought on Dane around the 70th. He made a good run and cross but nobody was there to finish it. His last game before this he also had a disallowed header. I don't know why it was if it was offside or he fouled the guy next to him.
The fact is given some good passes Mattock will do damages.
Leave a comment:
Maybe yuh come in pon di argument late and neva hear when dem ah say compared to Pele and Diego Mattocks is ordinary
Leave a comment:
I think yho are looking at the ball going in the net. NO look at his movement before.. He understood it was a cut back cross and if you look he went in and then peeled off his man to get the space to collect and the rest is academic.. very intelligent goal scorer... but he cant lead the line now.. too much pressure.. and if he fails that could hurt him... give himtime.
Leave a comment:
He made the goal look easy but it was a half chance. Look where the defender was. What if he had controlled and tried to "create space" as many here would say?
Leave a comment:
Mo that's the point about strikers they wander in and out of the game. It's just that one little window that they exploit.In the Hex, especially against Mexico this guy will make their defence uneasy.One lapse in concentration and he has them.
Leave a comment:
I have seen everyone of those goals already and have watched as many Ricardo Fuller club and national team games as anyone on this forum.Originally posted by TheDread View PostYou apparently have not watched Fuller enough.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DevUweeEUb4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIlhxTt-asA
Fuller is a much better striker than many on this board gives him credit for. When Fuller and King were playing together in the championship, Fuller's strike rate was more impressive..Fuller has not banged in the goals for JA, but he has created many opportunities. Mattocks is the future, but he is not yet on the level of King or Fuller.
He has NEVER been a great finisher. Has always been a GREAT dribbler and very fast and strong, so he repeatedly gets himself into good goal scoring positions. Whereas most other strikers rely on service.
Leave a comment:
You apparently have not watched Fuller enough.Originally posted by Me View PostMattocks has many areas to improve on, but I am not sure how you going to talk about not "taking it to them" when like Marlon King he is a player who depends on service.
It was an excellent goal that Fuller, who I am a supporter of, would not score. King is the only other forward we have with that sort of ability to put the ball away when in the box.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DevUweeEUb4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIlhxTt-asA
Fuller is a much better striker than many on this board gives him credit for. When Fuller and King were playing together in the championship, Fuller's strike rate was more impressive..Fuller has not banged in the goals for JA, but he has created many opportunities. Mattocks is the future, but he is not yet on the level of King or Fuller.
Leave a comment:
lol !
yuh ah mad man.. if dat was a Champions League game di whole ah unnuh ah jump up and down.. mek it was Ballotelli or Drogba.. y'all would be salivating all over di forum..
Leave a comment:
We have already used a fit Fuller and King and we were only able to qualify for the Hex. I doubt the HEX is shaking in their boots. Simply sees them as good alternatives.
Leave a comment:
Mattocks off the ball movement in that sequence was exceptional.. it showed tactical awareness and very good decision making.. the finishing touch was sublime.. Brilliant..
That is a key missing element from the forward play we have seen from the Reggaeboyz..
Just what we need for the Hex..
Study that.. there will be a test later in the Semester..
Leave a comment:
Mattocks has many areas to improve on, but I am not sure how you going to talk about not "taking it to them" when like Marlon King he is a player who depends on service.Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostWho said it wasn't a good goal. But that's it. Whatnelse did he do?. He can't create chances or convert half-chances. He played well off the ball and the defender lost track. It doesn't come that easily against CR, USA, Honduras, Panama, Mexico. You have to take it to them. He doesn't have those skills. Not from what I have seen. Last night he was almost nonexistent for the entire game.
It was an excellent goal that Fuller, who I am a supporter of, would not score. King is the only other forward we have with that sort of ability to put the ball away when in the box.
Leave a comment: